1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How to get back to "stock rooted".

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sleedeane, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. sleedeane

    sleedeane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,396
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    1,396
    363
    193
    disabled carpenter
    Columbia, MO.
    My ringer completely quit working.
    I've tried several CM ROMs with the same results.
    So I thought about going back to stock rooted and see if that makes a difference but I don't know how.
    Right now I'm on 10.1-20130411-EXPERIMENTAL-hercules-M3.
    Thank you.
     

    Advertisement

  2. dontpanicbobby

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    14,641
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    14,641
    9,222
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    sleedeane and Atma like this.
  3. Atma

    Atma Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    sleedeane likes this.
  4. dierna

    dierna Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    139
    10
    38
    vancouver, bc
    It is a good ROM, but when I flashed it on my BF's phone, the data didn't work. I poked around in the settings, and all was as it should be, so I flashed CM10 stable (uploaded 7/10) and all is well. You can find it here: CyanogenMod Downloads
     
    sleedeane likes this.
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,476
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    If that were done more often, our forums would shrink in participation. ^ ;) :D
     
  6. sleedeane

    sleedeane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,396
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    1,396
    363
    193
    disabled carpenter
    Columbia, MO.
    As long as I'm around so shall these forums as I guess I'll never stop needing help...

    Hey Atma...I got the stock JB on my phone finally. It just finally worked. I don't know what the deal was.

    Now to root.
    Let's see...
    Shoot. Can you give me a hint? I can't remember.
    Thank you.
     
  7. Atma

    Atma Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina

    Glad you got JB back. :thumbup:

    Yes, odin TWRP. The link is in the root guide.

    Then to root, boot to recovery.

    In TWRP, Select Reboot, then System, TWRP will tell you that you are not rooted and ask if you want to root. Use the Swipe bar at the bottom to root. When the phone reboots pull down your notification window and there should be a selection for supersu. Select it and then tap the TWRP option.
     
    sleedeane likes this.
  8. sleedeane

    sleedeane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,396
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    1,396
    363
    193
    disabled carpenter
    Columbia, MO.
    Got it!
    It seems like sometimes in the Odin world something won't do what you want it to until you do it a few times then poof it decides to work.
    Whatever the case, I finally have rooted JB.
    Thank you very much once again for the rescue!
     
    Atma likes this.
  9. Atma

    Atma Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    You're welcome. Glad to see you back up and running again. :)

    If you haven't done it already, remember to go to twrp and make a backup you can restore later if something goes wrong.
     
    sleedeane likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...