1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How to forward a txt or pix msg

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HOTHEAD, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. HOTHEAD

    HOTHEAD Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    132
    10
    38
    Anyone?

    I cant believe its that hard, why cant I figure it out
     

    Advertisement

  2. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    Have you tried accessing the threaded sms then on the specific message you want forwarded , simply long press on it. It should hopefully then bring up a small screen to forward the message etc. {Apologies if I'm wrong , I haven't got droid or 2.0} :D

    Carl :)
     
  3. HOTHEAD

    HOTHEAD Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    132
    10
    38
    Ok kinda helps, sms & mms both come thru thread style you can hold parts of them to forward, however cant figure out how to bring up contact list...
     
  4. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    once you long press on the Individual message it should take you to a secondary screen with the Forwarded message alrighty typed in {located bottom of the screen} , Now {If i'm right} -> Touch the box at the top of that screen and start typing a contact , you can now select which one you want.

    Carl :)
     
  5. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    Sort of like this Image.......

    [​IMG]

    You see the message typed at the bottom of the screen and a box up the top with the "to" in it. Simply tap the box and start typing a contact :)
     
  6. HOTHEAD

    HOTHEAD Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    132
    10
    38
    Your right about everything up untill start to type in the box. Checked contacts to make sure, even tried case sensitive, it seems to want the # and who ever remembers #'s. This phone is killin me..thanks for your help
     
  7. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    No problem but can you just explain in a bit more detail where I went wrong? Show me the error of my ways so I may help others Correctly :D

    Do you mean when you start typing a contact in the "to" box it won't work unless you out a # at the beginning?
     
  8. HOTHEAD

    HOTHEAD Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    132
    10
    38
    OK, when I open a message I can scroll over either the txt or immage part of the message. If I "long hold" over it a box opens up that has lock, copy to sd, forward,view,& delete. If I choose forward it brings up the forward window with the To: box at the top, If I long hold that I get an edit text and input meathod window. however if I type contact name it tells me invalid, if I type phone # it sends...

    Again thank you so much for what help you have given me
    ,I really appriciate it
    Regards HOTHEAD
     
  9. rawness

    rawness Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    398
    21
    58
    You should be able to start typing in the name and it'll bring up a drop down list of people in your contact list for you to click on.

    This is the same way it works if you start composing a new message (without picking a contact first.).

    EDIT: Once in the new message window Don't long hold the "to" field, just type.
     
  10. HOTHEAD

    HOTHEAD Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    132
    10
    38

    I tried this on a New message and It worked for SOME people in the contact list...Now I need to figure out why it only was working for some of them.

    Carl C..you were right, I just only tried 2 contacts..THANKS again
     
  11. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    I was thinking you must have some sort of bug if you had to type # before selecting a contact {Hence my question} . As the Previous poster said you simply tap on the to box and start typing...

    Odd it only comes up with certain people...... :thinking:

    But thanks for replying to my question also and your most welcome for my response!

    EDIT: Glad you got it sorted! I thought I was right before :p
     
  12. bluekgt

    bluekgt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    12
    0
    15
    i am having the same problem in that only some of my contacts show up when i stat entering a name. Anyone figure out that problem?
     
  13. HOTHEAD

    HOTHEAD Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    132
    10
    38
    Spent 1.5 hours on phone with Verizon, another 30 min at Android support and got the (we'll give you a call back speech". Went into Verizon, and they said it was a known problem and their working on it.
    Next day external speaker went out on phone, back to Verizon I go, replaced phone for speaker problem. New phone shows all contacts:mad:

    I did ALOT of reading on this, and I did come across a post on another forum with a person who said they had the same problem. They claim to have fixed it by deleting all of their contacts, then deleting their facebook and e-mail accounts. They then went to verizon and had them move a contact list from an old phone, then sync'd to Facebook and e-mail and the phone reacted like it should. Thats all I can tell ya from my experience..hope it helps
     
  14. bluekgt

    bluekgt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    12
    0
    15
    My contacts were transferred by verizon from my old phone. i am going to try and redo them in gmail and the sync and see if that helps if not i geuss ill be going to verizon too.
     
  15. LittleOne23

    LittleOne23 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    Can we get 610WIP AM Radio Station...Sports Talk on Droid?
     
  16. FFWhitey

    FFWhitey Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    I'm having the same issues. Does anyone know how to create groups? I would really like to forward texts to groups of people at the same time. I'm kind of a hub for text messages. Friends all over the country send me texts to forward and I'll be damned if I'm going to forward the same text 70 or more times individually.

    Any help with group forwards would be awesome!
     
  17. boycan

    boycan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    55
    1
    16
    Make sure your contacts # is stored as a mobile # if you want them to show up in text field while typing name.
     
  18. DawnMarie

    DawnMarie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    3
    0
    25
    Goodness I thought it was me; so glad to see that someone else couldn't figure out how to forward a message as well. Thanks for the Info.
     
  19. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    Finally, so that's how. But is there a way to get the contact list to come up? I"m using Handcent and you can mass message that way.
     

Share This Page

Loading...