1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How to flash to .893 update and maintain root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by OutOfPhase, Oct 24, 2011.

  1. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    Just wanted to give a tutorial on how to update to stock.893 and maintain root. I also posted this here with r3blur3d 2.0 added in to process. This is just stock rooted .893 with the updated kernel and radio.


    1. Backup current roms and apps.

    2. Download files you need.

    A. R3L3AS3DRoot and 43V3R Root for the BIONIC
    R3L3As3Droot And 43V3R Root For The Bionic V2.1 - RootzWiki

    B. CWR flash of stock 5.5.893
    http://db.tt/btLANyTA

    C. 5.5.893 update Droid Bionic Found Update Files --- Read Before You Flash

    D. 5.6.893 update 5.6.893

    3. Unzip the file you downloaded from step 2a and double click one of the following,
    R3L3AS3DRoot.bat for windows, MotoRooter.sh for Linux, or Mac-MotoRooter for Mac OS X

    4. Select step 1 a let it go.

    5. Check forever root with root explorer (or similar)
    go to /system/bin/ Long press mount_ext3.sh open in text editor and make sure the last 3 lines look like this.
    chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
    chmod 4755 /system/xbin/su
    chmod 4755 /system/app/Superuser.apk
    If not add what is missing using text editor
    Note: If you use ES Text Editor then it change permission for mount_ext3.sh and you will stuck on logo. EVERYONE MUST CHECK mount_ext3.sh execute permission after editing.

    6. Flash 5.5.893 using either 2b or 2c
    2b. download bootstrap. Press bootstrap recovery, ok, then boot into recovery and flash CWR file.

    2c. Copy update file to the root of sdcard-ext.
    Boot into stock recovery by powering off, hold volume up, down together and press power.
    Volume down to recovery and press volume up to select.
    When the triangle appears press volume up and down together.
    Select install update.
    Select file you placed on sdcard-ext and let it install.

    7. Check to make sure you still have root using step 5

    8. Flash 5.6.893 (optional) this updates the LTE Chip using the same procedure as step 6-2b

    9. You are now at 5.5.893 or 5.6.893 rooted.

    Just in case something goes and you have .893 installed with no root.
    [ROOT] R3L3AS3D W/FOR3V3R ROOT V1.0 LINUX/WINDOWS (Get ROOT after 893 OTA OOPS) - RootzWiki
     

    Advertisement

    SNeitzel, Thom and Jeffery like this.
  2. s1ck s0n

    s1ck s0n Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    64
    2
    16
    I'm really torn on this, this sounds like just what my bionic needs, seeing as its constantly dropping its data signal, however its probably going to be traded to my sister for her Droid x in the next couple of days. Is there any way to unroot with this method? I know she wouldn't mind having a rooted device, and I would love to have it running 100% for her when she gets it. I'm just concerned about the warranty since she's the one going to be using it.
     
  3. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    I am not sure if you can unroot. I am guessing if you remove the forever root script, superuser app and rebooted it would be gone. But I am not willing to try it without an fxz file to restore.
     
    s1ck s0n likes this.
  4. s1ck s0n

    s1ck s0n Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    64
    2
    16
    Would it be possible to just flash the update and lose root?
     
  5. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    yes. If you want to you can download the update, put it on your sdcard-ext, boot into stock recovery and flash it. You will have the new ota and no root.
     
    s1ck s0n likes this.
  6. s1ck s0n

    s1ck s0n Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    64
    2
    16
    Can i flash it over theory 1.8 or do i need to be fully bloated and stock?
     
  7. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    you have to have full bloat and stock.
     
    s1ck s0n likes this.
  8. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    I just tried to Forever root with ADB and I get the following errors after typing "mount -o rw,remount /dev/null /system"

    "mount: Operation not permitted"

    I am using the ADB file from the One-click fastboot restore and root for the bionic v2.1.

    I went ahead and changed the file via ES File Explorer and boot looped my phone...starting over again...

    ok my phone does not like Forever root. Keeps bootlooping :/
     
  9. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    if you use ES File Explorer there is something else you need to do. i will try and find it. I use root explorer with no issues.

    I found the problem. If you use ES Text Editor then it change permission for mount_ext3.sh and you will stuck on logo. EVERYONE MUST CHECK mount_ext3.sh execute permission after editing.
     
  10. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I'm on .893 - since I had frozen 20 apps with TiBu, I went in, enabled perma-root, unfroze the missing apps, rebooted, and flashed away with the .886 --> .893 upgrade. Phone now says .893.

    Notes: The camera seems only a slight bit faster than my stock was - I had no issues with the camera at all, it was taking great pics. I need to try 720p video, that was a joke on my camera, but 1080p video stock was great, so I'm not sure if there can be any improvements at all.

    going to try some other things as well.
     
