1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General How to do a factory reset with the 2.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by iamtooproud, May 16, 2010.

  1. iamtooproud

    iamtooproud Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    26
    2
    16
    Can anybody tell me how to do a factory reset on my Eris after installation of the 2.1 OTA update?
     

    Advertisement

  2. lilxerolil

    lilxerolil Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    Settings > Privacy > Factory data reset
     
  3. iamtooproud

    iamtooproud Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    26
    2
    16
    Thanks, it worked!
     
  4. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    211
    6
    36
    Can anyone summarize exactly what gets reset (and what doesn't)?

    Does it remove apps, e-mail accounts, messages, WiFi network info, or just "custom" settings such as screen brightness, sound levels, and stuff like that?

    Thanks!!
     
  5. cmerrtt

    cmerrtt Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    73
    1
    36
    Good questions ~ if you back up with "My Backup Pro" are you able to restore the settings through that app?
     
  6. WineJones

    WineJones Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    55
    3
    16
    ^^ My question EXACTLY!
     
  7. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    I think it reformats your phone. So it wipes everything but the memory card and OS files.
     
  8. weems

    weems Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    42
    0
    15
    So you will lose contacts also?
     
  9. jps

    jps Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    181
    14
    38
    everything gets reset.
     
  10. polizi212

    polizi212 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    71
    7
    16
    Factory rest puts the phone back to the way you got it from Verizon!
     
  11. paleodust

    paleodust Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,023
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,023
    71
    128
    Male
    Finance
    Utah
    It makes it exactly the way it was when it first came out of the box, except that it's got 2.1 instead of 1.5, assuming you've updated it to 2.1.

    You have to reinstall and re-sync everything.
     
  12. WineJones

    WineJones Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    55
    3
    16
    Sorry to be so specific, but I wanted to make sure before I did it. I've backed up my apps, and my data and even made paper notes about my screen layouts, so I guess I'm ready to go.
    Thank you all for the info!
     
  13. reinert012

    reinert012 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    276
    5
    36
    Its not letting me reactivate my phone?

    What do i do?
     
  14. WineJones

    WineJones Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    55
    3
    16
    So you're doing the *228 option 1 and it's not accepting your phone? Ouch! My best guess is to call VZW tech support?
     
  15. reinert012

    reinert012 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    276
    5
    36
    thats exactly whats happening
     
  16. polizi212

    polizi212 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    71
    7
    16
    I just did A factory reset not really any issues except for setting up my email again but that was my error not the devices!
     
  17. reinert012

    reinert012 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    276
    5
    36
    How did you activate it?
     
  18. polizi212

    polizi212 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    71
    7
    16
    To activate the phone I just followed the HTC set up as it took me step by step and it called the *228 and I presses option 1 at the prompt and it activated no issue!
     
  19. reinert012

    reinert012 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    276
    5
    36
    Wow, that will not work for me.
     
  20. polizi212

    polizi212 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    71
    7
    16
    how far into the process do you get
     
  21. reinert012

    reinert012 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    276
    5
    36
    I press 1 and it says let us retrieve some information, then it says it cannot be completed at this time.
     
  22. polizi212

    polizi212 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    71
    7
    16
    Didi you try restarting the phone again and seeing if starting all over helps?
     
  23. reinert012

    reinert012 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    276
    5
    36
    Will try that now
     
  24. reinert012

    reinert012 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    276
    5
    36
    did not work
     
  25. polizi212

    polizi212 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    71
    7
    16

    If restarting it has no effect I doubt a battery pull will either, I would say it might be best to call Verizon Tech support and see what they can do to get it handled for you!
     

Share This Page

Loading...