1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General how to downgrade to ZV3 to flash to rooted ZV4 ????!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by petermg, Dec 6, 2014.

  1. petermg

    petermg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012

    Jan 30, 2012
    15
    2
    16
    I've literally been looking for like 2 hours... I KNOW I saw a thread about this BEFORE I got my volt.. but now that I have it.. I CANNOT LOCATE IT. I read people saying search for it but I cannot find it again!?!?!?!






    If anyone could post me the link I would greatly appreciate it.. Thank!
     

    Advertisement

  2. petermg

    petermg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012

    Jan 30, 2012
    15
    2
    16
  3. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    That's it...although it references donjuro's 'updated' z4 zip, which has been removed. You can just download the old one (in the same thread), but be sure to get the radio.zip and flash it too when you flash the ROM. You'll also have to flash the kernel with flashify after everything else. Just pull the boot.img from the ROM zip.
     
  4. KennyFiesta

    KennyFiesta Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012

    Mar 25, 2012
    41
    6
    16
    This is the step im missing. Would i fastboot boot the cwm then install radio zip? How do i flash the kernel? Where do i find these files?
     
  5. petermg

    petermg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012

    Jan 30, 2012
    15
    2
    16
    Ok I did everything last night and my phone is working got it activated and everything but I did NOT flash the kernel. I didn't read anything about needing to flash the kernel in those tutorials. How can I do this and is it possible that I do NOT have to flash it? Also why do I need to flash the kernel?

    Thanks for the info!
     
  6. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    There is no need to fastboot anything since we can flash cwm now. Use Flashify to flash both cwm (recovery) and the kernel. If you open the ROM zip file, grab the boot.img and flash it with Flashify to get the kernel.
     
  7. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    You don't HAVE to flash the kernel or radio, but you should. Many of the benefits of v4 are from them.
     
  8. KennyFiesta

    KennyFiesta Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012

    Mar 25, 2012
    41
    6
    16
    I flashed the radio but not my kernel. Why wouldn't I already have that kernel from the ROM zip, since that's what I loaded on to my phone?
     
  9. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    Because the updater script didn't install it, same with the radio.
     
  10. petermg

    petermg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012

    Jan 30, 2012
    15
    2
    16
    What version is the new kernel? Because I successfully flashed the radio following your instructions, but when I tried to flash the boom.img from the v4 ROM zip file, it seems like flashify just rebooted the phone, didn't go into CWM Recovery, and my kernel is the same version as it was before I rebooted, which is 3.4.0+

    Thanks for your help!!!
     
  11. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    You can't just look in the software info because it's still the same version of Linux... Check this post ( #188 ):
    http://androidforums.com/index.php?posts/6741467
    (You can just use terminal emulator)
     
  12. petermg

    petermg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012

    Jan 30, 2012
    15
    2
    16
    Cool THANK YOU! I'm on the august version I see ;)
     
    bg4m3r likes this.
  13. m4p

    m4p Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012

    Dec 13, 2012
    31
    6
    36
    Quick question regarding root for this phone. Do I need to format my microSD card in any special way, such as Ext2 or FAT32? Also, do I need to make 2 partitions for the microSD card? I've only modded one phone before a few years ago and I recall I had to do that to the card. Thanks!
     
  14. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    No... The only reason to do any formatting or partitioning is to use link2sd.
    It's already fat32, BTW.
     
    m4p likes this.
  15. m4p

    m4p Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012

    Dec 13, 2012
    31
    6
    36
    Thanks very much. I had injured my knee so took me a while to root the phone, but finally did it last night. I did end up making the 2 partitions because I want to use Link2SD.

    Thanks again, really appreciate it.
     
  16. southp4w

    southp4w Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014

    Dec 25, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    Hey I was able to downgrade to v3, flash custom cwm, root using towelroot, flash zv4, and flash radio update. However when I try to flash the boot.img from zv4 to update the kernel, i lose root access. Any idea why this is happening?
     
  17. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...