1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General How to enable Ethernet on S7 ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JEAM, Sep 13, 2016.

  1. JEAM

    JEAM Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016

    Sep 13, 2016
    7
    0
    5
    Hi, this is my first post here.

    A couple of months ago I purchased a Galaxy S7 (model # SM-G930U, Android version 6.0.1) and I'm loving it. However, starting last week I've been getting notifications about software updates being available, and even though I have ample mobile data, it seems to be impossible to download the updates that way, it keeps asking to do it via WiFi.

    The problem is that the wife is extremely concerned about possible long-term health issues related to wireless signals, and I would like to keep the peace by doing the updates either by mobile data or by Ethernet. (I'd rather not go to some random WiFi network at a store.)

    So the S7 has an Ethernet option in Settings --> More connection settings, but the option is grayed out. I bought a MiniUSB-to-Ethernet adapter to see if that made it light up, but there was no change.

    Samsung's manual for the G930U makes it sound like doing Ethernet is the easiest thing in the world:

    Samsung S7 Ethernet.jpg
    But the problem is that there ARE no prompts, the Ethernet option is grayed out and tapping it has no effect other than making the tapping sound.

    How to enable Ethernet on the S7? I have to think that the phone wouldn't even show the Ethernet option if there were no drivers for it. (And the manual wouldn't say anything about Ethernet.)

    I'm also open to ideas on how to command this phone to use my mobile data to download the updates.

    Thanks very much.
     

    Advertisement

  2. technologyman

    technologyman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016

    Jun 18, 2016
    12
    2
    16
    Wow! Ethernet on a mobile phone. Never heard of such a thing.
     
  3. Toto39

    Toto39 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014

    Sep 28, 2014
    21
    3
    16
    From what I've read, ethernet is disabled and you have to root the phone and turn on the interface with a terminal emulator. This was done successfully on an S6 as posted on XDA Developers forum. I imagine Samsung has this disabled to prevent hacking through the USB port.
     
  4. JEAM

    JEAM Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016

    Sep 13, 2016
    7
    0
    5
    The thing is, Samsung's manual makes it sound so easy to enable Ethernet. If the procedure were convoluted, you'd think there would be more than three lines of instructions.
     
  5. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,164
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,164
    4,832
    1,108
    Male
    Just install the SmartSwitch program on a PC, plug the phone in to the USB. The program will detect the phone, and give you an update button. That program can also create backups of the phone's content.

    That way you can just stop worrying how to activate ethernet. First time I heard of it too.
     
  6. Bodycount

    Bodycount Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    507
    90
    78
    Male
    Columbus, OH
    There's a way to get ethernet on an ipad because I just did it yesterday. There's an adapter that plugs into the ipad charge port.. the other end has a block that has two ports. One for the charge port and one has a USB port. I plugged a USB network adapter into the USB port (apple brand of course) and it worked.

    I'm sure there's one like that made for micro USB connections.
     
  7. JEAM

    JEAM Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016

    Sep 13, 2016
    7
    0
    5
    That sounds like a great idea, I hadn't heard about this program. Downloaded it from Samsung and installed it on a Windows laptop, and eventually the program window showed up. Very cool.

    The only hitch is that the download that Smart Switch says is available amounts to about 2GB, while the update that the S7 wanted to download is only about 186MB in size. The bigger one sounds like it's a whole new image of the operating system?
     
  8. JEAM

    JEAM Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016

    Sep 13, 2016
    7
    0
    5
    That's what I thought, too. If there is a way to do this on the S7, we have yet to find it.

    BTW this is the download page for Samsung's Smart Switch program.
     
  9. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,164
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,164
    4,832
    1,108
    Male
    The bigger update will be better, than incremental updates. I believe the update Smartswitch will be giving you is a compiled version of all updates sent out so far (since March). The OTA update may very well have you update multiple times as some updates cannot be downloaded and installed unless you are on a newer version.
     
  10. JEAM

    JEAM Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016

    Sep 13, 2016
    7
    0
    5
    Thanks very much!

    So, it's OK to download and install that big update? What I mean is, it won't overwrite the contacts, apps, etc.?

    I know how updates work in Windows, but not in Android, so I'm a little leery. :)
     
  11. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,164
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,164
    4,832
    1,108
    Male
    Just make sure to backup. But I've never experienced any update, whether done via PC or not, to erase anything on the phone. And I've had Samsungs for 7 years. However there is always the possibility of something going wrong and a reset happening, even if it was done over the air, so a backup is always necessary, and you can use SmartSwitch to backup.
     
  12. JEAM

    JEAM Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016

    Sep 13, 2016
    7
    0
    5
    That is very good to know, thanks!

    I'll do the backup and then let the phone update overnight.
     
  13. JEAM

    JEAM Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016

    Sep 13, 2016
    7
    0
    5
    Just to finish up: the update went well and everything's working as expected.

    Thanks to everyone who helped with this! :thumbsupdroid:
     

Samsung Galaxy S7

The Samsung Galaxy S7 was launched in 2016 and was one of two devices in the lineup. The device features a 5.1-inch display with a resolution of 2560 x 1440, 4GB of RAM, 32GB of storage, and a 12MP rear camera.

Share This Page

Loading...