1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support how to get back app previous version

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rubii, May 10, 2012.

1. rubii

rubii Lurker
    None

May 9, 2012
    Hi, I’m new to android and need some help regarding some issues:

When updating apps to newer versions, very often I will still prefer the older version. The problem is, how do I go back to the previous version? Can this be done?

When deleting apps, I will normally clear data first from “Manage applications”, then select uninstall. I thot this will delete all the app files on my phone? But I can still see the app folder in my file manager. I find this quite tedious, to delete thru Settings and still have to manually delete the folder the app created from file manager. Is there a better way of deleting? Especially when the folders names, thou some are pretty obvious while some can be quite misleading. How do I know for sure that folder is for the app I deleted? I don’t want to end up deleting folders I’m not supposed to.

Is there’s any app that can help delete the app together with all the files in 1 shot? Really need some advise here. Pls help.

FYI, I’m using SGS2 on Gingerbread 2.3.6, not rooted.

Advertisement

2. fieryjack55

fieryjack55 Newbie
    None

Sep 21, 2011
    county durham,england
    I've found the best way to go back to previous versions of apps is to make a backup of the original file in astro file manager which is available on google play.
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.metago.astro&feature=nav_result#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDMsImNvbS5tZXRhZ28uYXN0cm8iXQ..
    Astro puts a copy of the app in a folder called BACKUPS that it creates on the root of your phone,you can then uninstall or delete as you put it the version you dont want and then navigate to the BACKUPS folder in astro select the old version of the app and reinstall your older version back onto the phone.