1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips How to get back to stock?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 68sting, Sep 6, 2012.

  1. 68sting

    68sting Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    I need to get a replacement Triumph for numerous reasons. I have the CY7 rom now. I followed the utube videos to get that done. I now need to go back to the factory rom before sending it in. How do I do that?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)

    I'd say start here
    http://androidforums.com/triumph-al...de-100-stock-motorola-triumph-newb-proof.html


    basically just like you can make a Nandroid backup of your phone, the link is a nandroid backup of a stock phone

    youll need to get the files and restore the backup which should bring you back to stock

    the thread also has stock splash.img and stock recovery files

    once you restore the backup the phone will be stock again but youll possibly still have non-stock splash and boot animations

    the splash is there like i said the boot animation sometimes will change back but sometimes wont so theres a thread with the stock boot animation somewhere on this site

    Finally once you have restored the backup and replaced the splash.img and boot animation(if needed)

    the lastthing would be to boot the phone in download/polling mode and replace the CWM recovery img with the Stock recovery img
     
  3. b_randon14

    b_randon14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    910
    628
    163
    Pizza Delivery Driver
    Somerset, KY
    Even easier to download my stock rom(its in the all things root guide) and flash it, the put back on the stock recovery by either flashing the zip or doing the download mode method. That is newborn proof. Don't know why everyone complicates it with nandroids and everything, my complete stock rom litetaly takes you to an out of box state minus the recovery. Nandroids don't restore all the partitions on this phone such as the /hidden and /hidden/data partitions.

    Point is, my rom is a simple 100% way to get back to COMPLETE stock!! No simpler than that!!
     
    g60madman and agentc13 like this.
  4. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)

    yea thats deff easier, i dont know why i never remember that lol
     
  5. 68sting

    68sting Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    So I tried to follow the directions and I did get the stock nandroid in the back up file. Went to CWM and tried to restore the new rom. It says MD5 mismatch! Whats next?
     
  6. skearton

    skearton Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    133
    25
    43
  7. 68sting

    68sting Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Tried it a second time and it worked. Do I need to replace the recovery file also to get back to OEM?
     
  8. skearton

    skearton Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    133
    25
    43
    I TAKE NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR ACCIDENTS

    Yes, when I did mine recently I:

    held vol down and power simultaneously for download mode.

    Plugged into my pc

    deleted recovery

    changed the name of my old recovery from recoverybu, back to recovery

    unplugged phone

    rebooted into recovery to verify, and I was good to go.
     
  9. b_randon14

    b_randon14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    910
    628
    163
    Pizza Delivery Driver
    Somerset, KY
    Yeah in the cwm thread there is also a stock recovery flashble zip so you can flash that through cwm and reboot to recovery and have a complrlete stock phone!

    So my stock rom zip plus the cwm flashable stock recovery zip = completely stock in two easy fool proof steps!!
     
    skearton likes this.
  10. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    Don't even bother, Virgin does a hardware inspection and makes any repairs and then just flashes an image, they don't do any software inspection at all. I've returned 6 Triumphs and a couple of Intercepts plus a Wildfire S with all of them rooted with custom recoveries without issue.
     
  11. mdrobtx

    mdrobtx Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Nov 14, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    US Postal Service
    Fort Worth, TEXAS
    Brandon, you rock!! Worked like a champ. I was fretting over the Md5 sum error.
    I'll donate a couple of beers to you.:D
     

Share This Page

Loading...