1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How to do this?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mo25, Jan 12, 2010.

  1. mo25

    mo25 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    So this is what I want to do:

    I've seen threads on remote desktop but I want to be able to stream music from my laptop at home to my droid on the go. However, I want to be able to play all my music through winamp (because of it's preset EQ).

    Is there a way I can remote desktop into my laptop through my droid so I can see the actual windows background of my home laptop (I have W7 Ultimate) and stream music to the phone by playing it through winamp?

    I want to be able to listen to flac (which is the something droid can't do) which is one of the reasons I want to go through all this.

    I actually don't have a droid yet but if I can do this I will probably go out and buy one tomorrow.
     

    Advertisement

  2. square

    square Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    506
    24
    63
    not possible.
     
  3. Flahusky

    Flahusky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    116
    8
    36
    Space Coast of Fla
  4. Inphosys

    Inphosys Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    135
    11
    38
    I. T. Engineer
    Remote Desktop and streaming to Winamp are two separate things. You could run Winamp on your desktop PC and log into it via Remote Desktop. Assuming you have your computer set up correctly ... and assuming the Droid Remote Desktop Client from the market supports audio over RDP, then yes ... you can do it.

    But every time you wanted to do something different, you would have to bring the remote desktop client to the forground, manipulate your desktop PC, and then minimize the client back down. All of this assuming it still works once your computer locks the screen after the requisite time-out period, or if you go out of service and then come back in, will the client re-establish your RDP session with your desktop PC and will the audio start automatically?

    This sounds like an interesting test. If you decide to pursue this, please re-post and let us know how it goes. This would be an interesting work-around to a lot of questions when people need out of the ordinary protocols on their droid.

    Best of luck,
    Brad
     
  5. DroidJnkie

    DroidJnkie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    have you tried remote desktop client? Because I don't think you can hear audio on the stream. . .

    but I'm sure you would have checked that before recommending it to this poor chap, right?

    :eek:
     
  6. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    I just tried streaming music from my laptop to my DROID via the Remote Desktop Client app ... no go. The media player opened, then just stopped. I tried the same thing with another PC in my home and it played. HOWEVER, even then it wasn't perfect. There were still glitches about every 30 seconds or so. I don't think RDP was ever meant to act as a remote media server for streaming audio.

    Almost forgot to mention that the RDP app does have a field for "sound" and I had checked, but that didn't seem to help.
     
  7. Inphosys

    Inphosys Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    135
    11
    38
    I. T. Engineer
    Thanks for testing and posting your results! I had a pretty strong feeling you were going ot find this.

    RDP is a great protocol, but the number of packets it produces is quite large. Too many for the Droid to keep straight over a 3G connection.
     
  8. shademar

    shademar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    222
    4
    36
    grad student
    Berkeley
    Has anyone tried the Orb apps that just came out for android? (Also, it seems like there might be an orb winamp plugin?)
     
  9. mo25

    mo25 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    That doesnt' mean it wont work.

    Messenger 13, try using this program:

    MyCast your digital media with Orb 2.0 remote pc access software

    And use it on the 3g not a wifi and let me know if it works. A lot of people have had luck with this program.

    I'm guesssing the winamp theroy is out though probably.

    EDIT:

    LOOK WHAT I FOUND!!!!
    https://winamp.orb.com/orb/html/login.html

    Now I hope they just have the preset EQ and it has the ability to keep the orginial bitrate (for flac espeically).
     

Share This Page

Loading...