1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How to get Foxfi working on my Honor 5X?

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by SweetestDiabetic, Apr 10, 2016.

  1. SweetestDiabetic

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I have the $60 unlimited plan on Metropcs. I'm trying to make foxfi premium block my usage so I have unlimited hotspot, but it keeps using my limited hotspot data istead of my unlimited data plan. I want to use a Chromebook or my Roku TV on it. I live out in the country now after an abrupt move, so broadband isn't a beautiful option like i'd want (but i have t mobile yeah i know. . . it's like right off the interstate into farmland). If anyone could help this TN boy out, I'd appreciate it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,399
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,399
    3,141
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    This is the first time I have heard of this situation.

    Most folks don't have Hotspot on their account, and FoxFi just works by using the normal DATA package.

    Somehow, your phone having Hotspot activated, knows that if you are activating the WiFi radio in your phone, that it must toggle the subscription to Metropcs' servers. That of course is drawing down on your HotSpot data plan...

    question? Why did you get HotSpot? was it part of your data plan already?

    IMO, you need to call up Metropcs and turn off the Hotspot feature on your plan....
    once that is done, then FoxFi should work just fine.
     
  3. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #68
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    1,731
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,731
    1,278
    393
    NYC
    The tethering feature is now automatically included in the MetroPCS plans, there is no option to turn it on or off.
    The unlimited plan has an 8GB/month tethering limit.
    Even if you could manage to get around the limit for tethering, using a Roku and streaming lots of HD through the phone would likely get you flagged for excessive use and throttled at some point. The unlimited plan does actually have a limit, most normal users will never see it but if you use your service as a substitute for a proper ISP then you may. You should carefully read the Metro terms of service.
     
    #3 Fox Mulder, Apr 10, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2016
  4. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,399
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,399
    3,141
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    Okay, understand that now.

    I feel for his dilemma for being in a 'rural area'... I am also, but at least I have a telephone ADSL access to the internet... not real fast, but it is internet. Something like 10.4 downloads. and it is unlimited which is what he wants.... it is provided by AT&T so the OP should see if his home telco provider can provide him with internet.

    Rural living is nice, right up until we want all the goodies that apartment dwellers seem to take for granted.
     
    Jfalls63 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...