1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How to flash a Galaxy S4 to Boost?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Pepsik4os, Jan 4, 2014.

  1. Pepsik4os

    Pepsik4os Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014

    Jan 3, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    My friend has a Samsung Galaxy S4 that he doesn't use. He said he would sell it to me if I was able to flash it over. The thing is I don't know how to flash it over. I've done research and I can't seem to find what a "donor phone" is. Can anyone give me all the steps I would need to do this? Also I've tried looking for an msl but it doesn't let me do it I don't know if it is because this phone is 4.3 android instead of 4.1 but if anyone could help me with this as well it would be great help. Also please list the software I would need to use for flashing. Are there any free ways? Also flash it to be able to use full 4g service, multimedia messaging, text messaging, and calling.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Is it a CDMA phone or a GSM phone? (IOW, what carrier is it on?) You can't flash the hardware, which is different in the two technologies.
     
  3. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,456
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,456
    5,676
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Thank you for your post. However, there are currently 18 different models of the Samsung Galaxy S4 and over 1,000 different stock Samsung firmware versions covering 3 different Android platforms. Not all issues affect all models or firmware releases and your answers to the following 3 questions may help in the forum's answers to your specific query.

    #1 Could you post your Model number and Android version...

    To locate these, go to...

    Settings > More > About device > Model number and Android version

    This will give you the model of Samsung Galaxy S4 that you have and which Android version you are on.


    #2. Your current Firmware version, (not baseband)...

    To locate your current firmware version, go to the dial pad and type in...

    *#1234#

    This will give you your, "Version", details in full, usually 3 lines of information which may all be relevant.


    #3. Also helpful would be your carrier, (service provider), and if your phone is rooted and running a custom ROM.


    Thanks. The above helps us to help you and hopefully someone will be able to reply to you shortly. :)



    (Tip: You can go to the green bar at the top of this forum and click on, "User CP", which will take you to your User Control Panel and then select, "Edit your details", under the heading, "Your profile", on the left hand side. Here you can fill in your model and firmware under, "Current devices", in, "Additional Information". This ensures that your device details are shown under your user name on the left, in every post you make. You can update this as often as you like and will help other users immediately identify your current phone and firmware details.)
     
  4. Pepsik4os

    Pepsik4os Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014

    Jan 3, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    I believe it is a GSM it has a SIM card. It is from sprint. Does it have to be CDMA for it to work?
     
  5. Mr. Lucky

    Mr. Lucky Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,087
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011

    Oct 27, 2011
    2,087
    511
    263
    business owner
    SoCal
    Make sure it's it's a CDMA phone (Verizon, Sprint, etc.). A GSM phone, like from AT&T or T-Mobile, will not work. I have no personal experience with it, but this method sounds promising:

     
  6. Pepsik4os

    Pepsik4os Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014

    Jan 3, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    So here are the details
    1. The Phone used to run on Sprint and is now deactivated and I want to flash it to Boost.
    2. I looked for the firmware and it says
    AP : L720VPUEMK2
    CP : L720VPUEMK2
    CSC : L720SPTEMK2
    3. The phone has a SIM card I do not know if it is gms or cdma I looked that up and it said that if it had a sim card it was gsm
     
  7. Pepsik4os

    Pepsik4os Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014

    Jan 3, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    So all sprint phones are CDMA?
     
  8. Mr. Lucky

    Mr. Lucky Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,087
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011

    Oct 27, 2011
    2,087
    511
    263
    business owner
    SoCal
    Just saw your post after I posted. You better verify what your friend actually has, because CDMA does not use a SIM.
     
  9. Mr. Lucky

    Mr. Lucky Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,087
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011

    Oct 27, 2011
    2,087
    511
    263
    business owner
    SoCal
    Based on this, I would say YES. :)
     
  10. Pepsik4os

    Pepsik4os Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014

    Jan 3, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    well then it is a sprint phone that has a sim card
     
  11. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    All Sprint and Verizon phones are CDMA for talk and text. They use a SIM card for data. So the old "SIM is GSM, no SIM is CDMA" rule no longer applies.

    Whether you can put a Sprint phone on Boost is actually up to Sprint (since it owns Boost, and the phone will be operating on the Sprint network) - it depends on the ESN (electronic serial number) of the phone. And changing the ESN is a federal crime in this country (illegal cloning of a cellular device).
     

Share This Page

Loading...