1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Root How to: Enable fastboot and unlock bootloader, No flashing needed. WORKING.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by danhalen1, Jul 28, 2014.

  1. danhalen1

    danhalen1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    105
    77
    53
    Mod note -



    Proof:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Minimal ADB and Fastboot>fastboot oem device-info
    ...
    (bootloader) Device tampered: false
    (bootloader) Device unlocked: false
    (bootloader) Charger screen enabled: false
    OKAY [ 0.012s]
    finished. total time: 0.013s

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Minimal ADB and Fastboot>fastboot oem unlock
    ...
    OKAY [ 0.004s]
    finished. total time: 0.005s

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Minimal ADB and Fastboot>fastboot oem device-info
    ...
    (bootloader) Device tampered: false
    (bootloader) Device unlocked: true
    (bootloader) Charger screen enabled: false
    OKAY [ 0.013s]
    finished. total time: 0.014s

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Minimal ADB and Fastboot>

    This is all that differs after running fastboot oem unlock
    [​IMG]

    THERE IS NO REASON TO DO THIS YET WE DO NOT HAVE A WORKING RECOVERY OR A ROM

    How it works:
    [GUIDE] Fastboot for L90 D415 | Optimus L90 | XDA Forum

    Because people had trouble and were cutting and pasting and didnt see a period after a file name:
    adb shell
    su
    dd if=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/laf of=/sdcard/laf.img

    Run the following code to zero out laf:

    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/laf

    adb reboot
    power off
    hold volume up
    plug in usb

    You delete the laf partition, which forces fastboot mode and takes the place of download mode.

    IF you want to return the phones download mode
    fastboot flash laf laf.img

    EDIT: you can skip flashing the laf.IMG back before exiting fastboot if you wanna leave fastboot mode enabled instead of download mode. But be careful as without download mode you might not be able to recover from a brick.

    So think about what you feel is more useful. In fastboot you cannot flash /system/ back because it is too large.

    Disclaimer: This is what i did and it worked. Try this at your own risk, always assume anything you do on your phone will result in a brick and it will be unrecoverable.
     

    Advertisement

    #1 danhalen1, Jul 28, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 24, 2015
    thejoker954, Dtb1987, aguba and 5 others like this.
  2. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    This is so exciting!!! Now if someone could just build a custom recovery!!
    Does that flag mean it's unlocked? Is it a flag for the company so they can tell it's been modified if you return it for warranty?
     
  3. danhalen1

    danhalen1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    105
    77
    53
    Well after comparing aboot, abootb, boot, and laf to each other after unlocking thats literally the only thing that is different. Device tampered still reads false after unlocking. I didnt look at what points to that location, but id assume its the flag that is set when its unlocked.
     
    donjuro likes this.
  4. LUMtnHwk

    LUMtnHwk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012

    Jun 13, 2012
    22
    8
    36
    Student
    YESSSSSSS

    Now we wait for a recovery...then for ROMs...
     
  5. mjhealy1978

    mjhealy1978 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013

    Apr 1, 2013
    409
    103
    78
    Male
    Lowell,Ma.
    So there's no way to do this without a computer I take it!!! I know its a stupid question but I sold my laptop last month & haven't quite bought a new one yet! Dam!
     
    noeticprince likes this.
  6. danhalen1

    danhalen1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    105
    77
    53
    As far as i know this is the only way.
     
    mjhealy1978 likes this.
  7. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    No, you do it with the phone, you access fastboot with the PC.
     
  8. Bad_MOFO_33

    Bad_MOFO_33 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014

    Jul 11, 2014
    419
    968
    148
    Male
    Hudson Valley, NY
  9. danhalen1

    danhalen1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    105
    77
    53
  10. Saxön

    Saxön Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    172
    68
    53
    Nice work bro. :)
     
  11. mjhealy1978

    mjhealy1978 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013

    Apr 1, 2013
    409
    103
    78
    Male
    Lowell,Ma.
  12. mjhealy1978

    mjhealy1978 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013

    Apr 1, 2013
    409
    103
    78
    Male
    Lowell,Ma.
    Yah just read up n did sum Googling & the F90 is known as the LG D415 & it says at the end of that article Bad_MOFO_33 posted says the aboot file from that recovery will permafry your handset basically!!! So that sux ! Unless I'm wrong, I'm wrong a lot! But yah pretty sure I read it properly! Anyhow let's keep trying folks!
     
  13. danhalen1

    danhalen1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    105
    77
    53
    Correct, they use very, very different aboot's. While studying the aboot of the 415 to compare it to our aboot, they dont even have the secureboot strings listed. The 740 shares the same secureboot commands with the d405, and d410. But yet again, they all use slightly different aboot/boot/recovery systems.
     
    mjhealy1978 likes this.
  14. mjhealy1978

    mjhealy1978 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013

    Apr 1, 2013
    409
    103
    78
    Male
    Lowell,Ma.
    I read the article again and I can't believe I missed this! The recovery is reported working on the d410 & d415 so could it maybe work? I dunno... It be nice if it did!
     
  15. danhalen1

    danhalen1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    105
    77
    53
    It won't boot from fastboot, gives a DTB error. Im fairly certain it uses a different kernel. The version of fastboot lg uses seems somewhat stripped, fastboot OEM ? Returns nothing as well as many fastboot get var commands. Maybe fastboot boot file is also wacky. I do not know.

    To correct from before, you can skip flashing the laf.IMG back before exiting fastboot if you wanna leave fastboot mode enabled instead of download mode. But be careful as without download mode you might not be able to recover from a brick.

    So think about what you feel is more useful. In fastboot you cannot flash /system/ back because it is too large.
     
  16. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    Curious, did you do device info before you did unlock? Or had you already run the unlock command before that?
     
  17. danhalen1

    danhalen1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    105
    77
    53
    Ran it before unlock, and after. Same result.
     
  18. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    So it said device unlocked regardless of whether the bootloader was unlocked or not?
     
  19. danhalen1

    danhalen1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    105
    77
    53
    The only oem command that worked was oem device-info.

    I cut and pasted from command line in my first post.
     
  20. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    So the flag shows only when the laf partition is deleted?
     
  21. danhalen1

    danhalen1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    105
    77
    53
    The laf being present or deleted most likely has nothing to do with the change in aboot. I didnt bother to look into it any more. I deleted laf, booted into fastboot, unlocked, flashed laf back and rebooted and dumped aboot again to compare it to the original. Aboot seems like a good a place as any for a change that sets the unlocked status. Abootb, boot, laf, were all the same.
     
  22. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    :p I'm not sure if you understood my first question. Did it say that the device was unlocked before you typed the bootloader unlock too? Or did it say it only after?
     
  23. danhalen1

    danhalen1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    105
    77
    53
    Its in my first post.
    (bootloader) Device unlocked: false
    bootloader oem unlock
    (bootloader) Device unlocked: true.
    It only said it was unlocked after.
     
  24. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    Oh haha. Sorry about that. I misunderstood. I see now.
     
  25. Dtb1987

    Dtb1987 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012

    Jan 13, 2012
    20
    2
    16
    Male
    Network Admin
    Richmond Va
    Thanks man someone should sticky this
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...