1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How to get icons on the bottom bar?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by bennylava, May 5, 2012.

  1. bennylava

    bennylava Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    170
    6
    36
    The stock browser that comes with android was giving me no small amount of trouble. It would throw error after error and would often just close itself. For me it was just junk.

    Then I discovered Dolphin HD browser. I think I'm in love. So I uninstalled that stock piece of junk with titanium backup. But now I want the dolphin HD browser to be down there on the bottom bar on my home screen just like that stock one used to be. So how can I do this? When I try to just hold down the icon and drag it down there, a trash can appears and all you can do is trash the icon.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sherri

    sherri Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,168
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,168
    507
    213
    Which launcher are you using? Which phone?
     
  3. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,150
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,150
    4,824
    1,108
    Male
    Trash the icon on the dock at the bottom, then drag Dolphin HD to the spot where it used to be.
     
  4. sherri

    sherri Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,168
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,168
    507
    213
    Again, depends on the launcher.
     
  5. bennylava

    bennylava Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    170
    6
    36

    I'm just using the stock launcher on my Samsung Galaxy S. AKA the captivate. Model SGH-I897. I'm running android 2.3.5 Gingerbread.

    As for dragging the icon down there, I don't quite understand what yall are telling me. When I try to drag anything down to that bar at the bottom on the home screen, all the other icons that are normally there go away. And a trashcan appears. You have to trash whatever icon you were dragging there. I don't see any option on install it to the bar when I drag an icon down there.
     
  6. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,150
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,150
    4,824
    1,108
    Male
    Oh, yeah, different launchers. Forgot. For Samsungs:

    Open App drawer>menu>edit>drag the internet shortcut out of the dock>drag dolphin HD into the dock
     
  7. bennylava

    bennylava Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    170
    6
    36
    Ok if I understand you right, you want me to go to Applications. Then hit the menu button, the click "Edit".

    If I do this, all I have is a little icon in the middle of the menu that says "View type" right in the middle. Its just for arranging all the icons in the applications menu into whatever type of grid you want. IE, alphabetical, etc.

    So I really can't even get very far. If I just skip that step, I get the same problems I already mentioned. It just goes to a trash can automatically. You never get the option to add it to the bar.
     
  8. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,150
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,150
    4,824
    1,108
    Male
    Go into Applications>Press menu>then edit. Ignore the menu at the bottom. Do you see that icons have a (-) sign at their top right corner? just drag them around.
     
  9. bennylava

    bennylava Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    170
    6
    36
    I must be using a slightly different interface made for samsung or something. Cause when I follow your instructions to the letter, I get no "Edit" option. All I get is "View type".
     
  10. sherri

    sherri Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,168
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,168
    507
    213
  11. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,150
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,150
    4,824
    1,108
    Male
    You must be using a TouchWiz interface edited by your carrier, since you are using a specific Galaxy S called "Captivate". I'm using an international Galaxy SL bought straight from the Samsung concept store (basically its a Galaxy S with an S-LCD screen instead of AMOLED).
     
  12. bennylava

    bennylava Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    170
    6
    36
    Theeere we go. Thanks a million Sherri. Ok now on to the next one lol. How can you rename the little icons?
     
  13. sherri

    sherri Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,168
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,168
    507
    213
    Since you like the launcher you have, use the application Folder Organizer. It lets you rename apps and change icons. If you need help with it, shout!
     

Share This Page

Loading...