1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How to fix this cwm error.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mcvanta, Aug 20, 2011.

  1. mcvanta

    mcvanta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    98
    7
    16
    I installed clockwork mod and got the error listed below on cwm screen the phone work fine. I even did a nandroid test restore using cwm and it did restore. In attempt to fix I tried unrooting and reflashed the stock recovery the I did a factory reset rooted and installed cwm still same error. Did I do something wrong with installing cwm? I followed the tutorial by steps.

    E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/command
    E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/log
    E:Can't open /cache/recovery/log
    E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_log
    E:Can't open /cache/recovery/last_log
     

    Advertisement

  2. pre

    pre Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    18
    4
    16
    Which CWM are you attempting? When I used Isaac's 4.1.0.4 in green font color, I also encountered:

    E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/command

    I switched over to the other 4.1.04 (tjstyle?) in orange font color and was able to proceed with backup/flashing
     
  3. mcvanta

    mcvanta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    98
    7
    16
    Im using the orange font tj styles.
     
  4. mcvanta

    mcvanta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    98
    7
    16
    And how come i Isaacs version of cwm has been deleted i tried the links to his download on this site but it says the file has been deleted.
     
  5. bigvandal

    bigvandal Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    222
    40
    43
    I got the same thing...dont know what to do
     
  6. idbl_fanatic

    idbl_fanatic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    403
    37
    43
  7. AnalogOz

    AnalogOz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011

    Sep 3, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I initially had the "E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/command" error after installing the CWM with the orange font as well. Fixed it by doing a wipe of the Dalvik cache.
     
  8. mcvanta

    mcvanta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    98
    7
    16
    Did you wipe the dalvik cache and reinstall CWM or you just did the wipe without reinstalling?
     
  9. bigvandal

    bigvandal Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    222
    40
    43

    Same question
     
  10. AnalogOz

    AnalogOz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011

    Sep 3, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Just did a wipe without reinstalling, but disregard my earlier post... the error seems to have returned. Clearing the cache seems to remove the error only on the very next boot then returns on all subsequent ones. Sorry for my error.
     
  11. Mike46615

    Mike46615 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I am also having this same issue. Is this an actual problem, as in will it prevent me from flashing ROMs or restoring? I was able to make a back up, but I am afraid of trying to restore it. I got this error with both 4.0.0.9 and 4.0.1.4 before and after wiping the Dalvik cache. Mike
     
  12. jdt265

    jdt265 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    42
    19
    38
    Mineral Ridge, OH
    I have this same error it and have no problem backing up and restoring
     
  13. shimdachef

    shimdachef Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011

    Sep 18, 2011
    44
    5
    16
    Same here
     
  14. mr.cocol

    mr.cocol Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    1
    1
    6

    Hi everyone, im from Mexico, so i apologize for my bad english.

    Ok, i have the answer to the problem, i see that answer in this link:

    and the instructions are this: (I make this with Clockwork mode)

    Using the Vol button, highlight WIPE DATA/FACTORY RESET.

    Once done, highlight WIPE CACHE PARTITION.


    Normally this is enough for a normal reflash but if your recovering from a problem or an issue and want a really really good clean up, perform these optional steps:

    Select MOUNTS AND STORAGE

    Using your vol and power button:
    format /cache
    format /data
    format /system
    Select +++++Go Back+++++
    Select Advanced
    Wipe Dalvik Cache

    Reboot Recovery. This step is quite important and your phone will as it says reboot, so don't worry, just let it do its thing.

    Wipe Data/Factory Reset once more.

    There that's all the wiping done. It's worth noting now that at this stage your phone now has no operating software installed on it! A little scary isn't it? Apart from a bootloader and a radio there's very little else on your pride and joy right now!!! YOU WIPED IT! OK, enough, lets get your new rom installed.




    Select install zip from SD card.

    choose zip from SD card.

    Select your rom

    In about 4 to 5 minutes the phone will tell you its done. (DO NOT INTERUPT THIS PROCESS), make sure you have at least 75% battery before you begin!


    I hope this help all of you, regards
     
    hurricane3 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...