1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How to FIX TWRP BootLoop. (EASY METHOD)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ChangeOfJinzo, May 3, 2016.

  1. ChangeOfJinzo

    ChangeOfJinzo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015

    Aug 27, 2015
    99
    81
    53
    Developer
    Ohio
    Hai everyone~ It seems people are getting BootLoops from TWRP, and a few other reasons. I though that i would post something i found a long time ago in hopes it will help you out.

    DISCLAIMER: This should not cause any problems and its completely safe but just in case, im NOT held responsible for anything you do. Whatever you do is your fault. DO NOT FLASH THINGS YOU DO NOT KNOW 100% WILL WORK OR ARE NOT SURE IT WILL WORK WITH YOUR DEVICE. That being said, here you are.

    Credits: @shimp208 on XDA for Minimal ADB and Fastboot
    @filmaker on XDA for Desktop ROM Flasher


    DIRECTIONS: This is very simple. I will be linking two things. These are two small and safe files to get your device back in working condition. 1. Download
    [TOOL]Minimal ADB and Fastboot. ( You should have this already downloaded since you are in the rooting forums anyway)
    &
    [Utility] Desktop Rom Flasher.

    Install these two files. Open ADB and Fastboot first and let it install it system wide (takes less than a minute) then the Desktop Flasher. BAM, you are done. Connect your phone while its Bootlooping and drag and drop the files to Desktop Flasher. (THE FILES YOU WANNA DRAG AND DROP SHOULD BE TWRP 2.8.7.0) (while you are at it, you can flash CM12,1 or 13 if you want)

    DOWNLOADS: [TOOL]Minimal ADB and Fastboot http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2317790

    [Utility] Desktop Rom Flasher: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2383148

    HOPE YOU ENJOY!
     

    Advertisement

    #1 ChangeOfJinzo, May 3, 2016
    Last edited: May 3, 2016
  2. andMego

    andMego Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015

    Aug 9, 2015
    604
    161
    133
    Which files?
     
  3. ChangeOfJinzo

    ChangeOfJinzo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015

    Aug 27, 2015
    99
    81
    53
    Developer
    Ohio
    Check PO now
     
  4. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    While it's bootlooping? That doesn't sound right... Don't you need to boot into download mode? Trying to install a file while it's actively rebooting sounds like asking for trouble.
     
    dvdavid888 likes this.
  5. ChangeOfJinzo

    ChangeOfJinzo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015

    Aug 27, 2015
    99
    81
    53
    Developer
    Ohio
    Doesnt do anything wrong, tried this so many times on my phone. while it bootlooping twrp, just drag and drop twrp 2.8.7.0 and itll force boot into twrp and flash it.
     
    bg4m3r likes this.
  6. ShapeShifter499

    ShapeShifter499 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    376
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015

    Apr 3, 2015
    376
    262
    108
    Male
    I've done this too, what is happening is ADB is running during the bootloop of TWRP v3.0.0. It's not quite a full boot loop, it's more like something is crashing just before TWRP v3.0.0 is able to completely load. Because of this the Rom Flasher utility above is able to connect via ADB to flash the old recovery. It's basically a nicer GUI version of my tutorial I posted here http://androidforums.com/threads/ju...or-g2-mini-sources.977839/page-6#post-7281141
     
    neologix likes this.
  7. ChangeOfJinzo

    ChangeOfJinzo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015

    Aug 27, 2015
    99
    81
    53
    Developer
    Ohio
    Thanks for typing that XD i wanted to so i could explain to him but im just to busy with CM13 build right now. Thanks for understanding. thats why i pinned adb and fastboot above also
     
    dvdavid888 and ShapeShifter499 like this.
  8. ChangeOfJinzo

    ChangeOfJinzo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015

    Aug 27, 2015
    99
    81
    53
    Developer
    Ohio
    Plus mine is noob proof just in case. Someone with your explanation with do something wrong and not follow your directions.
     
    dvdavid888 and ShapeShifter499 like this.
  9. ShapeShifter499

    ShapeShifter499 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    376
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015

    Apr 3, 2015
    376
    262
    108
    Male
    Right, I was worried of that. I'm glad you posted the Rom Flasher utility.
     
