1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[How-To] Force the Official Android 2.2 Froyo Update for the Motrola Droid (FRG01B | Update 1 of 2)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Trident, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    No, this is for the Motorola DROID (CDMA) only.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Sal Paradise

    Sal Paradise Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    0
    35
    Noob question: how do I verify the MD5 sum? And what should it be?

    The files are 42.5.
     
  3. rodney_1218

    rodney_1218 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Well everything with the update went great. After restarting my Droid is real sluggish any suggestions...
     
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Any MD5 sum app will work, in Windows, I prefer an explorer extension called HashCheck or HashTab - both work with both 32bit and 64bit Windows Explorer.

    For other OSs, the commandline MD5sums works across the board. I don't know of GUI based MD5 sum checkers in other OSs.
     
  5. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Give it a bit of time as it resets everything - then reboot (maybe 30 minutes later) and then see if it is faster.
     
    rodney_1218 likes this.
  6. rodney_1218

    rodney_1218 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Its been about an hour since I updated and I restarted multiple times... Still Sluggish
    ...
     
  7. Sal Paradise

    Sal Paradise Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    0
    35
    I'm still running the manually updated 2.1, could that be a reason it's not updating?
     
  8. eXsoR

    eXsoR Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    68
    3
    16
    I have successfully installed Android 2.2 Froyo on my D1!! :DD

    Thanks too: Trident and OMJ for helping me out!!

    And Thanks to LarryR for the update.zip file
    -Nexeo.net, Polarix, StrifeJester, wee_ag, johnlgalt, blong4life, Inphosys and Dev-Mob for file hosting
    -NickMili - without his help we would'nt have this. He provided the semblance of a file name that led us to the correct file on Google's servers.
     
  9. StephC

    StephC Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Disabled
    Duvall, WA
    Thank you Trident for the update, I would have grown old waiting on Verizon/Google. Anyone know what we have to do to get the WiFi tethering?:D
     
  10. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Is it still synchronizing your apps, per chance? Or your Google Accounts?

    Could be - is it 2.1 or 2.1update1?

    Excellent - enjoy!

    I think it is being worked on, but I haven't looked really deeply into it....
     
  11. dangell26

    dangell26 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    8
    0
    5

    Computer
     
  12. Sal Paradise

    Sal Paradise Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    0
    35
    2.1-update1

    Sorry for clogging up the thread everyone!
     
  13. Sal Paradise

    Sal Paradise Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    0
    35
    2.1-update1

    Sorry for clogging up the thread everyone!
     
  14. umataro42

    umataro42 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    310
    66
    53
    Male
    San Pedro, CA
    New to the forum, and just wanted to say thanks to Trident for the update! Can't wait to try out all the new stuff for Froyo.
     
  15. schleppy

    schleppy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    45
    4
    16
    I updated my earlier post, but figured I would mention it again. If Swype isn't working for you uninstall it (just Swype, not Swype Installer) and reinstall it. It now works great.
     
    Trident likes this.
  16. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    No problem! Glad I could help! :)

    Ohh.. and welcome to the forums!
     
  17. dangell26

    dangell26 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I installed Froyo on my boss' Droid and she says "wow cool (sarcasm)." She has no idea the Froyo goodness she has lol.

    She's not very "tech savvy"
     
  18. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    She's just not cool enough.. :p lol
     
  19. gutset628

    gutset628 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Thanks for the great walk through! A Few initial impressions which I think are important to mention:

    1. Initial boot-up after updated was slow and the entire interface was slow in getting everything to load.
    2. After initial boot, all my installed apps were not viewable. They did show up under manage applications but not under the actual applications list off the home screen.
    3. Performed battery pull and reboot once I felt the phone should have been completely booted after the update. This second boot-up went EXTREMELY FAST! Probably the single fastest boot-up of any phone I've ever had.
    4. All applications now show up fine and of the ones I've test are running better all around.
    5. Browsing has improved greatly. Everything in the browser is a lot snappier.
    6. Unfortunately, Flash 10.1 is still missing from the Market Place.

    Super great update, I'm really excited!

    Thanks again!
     
  20. cajunstyl

    cajunstyl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    my phone was SOOOOO slow when I first rebooted it. even with a couple battery-pulls, it didn't help. I used a task killer and that kinda helped speed things up. can i remove astro once the update is finished?
     
  21. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Yeah, I have been telling everyone the same thing in other threads. Thanks for the heads up and update.

    Excellent feedback, m8.

    And Flash 10.1 is not in hte market, it will be when it is released as final - right now it is still Beta 3, so get it from here - http://androidforums.com/motorola-droid/106331-so-where-can-i-get-official-flash-player.html

     
  22. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    You're welcome! Glad we could help ya out! :)

    Glad to hear that you're enjoying Froyo!
    You sure can!

    Sorry about those speed issues..
     
  23. ShuttleXpC

    ShuttleXpC Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    48
    11
    18
    I replied in the main topic, but I installed this everything was running fine but I decided I wanted to clear everything off and start fresh. So I did a factory restore, but the activation process just won't go. Verizon lady on the phone's automated line says the programming was successful, but it keeps prompting me to activate. Is this just Verizon being crappy? I've heard a lot of problems with their activation service.
     
  24. cak

    cak Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    7
    1
    6
    You say flash 10.1 isnt in market but can you download it from net and it work that way?
     
  25. Kssig1

    Kssig1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Thank you so much!!! This worked perfect on both of my phones!!!

    Jay
     

Share This Page

Loading...