  11. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    these directions confuse me. I am already rooted, I rooted it the day I got it. if I just flash this .893 update, I will lose root, correct?

    If I'm reading this correctly, in order to install this .893, AND remain rooted, I'm going to have to factory restore my phone? That's pretty annoying. Is there no way to get this update, stay rooted and not restore my phone?
     
  12. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    No. Update .893 breaks root. So in order to maintain root you have to follow the procedure else you're stuck without root. You can do the forever root before or after installing .893. I did it after cause I could not get forever root to stick. Plus the root after installing .893 is pretty easy as it's all scripted. Just follow the instructions on the screen and you're golden. However it still requires you to flash .886. Just make sure that the .893 is the correct update for your phone.

    Download r3l3as3d here:
    [ROOT] R3L3AS3D W/FOR3V3R ROOT V1.0 LINUX/WINDOWS (Get ROOT after 893 OTA OOPS) - RootzWiki
     
  13. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
  14. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    I saw you were trying to use ES Explorer when you could not get forever root to stick, did you try with the note I added about using ES Explorer?
     
  15. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    No I did not look at it. I just got fed up and decided to go OTA then root route. I'll take a look to see if there was something I might have missed. I believe I checked the permissions before and after I made the changes the second time. I dunno I might have not. Either way I was still able to get root after all ^^
     
  16. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    ok, so I'm stuck with having to restore to factory settings, annoying but livable. What did you mean that I'm required to flash .886? I thought I was already at .866.

    so this r3l3as3d thing is ONLY if I happen to not have root anymore after I flash .893, right?
     
  17. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    Ok im so close. I restored and rooted successfully. But when i boot into recovery by holding both volume buttons and pushing power, i wait for the triangle and then im supposed to push both volumes and power again but as soon as i push a volume button it goes to recovery. So i select install rom from sd card but the zip file doesnt show up. And trying to flash it via rom manager doesnt work. Any ideas?
     
  18. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    did you download the. 893 update file? the link is in the OP. If you have. 886 then yoh need to download the .886 to. 893 file. make sure that is downloaded onto the root of your sdcard. when you go bakc yo the recovery with the triangle choose that file. itll install the. 893 ota. as long as you successfully forever rooted youre good to go install [r3]l3ash3d v2.0 which takes advantage of the .893 update. I believe Liberty ROM does as well.
     
  19. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    Yes i downloaded it, it just doesnt show up when im in recovery
     
  20. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    I think I figured it out. I pasted it to the root of my sdcard, instead of sdcard-ext. I did this sort of thing all the time with my droid incredible and was just so used to putting things like this on the sdcard.

    so I found the file now that I had it pasted to sdcard-ext. I wonder if anybody else might have this problem? Might be worth mentioning in the OP instructions to make sure it's in "sdcard-ext" and not "sdcard". it's flashing now! hope this fixes my 3G problems...
     
  21. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    I changed it. Thanks
     
  22. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    Technically your Sdcard is sdcard but I have no clue why Moto decided it was ok to name your internal memory as SDCard. Makes it confusing for people. They shoulda named it "Internal" and "SDCard". Although your 16gb internal memory is partitioned into 2x 8gb sections. One is used for the phone for downloading programs and the other as a storage location. Personally I would have rather they kept the 16gb internal as one parition for programs and storage while i use my external for whatever I want. I dont see the logic put by Moto. Anyways glad you were able to solve your problem and get those .983 roms flashed :cool:
     
  23. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    I got 893 and root but unfortunately i still have the 3G issue :(
     
  24. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    OK, here's the deal.

    If you removed your stock apps by actions like deleting them from /system/apps then you need to revert to stock before doing anything.

    If you simply froze the apps using TiBu or else by simply renaming the apps' .apk extension to something else, revert those changes and you're good to go (IOW, unfreeze them in TiBu / rename the apps extension back to .apk, and then reboot). Even if you have integrated newer versions of stock apps into the system (such as any of the Google apps, the VZW apps, etc., using TiBu or another means) you will be fine as long as those missing apps are back in your system.

    I can say this with confidence - because: http://androidforums.com/bionic-all...ash-893-update-maintain-root.html#post3383516

    I simply unfroze my apps, rebooted, applied permaroot, rebooted into Fastboot mode, and applied the update. presto - I'm still rooted, and I'm on .893.

    Ain't it sweet?
     
  25. s1ck s0n

    s1ck s0n Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    64
    2
    16
    So, I'm a little lost, I restored my original backup from the first time I bootstrapped my phone. I unfroze everything. I boot into recovery, flash the update and I get an error. I'm re-downloading it now, Am I doing something wrong?
     

Share This Page

Loading...