1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root How to Flash the Huawei Ascend to Stock

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jazziette, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    look for an application that opens .7z files... i'm trying it on my mac.

    hold on.

    ok, got it... yeah, you need a new unzipper. hold on again...

    use this. i just put it on my pc, works. http://www.7-zip.org/
     

    Advertisement

  2. Burner

    Burner Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    51
    5
    16
    Southfield, MI
    I see the screen but it says update failed.....

    Its flashing and and it says Firmware Update Step 1/2 unpacking

    then a triangle saying update failed
     
  3. Burner

    Burner Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    51
    5
    16
    Southfield, MI
    Okay I put the 5 files on my sd card. I booted into clockwork mod and I pressed back and restore but there is no option for "nand restore". So I pressed "restore" and it says no files are found.

    ?????
     
  4. Burner

    Burner Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    51
    5
    16
    Southfield, MI
    Im having the same problem.

    I copy and pasted that folder name but it doesnt let you post slashes.

    so i just named it nandroid and still nothing happened.

    :thinking::mad:
     
  5. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    use this method instead and after you finish you will have to install CWM again.

    Fastboot Method
    (Note:This method will work even if the phone will not start or go into recovery)



    Download the Following Package:
    MetroPCSStock Recovery Package with Scripts
    678041208774eab0aed1005f287d71ab MetroStockRecover.7z

    1)Attach phone to USB
    2)Power Phone Off
    3)Enter Fastboot (End Call + Volume Down - while phone turns on)
    4)Run script relevant to your OS
    metroPCSStock-linux.sh
    metroPCSStock-mac.sh
    metroPCSStock-windows.bat
    5) Your phone will automatically reboot
     
  6. Burner

    Burner Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    51
    5
    16
    Southfield, MI
    Thx for trying to help nutmeg. When the black screen flashes on my comp does that mean I ran the file correctly?
     
  7. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    yes, did you click metroPCSStock-windows.bat? btw are you running windows or mac?
     
  8. Burner

    Burner Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    51
    5
    16
    Southfield, MI
    Yeah thats the one I clicked. Im running windows.
     
  9. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    did you get it to work?
     
  10. Burner

    Burner Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    51
    5
    16
    Southfield, MI
    Been sitting at this white screen still.
     
  11. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    is the black screen still on?
     
  12. Burner

    Burner Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    51
    5
    16
    Southfield, MI
    Naw it flashed and dissapeared.
     
  13. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    pull your battery for 10 sec put battery back in and connect the usb cable and run metroPCSStock-windows. did extract the whole folder to your desktop?

    if you have yahoo, add nutt0606@yahoo.com
     
  14. Burner

    Burner Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    51
    5
    16
    Southfield, MI
    Yes I extracted it and clicked it again from the desktop. It blinked the black screen.

    Just added you.
     
  15. AndroidFan420

    AndroidFan420 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    160
    11
    38
    Mover
    Manchester, NH
    i was trying to see what v of clockwork i had after flashing back to stock from Icarus so i can try 2.2 it came up with a screen at the top it says android system recovery <2e> on a black background with blue letters
    then android system recovery utility

    reboot system now
    apply sdcard:update.zip
    wipe data/factory reset
    wipe cache partition
    is this normal?

    and no matter what i click on it goes right back to reboot system now

    and the other 3 buttons go to a screen that says firmware update 1/2

    status bar

    and update failed whats happening?
     
  16. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    you didn't flash cwm 2.1.5.8 right. it should be a black and green theme with Clokwork Mod 2.1.5.8 at the top and bottom in white text.
     
  17. twstde

    twstde Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    20
    3
    16
    Colorado
    When I try to flash back to stock
    from the zip file, I always get that the process is aborted. I am running cwm 3.x, should I be running the 2.x cwm? If so, I can't figure out how to successfully flash back to the older cwm. I have Cricket by the way. Thanks!
     
  18. Anduiril

    Anduiril Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011

    Feb 18, 2011
    426
    157
    68
    Male
    Electronics Technician
    Orlando, FL
    Try downloading the zip again. You may have gotten a corrupted download.
     
  19. twstde

    twstde Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    20
    3
    16
    Colorado

    Ok, I have downloaded two different zip files & it happens on both, but I will re-download, thanks.
     
  20. CuzzinRed

    CuzzinRed Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I tried the anim mod and my phone kept trying to reboot. I thought my sugar turned to sh*t. I almost took it to Crickets store but reading your guide saved my phone & sanity. Muchos Gracias!!



    ps stay away from Anim mod! you heard it here first like MTV..
     
  21. ladlr23

    ladlr23 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    41
    15
    18
    Male
    Student
    El Paso, TX
    Hi, I was just wondering if I diside to flash back to stock, do I need to unroot the phone?
    Thanks.
     
  22. londonstylz

    londonstylz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #1,334
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    78
    5
    16

    whenever i download the file and try to unzip it says "is not a valid file"
     
  23. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Where does it say to unzip it ;)
     
  24. londonstylz

    londonstylz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #1,334
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    78
    5
    16
    it rells you to run the file that corresponds to your o.s. but the files are zipped into one file. has anyone else had this problem.
     
  25. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    ahh, I've not done the icarus mod, just cm 6 n 7 both from the fone itself.

    If I recall correctly theres a .bat file to run if your on windows.
     

Share This Page

Loading...