1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root How to get rid of Amazon Advertisements ! ROOT NEEDED!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PRallday168, Jan 3, 2013.

  1. PRallday168

    PRallday168 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    283
    62
    53
    Male
    Vet Tech
    This will get rid of those annoying ads on your lockscreen.

    Assuming your device is rooted and you have ES File Explorer.

    Make sure that in ES File Explorer setting>root settings everything is checked.


    Now open ES File Explorer and go to "SYSTEM" folder, then go to "APP" folder, look for Dtcp_apk.apk, simply rename it to Dtcp_apk.bat. now you can turn your screen off and on and no more ads will show.!

    Another way is to change permission on the file by long press on dtcp_apk.apk and go down to properties and tapping change on the right hand side and uncheck all boxes. then press ok and ok on the next screen.

    Edit: if none of these work, a third way is to download ROM Toolbox, go to App Manager>All Apps>Kindle Special Offers. touch it and touch Freeze. it should disable the offers immediately.

    Reboot device to make sure it works.
     

    Advertisement

    djscott79 and pandacookie like this.
  2. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    573
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Yeah. I tried both methods. I still have ads on my touchscreen. I guess I'll have to pay the $15.
     
  3. PRallday168

    PRallday168 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    283
    62
    53
    Male
    Vet Tech
    so! this might be a third option. download ROM Toolbox, go to App Manager>All Apps>Kindle Special Offers. touch it and touch Freeze. it should disable the offers immediately.
     
    pandacookie likes this.
  4. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    573
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Thank you. This worked! I used Titanium Backup Pro, which also has a freeze option.
     
    PRallday168 likes this.
  5. PRallday168

    PRallday168 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    283
    62
    53
    Male
    Vet Tech
    Finally! Glad it worked! ill update OP. this might be the only option that is 100% to work on every kindle. ive tried 4 kindle hd's and it worked on all 4! Enjoy your Wallpapers :D
     
  6. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    573
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    I do enjoy them. Any way I can use my own wallpaper? Just asking for when I get tired of the stock wallpaper.
     
  7. PRallday168

    PRallday168 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    283
    62
    53
    Male
    Vet Tech
    yea its possible. i have tried this method though and it did not work for me. but i tried on a friends kindle and it worked. go here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1898198 its a bit of work but you might have good results in the end. just make sure you make a backup copy of your framework-res.apk and make sure you have the correct pixels on the pictures you want.
     
    pandacookie likes this.
  8. PRallday168

    PRallday168 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    283
    62
    53
    Male
    Vet Tech
    it is very good news. i was getting so annoyed by the ads.! hopefully this works on all kindle fire HDs
     
  9. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    573
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Thank you @ PRallday168! I will try it one day when I have time and a factory cable (just in case).
     
  10. PRallday168

    PRallday168 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    283
    62
    53
    Male
    Vet Tech
    no problem! definately have a factory cable by your side! saved me quite a few times!
     
  11. PRallday168

    PRallday168 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    283
    62
    53
    Male
    Vet Tech
  12. scorpio1979

    scorpio1979 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013

    Jan 31, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    Huge help again! Tried renaming the file, but that didn't work. Went immediately to method 2...worked like a charm.
     
  13. PRallday168

    PRallday168 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    283
    62
    53
    Male
    Vet Tech
    Glad it worked for you!:D
     
  14. djscott79

    djscott79 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013

    Jan 25, 2013
    29
    13
    38
    Male
    i had to reroot my HD after the 7.1.4 update (or whatever the newest one was) and the ads came back mixed with the launcher lockscreen so i used the second method blocking it by unchecking the permissions
    thanks
    now time to block OTA updates once and for all
     
  15. PRallday168

    PRallday168 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    283
    62
    53
    Male
    Vet Tech
    nice! glad it worked after the update. let me know if blocking ota updates work aswell. i see alot off people having issues with blocking it.:D
     
  16. djscott79

    djscott79 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013

    Jan 25, 2013
    29
    13
    38
    Male
    so far turning it off and on over 50 times since my last post and i have seen NO ads on the lock screen

    as for the OTA updates only time will tell lol
     
    PRallday168 likes this.
  17. PRallday168

    PRallday168 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    283
    62
    53
    Male
    Vet Tech
    niceee :D. Oh and btw, i remembered a method i used to disable OTA updates when i had stock ROM was to go into system/etc/security with file manager and delete the otacertz.zip and that did the trick
     
  18. djscott79

    djscott79 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013

    Jan 25, 2013
    29
    13
    38
    Male
    yeah i reaD T ATREAD SOMEWHERE ABOUT MOVING (stupid caps) the otacertz file, so i have just moved it to my download folder, its just a waiting game.
    bring it on amazon..... but not to hard
     
  19. PRallday168

    PRallday168 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    283
    62
    53
    Male
    Vet Tech
    theres a new update that was just released 7.4.3 so this should be a good test to see if that method worked!
     
  20. epicguywins

    epicguywins Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Uh, hey everyone.
    I accidentally deleted the file and now the Kindle is acting up. Can anyone provide me with a copy of it?
     
  21. Newbie505

    Newbie505 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017

    Jan 23, 2017
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    have you heard of the alcatel pixi 4 (4.5) phone? its also called TCL 4060W.
    I have been trying to root it for a long time and i know this is not the right thread for this but my phone does not have an adb interface whenever i try and get the right settings to root it thru the computer and it shows an X on the installation of the adb interface. There is NOTHING about my phone's specs or anything. not even at the alcatel.com website. I found a universal driver for my phone and i will test it out and if it doesn't root my phone i will be really sad.
     

Share This Page

Loading...