1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How to fix MMS in CM10?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lopez33, Jan 13, 2013.

  1. lopez33

    lopez33 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Oct 10, 2011
    35
    1
    16
    Hell all, can someone help me fix MMS for CM10?
    I know there was a zip somewhere from prinny, but when I click the link Dropbox tells me that file is gone.

    I have also seen a modified Paranoid rom that comes with the fix, but I preferm CM10 to Paranoid.

    Help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
     #68
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    You are right. The ZIP has been moved from that DropBox link. :thinking:

    He had modified the entire ROM with an MMS fix. I am not at my computer so maybe someone can upload the MMS fix? If not, I will when I get home.
     
  3. lopez33

    lopez33 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Oct 10, 2011
    35
    1
    16
    So a rom has to be patched every time with that fix?

    Can the fix be applied by itself? I'm just foreseeing problems with updated roms when we don't have that patch.

    And thank you I would appreciate it it if you re-uploaded it :)
     
  4. b_randon14

    b_randon14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    910
    628
    163
    Pizza Delivery Driver
    Somerset, KY
    I have recently pulled down the cm10 epic 4g touch source and I am working on getting it to build. If someone could post the fix I will work to see if I can incorporate it into the cm10 and cm9 builds as well as aokp and paranoid if I can find the source they are using!
     
    TheBritton likes this.
  5. lopez33

    lopez33 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Oct 10, 2011
    35
    1
    16
    You are awesome!
     
  6. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
     #68
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    If it has visual voicemail, I'll certainly flash it! LOL! ;)
     
  7. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
     #68
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    It seems the dropbox link mentioned in this post: http://androidforums.com/evo-v-4g-a...-cm-aosp-aokp-thanks-wolfu-9.html#post5409330 is now working! :D

    And yes.. as I understand it, the fix would have to be applied to the ROM for each update as it is a Sprint ROM modified to have working MMS on our Virgin Mobile phone.

    It seems the link to Jellyean update has everything working in it but it is not CM10 or ParanoidAndroid of course it is basically a stock Jellybean. I also see that some users are reporting random freezes so I have not tried it yet.
     
  8. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
     #68
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
  9. lopez33

    lopez33 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Oct 10, 2011
    35
    1
    16
    Hey isn't that just the Paranoid Android rom that was patched though?

    Thanks for the link :) But I think that won't work if I want to keep CM10 right?
     
  10. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
     #68
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    Ohh I was misunderstood. Yes, that is PA not CM10.
     
  11. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
     #68
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    Of course, PA is based off CM10
     
  12. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    Just an FYI:

    If you take my MMS.apk out of /system/app and my apns-conf.xml out of /system/etc and drop them in CM10, flash the ROM...you should be set ;)

    I would write an updater-script for you guys...but I'm not sure what partitions are on this phone, as I do not own it.

    I was PM'd by b_randon the other day, and I am not sure what progress has been made, but I'll gladly see what I can do to help
     
    thealmost, notebooko and TheBritton like this.
  13. b_randon14

    b_randon14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    910
    628
    163
    Pizza Delivery Driver
    Somerset, KY
    Well I haven't been able to get the CM10 source to build. I pulled in the jellybean branch per EpicCM instructions and still haven't been able to even get it to lunch the device. But I am confident that once I get the repo building, that I can start implementing the mms fix and stuff like that.
     
    Prinny likes this.
  14. lopez33

    lopez33 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Oct 10, 2011
    35
    1
    16
    =) Prinny is amazing, he fixed MMS in my CM10 ROM thank you so much!!!
     
    Prinny likes this.
  15. notebooko

    notebooko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012

    Apr 22, 2012
    593
    67
    78
    Great info. Nice to see you helping out. Thanks! :)
     
    Prinny likes this.
  16. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
  17. lopez33

    lopez33 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Oct 10, 2011
    35
    1
    16
    Hey Prinny, so it seems with the patched ROM I can send MMS but I cannot receive them. Is there a fix for this?
     
  18. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
  19. lopez33

    lopez33 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Oct 10, 2011
    35
    1
    16
  20. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    Hmm... This is a clean flash too? Wiped dalvik and cache?
     
  21. lopez33

    lopez33 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Oct 10, 2011
    35
    1
    16
    Yeah, I did that. I factory reset my device, flashed the rom, then wiped both caches. I can try it again later when I get home.
     
  22. lopez33

    lopez33 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Oct 10, 2011
    35
    1
    16
    So it seems like I can now receive MMS but not send....which leads me to believe that the ROM can only do one at once and it switches but I'm not sure when or how it does that.

    Any ideas?
     
  23. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    No idea at this point. Without the device, its hard for me to do any testing. The weird thing is it works with paranoid android fully...which is based on cyanogenmod.....
     
  24. b_randon14

    b_randon14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    910
    628
    163
    Pizza Delivery Driver
    Somerset, KY
    An update to my cm10.1 venture is that I have pulled in the cm10.1 source that dastin1015 is building for the epic4gtouch and so far it seems to be building correctly. I have also begun to make changes so this can be a virgin mobile branded rom for our phone. I still haven't modified the MMS.apk but I plan on it maybe later today.

    Also I will not be releasing builds for a while until I am sure that everything works as it should on it. Then I may start releasing beta builds. But the first thing is to get a building ROm rom source that requires no modification in order for MMS to work.

    I will keep you all updated. And a build of cm10.1 on my laptop seems to be taking forever lol!!
     
  25. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
     #68
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    I appreciate you Brandon! Wow!

    Special request: "Visual Voicemail"
    ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...