  10. ChangeOfJinzo

    ChangeOfJinzo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015

    Aug 27, 2015
    99
    81
    53
    Developer
    Ohio
    after seeing so many cases, i couldn't keep it to myself. i wanted to help people when i saw it but never had the time to make a post so people would understand because i just couldn't link them to it cause they wouldn't of figured it out lol
     
    ShapeShifter499 likes this.
  11. kwiknuts

    kwiknuts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014

    Dec 3, 2014
    192
    41
    53
    I'm going to try this tonight. So is there any harm in having phone in download mode and follow this procedure or do I just turn phone on let it TWRP bootloop and then do this procedure?

    thanks OP for posting this, I'll let ya know if it worked.
     
  12. ChangeOfJinzo

    ChangeOfJinzo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015

    Aug 27, 2015
    99
    81
    53
    Developer
    Ohio
    While it bootlooping/crashing before twrp, just drag and drop twrp file to flash. Thats what i do. Good Luck
     
  13. kwiknuts

    kwiknuts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014

    Dec 3, 2014
    192
    41
    53
    Ok. I notice on flasher it has 3 options to wipe Data , Cache and Dalvik. Do I need to check any of those ?
     
  14. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    Ah... Makes sense. Thanks for the clarification. :)
     
    ShapeShifter499 likes this.
  15. andMego

    andMego Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015

    Aug 9, 2015
    604
    161
    133
    No
     
  16. ChangeOfJinzo

    ChangeOfJinzo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015

    Aug 27, 2015
    99
    81
    53
    Developer
    Ohio
    you only check those if you want to flash a ROM after. if you are just downgrading or reinstalling twrp, no need to check any :)
     
  17. kwiknuts

    kwiknuts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014

    Dec 3, 2014
    192
    41
    53
    Woo Hoo it worked got back my phone never ever gonna leave TWRP 2.8.7.0 until TWRP 3.8.7.0 LOL

    Thanks so much for the solution OP :)
     
  18. ChangeOfJinzo

    ChangeOfJinzo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015

    Aug 27, 2015
    99
    81
    53
    Developer
    Ohio
    You are welcome. Glad to help. Its why im even here, i like to help others. Plus, i love Tech :3
     
    JoshD likes this.
  19. orrocsam

    orrocsam Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016

    Jan 19, 2016
    11
    3
    16
    Male
    is there any way to fix this without a computer? i wish i never installed the 3.0 version
     
  20. dvdavid888

    dvdavid888 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014

    Apr 30, 2014
    256
    90
    63
    Male
    ..
     
    #20 dvdavid888, May 9, 2016
    Last edited: May 9, 2016
  21. ja7on

    ja7on Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016

    Jan 13, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    It's not working for me. desktop flasher says offline and seems my phone isnt being connected to. it also wont let me drop the twrp img into flasher. any suggestions?
     
  22. vgabbott

    vgabbott Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Guys. I have the TWRP 3.0 reboot problem. The Desktop Flasher uses zip files. I can only find twrp 2.8.7.0 as an image file. Where can I find a zip file?
     
  23. kwiknuts

    kwiknuts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014

    Dec 3, 2014
    192
    41
    53
    Cant recall exactly but pretty sure I used 2.8.7.0 image file just had to do procedure a few times to get to work. I too was about to give up then all of a suddent it worked. Play with it some more it will eventually work just need it to work once :)
     
  24. vgabbott

    vgabbott Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Great! Got it to work by placing twrp in different directory from where Desktop Flash resides. Thanks for the help!
     
  25. kwiknuts

    kwiknuts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014

    Dec 3, 2014
    192
    41
    53
    yep I think I remember now thats what I had to do to. TWRP 3.0.0.0 is really a beta imo, needs work.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...