1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[How-To] Force Motorola Droid 2.1 OTA Update (ESE81)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Fabolous, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. Kennethjmc

    Kennethjmc Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    Only when rebooting, but in regards to just using it it's the same for me
     

    Advertisement

  2. gene1138

    gene1138 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    Up and running with 2.1. Thanks guys!! I love the internets. :D
     
  3. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    My guide is live! My guide is live! Check it out! :D
     
  4. screamster

    screamster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    124
    8
    36
    Holy crap.. It's xmas morning!!! MERRY XMAS EVERYONE!

    Installing now... Will post feedback when done. :D
     
  5. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,313
    Posts:
    19,890
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,890
    6,118
    1,313
    District of Columbia
    Still getting an installation aborted message (says something like incorrect signature). Followed all the directions (used to all the ROMing on my Droid, this is for my gf's phone). File is most definitely titled update.zip. Perhaps one of the hosting sites that Trident has is an incorrect and/or corrupted file? I'll try yours (Fab), but it's giving me a warning about a "dangerous" site.

    Edit: The file I got from Trident's page was 12 mg, but the voles one is 15 mg. What the hell?
     
  6. screamster

    screamster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    124
    8
    36
    Installed without a hiccup. Awesome! Thanks to all that made this possible!

    Now.. to go play! :D
     
  7. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    On which location of mine? Might be an issue I need to look into!
     
  8. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    I just downloaded all of them again. They're all showing as 15 MB. All they are is a mirror of the voles.
     
  9. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,313
    Posts:
    19,890
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,890
    6,118
    1,313
    District of Columbia
    Sorry not to specify. It was the first (MyDroidDoes) location. Just finished the update with the voles one that Fab posted and worked fine. Looks like it's not a legit update.zip :thinking: Something I'd look into.
     
  10. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    I'ts an exact mirror of this. I doubt it's not legit. I'll re upload the file though...
     
  11. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    It's definitely 15 MB. The actual file size is 15,712,438 bytes which transfers down to 15 MB. This is the case for all three locations. I don't think you fully downloaded it.
     
  12. slick_old

    slick_old Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    277
    10
    38
    Financial Analyst, Writer
    I could have sworn mine was 14 point-something MB.
     
  13. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    I flahed back to 2.01 with RSD and installed the file in my first location (My Droid Does) and I am now rinning 2.1. Trust me, there is nothing wrong with my files.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  14. screamster

    screamster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    124
    8
    36
    So far, so good. Everything is working well. Ill report any issues if I find them.
     
  15. screamster

    screamster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    124
    8
    36
    I used your file and everything worked well. :thinking:
     
  16. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Thanks for the feedback!
    Future posts about my guide should be made to the guide itself, by the way.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  17. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
    Hey Trident and Fab, I unstickied some of the other 2.1 stickies and left Trident's guide as one. That cool? Also we should clean up some of the other 2.1 OTA threads and the other one from inophysys (is that his name) since we don't need instructions anymore.
     
  18. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Sounds good to me!
    I'll be back on to do some guide work at about 11.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  19. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,313
    Posts:
    19,890
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,890
    6,118
    1,313
    District of Columbia
    It is possible. Thanks for checking. Either way, the voles worked fine.
     
  20. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Glad to hear it and thanks for the feedback!

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  21. jefld

    jefld Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    7
    1
    6
    Thanks, Fabolous for holding this noob's hand.
     
  22. dragonflyr

    dragonflyr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010

    Feb 27, 2010
    182
    71
    53
     
  23. jefld

    jefld Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    7
    1
    6
    After update I have a new app on home screen called Gallery. When I try open it, it says application not installed on your phone. Anybody know what this is and where to get it?
     
  24. Le0_Br4zUc4

    Le0_Br4zUc4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    325
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    I wanted to try it but I don't feel like rooting my phone again later (feeling lazy lol) so I'll wait until someone find a way to install without taking root out
     
  25. girlsparky

    girlsparky Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    4
    0
    25
    I had a problem and it said it was aborted. I rebooted and up came 2.1 ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...