1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [HOW-TO] Download and Install CM7 to Run Off SD Card

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by koopakid08, Jul 1, 2011.

  1. bobstro

    bobstro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010

    Oct 2, 2010
    150
    42
    43
    Be sure you loaded the latest Google apps. On older versions, you sometimes had to reset your screen density (dpi) to 160 to get Market to load many apps.
     

    Advertisement

  2. tuhraycee

    tuhraycee Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011

    Dec 21, 2011
    15
    0
    35
    Clerk
    AR, USA
    I got the version for CM7 from the CM wiki. That's it right?
     
  3. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    CM7.1 stable is the latest good version.
     
  4. olec280

    olec280 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011

    Dec 29, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    I did the install per the original post but when the NC comes up with android, the touchscreen does not work. I have reimaged three times. I am using a sandisk class10 16gb card. Thanks for assistance
     
  5. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Class 10 cards are optimized for writing large files sequentially (think camera/video) and are not going to work well with Android devices, which primarily read small randomly arranged files. It might be usable as a sdcard if you install CM7 on your NC.

    I would expect it to be slow and laggy right now, not unresponsive, like you report.

    Are you flashing just CM7.1 stable and Google Apps? I hope you're not flashing an overclocking kernel.
     
  6. olec280

    olec280 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011

    Dec 29, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Followed these instructions:

    "Grab the installer image here:
    http://crimea.edu/~green/nook/generic-sdcard-v1.3.img.gz
    it's a ~9M image that would unpack into ~130M disk image.

    Write the image on your SD card. I tested with 2G, 4G and 8G cards and all worked.
    Any uSD card of 1G or bigger in size should work if it is recognized by your nook.
    Write on Windows by using WinImage (Make sure to run as administrator) or Win32 disk imager and on Linux/MacOS X by using dd (to the entire device, not one of the partitions. The device name should not have any numbers at the end. The command is something like dd if=/somewhere/generic-sdcard.img of=/dev/sdX bs=1024k)

    After done with writing, eject and then re-insert the uSD card into your computer.

    Download a CM build from here if you want to use a nightly (It is recommended to choose -87 nightly or later) or the newest RC 7.1. from here (This is recommended) or from here if you want the latest stable version ( I would not recommend this as people are having issues with the recovery when using 7.0.3 or below when using the 1.3 installer image if you really want to use the stable use installer image 1.2.1 available here)

    Put the file to the SD card (there is only one partition). Don't change the name of the file and DO NOT unzip.

    unmount the uSD card and insert it into the nook.
    Boot from this SD card. It'll boot and will update you on progress.
    When it's done, it'll power off.

    That's it, you now have CM7 on your SD card."

    Did not do anything else.
     
  7. olec280

    olec280 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011

    Dec 29, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    I have also tried a class 2 and a class 6 card, to no avail.
     
  8. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    That's pretty old and you don't want to use RC1 when you can install 7.1 stable. Nightly builds aren't very good now that ICS code is being merged.

    Try it with 7.1 stable instead.

    I should have a 32 gb Sandisk class 4 sdcard ($24) here any day so will try this to get some experience.
     
  9. olec280

    olec280 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011

    Dec 29, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    The touchscreen worked with the stable file. Thanks.

    Image also worked on the 16gb class10 card.

    Currently loading the google app file.

    Do you know of a working Honeycomb image?

    Thanks again.
     
  10. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
  11. tinpau

    tinpau Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    I must be an idiot or something.... I have tried to load/run CM 7 from the SD card and all I have finally got is the CM 7 loader screen of the skateboarding android. I have let it it 30 min and still looping. I reboot and still the same.

    I loaded the loader... v 1.3 then removed the sd card from the computer, put it back in and dropped CM7 on it ... then removed the sd card from the computer and put it back in the NC.. turned it on and it sits and loops at the skateboarding android screen. I am using a class 4 Sandisk 4 g card

    Thanx in advance

    Tinpau
     
  12. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Sounds like you're doing it correctly.

    Are you using CM7.1 stable (that's the latest good version)?

    I need to check with Koop about updating that page. :D
     
  13. tinpau

    tinpau Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    I am using 7.1 stable... I am going to try again tonight and see what happens. I have watched videos and read how to and until I re-read and re-read your how to again and again did I catch to remove the card from the computer after the loader install. I did that and replaced it and dropped the cm7 on it and got as far as it is now .... so I am close.

    There has to be some little thing I am missing that everyone else is catching

    Tinpau
     
  14. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I had issues when I copied CM7 AND gApps the first time. The directions say to do just CM7 the first boot.
     
  15. tinpau

    tinpau Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Thanx again for all the help.
    Redid the system again... same thing. Used CM7.1 and bootloader 1.3

    Yes I am just putting the CM7 on and not gApps too. Figure I want to get it working first then put on Google apps

    Tinpau
     
  16. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I've never been fond of sdcard installs for this reason. They're the hardest way to install a rom and causes problems for most of the people that try it. I had trouble initially b/c I didn't read the guide close enough.

    All I can suggest is to:

    Return your card to stock with SD formatter_3.1. Your old rom install is still on it and it'll try to update it rather than starting with a clean install. If SD formatter doesn't work for you or too complicated, then use [APP][02/26] Nook Color USB Mass Storage utility - Mount any partition to your PC - xda-developers and format the cm7 partition from your computer. (OR try a different card... they're cheap.)
    Then reflash your card.
    Redownload your rom (cm7.1 stable) and test it (can you extract the files?) before copying the zip to the sdcard.
    Watch for any obvious errors when it's installing.
     
  17. koopakid08

    koopakid08 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    772
    165
    93
    Behind you
    Updated Link for CM7.1 stable.
     
    colchiro likes this.
  18. Berzerklo

    Berzerklo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Engineer
    Seattle WA
    OP - Thanks for this walk through! I had some issues with writing the image file to the SD card with WinImage (Nook wouldn't boot from SD), but once I used Win32 disk imager everything worked perfectly.
     
  19. Sirena21

    Sirena21 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012

    Jan 21, 2012
    2
    0
    5
  20. Sirena21

    Sirena21 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012

    Jan 21, 2012
    2
    0
    5
  21. bailableOdin

    bailableOdin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I am having problems getting the generic-sdcard-v1.3.img.gz on sd card. i am using WinImage and a sandisk class 4 8gb card. any help would be appreciated.
     
  22. bailableOdin

    bailableOdin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    never mind, brain fart didnt unzip the img zip... thanks lol
     
  23. Unmanned

    Unmanned Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012

    Mar 8, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Could use some pointers as I'm not sure what i'm not doing correct...

    I can't seem to get the NC to boot from the SD card and am not sure why. I have used two pre-installed N2A cards (not from N2A) and neither would boot and I have twice set up a SanDisk 8g class 4 card following the above instructions and my NC still boots into the stock OS and not from the SD card. I used Win32 disk imager to write the image to the card. Once I'm in the stock OS I can see the files on the card (all 3 cards) so they seem to be good.

    Any ideas?
     
  24. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Are you running a Nook Color or a Nook Touch?

    These bootable images don't work with the Nook Touch.
     
  25. koopakid08

    koopakid08 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    772
    165
    93
    Behind you
    What are you using to connect the MicroSD to your computer? Also did you run Win32 as Admin?
     

Share This Page

Loading...