1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How to go back to 2.1 after manually updating to 2.2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by _-Jay-_, Dec 5, 2010.

  1. _-Jay-_

    _-Jay-_ Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010

    Nov 12, 2010
    161
    10
    58
    NJ
    I'd like to go back to 2.1. I am not enjoying my downloaded copy of 2.2 thus far. Keyboard bugs, no GPS, missing widgets, etc. I'll just wait for the official announcement from Sprint that it's okay to download. That said, can someone explain to me how I do this? I have never used Odin or kies, never rooted a phone before, never flashed a device, etc. I found a thread somewhere saying how to do it from XDA but all of their threads read like some foreign language to me. I am curled up in a fetal position after reading 2 or 3 lines. I need it explained to me in idiot speak, because well...that's what I am. I'd even be willing to get onto vent to get help if it makes it easier.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Odin isn't terrible...

    See if THIS POST helps
     
  3. swanysto

    swanysto Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    64
    15
    18
    Project Manager
    Chicago
    I know how hard it is to understand some of the posts, so I will go step by step for you:

    1: Download Odin.
    2: Unpack Odin to desktop for simplicity.
    3: Download Stock Files.
    4: Put this file on your desktop as well.
    5: Download pit file.
    6: Put on desktop.
    7: Double click on the odin application.
    8: Click on the button labeled "PIT". Find the .pit file on the desktop.
    9: Click on "PDA". Put the stock file from the desktop in there.
    10: Turn your phone off. Wait 30 seconds to make sure it is completely off. Slide out the keyboard. Hold down the "1" on the keyboard and press the power button. If a yellow android guy digging comes up, you have done it correctly.
    11: Plug your phone into the computer via USB connector. In the furthest box to the left it should turn yellow and say"com:#". On the left, the only option that should be clicked is autoreboot.
    12: Click "Start". Let this go till your phone reboots. Once it reboots, it should look like it did the day you bought it.
     
    Hola91, SurrealOne, shalea and 3 others like this.
  4. _-Jay-_

    _-Jay-_ Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010

    Nov 12, 2010
    161
    10
    58
    NJ
    I think I figured it out, only I used a different PIT file (Victory...pit or something or other) and a different TAR file (SPH-D700-DG27-8MB.tar). Got it to go back to DG27 Build, then it auto-updated itself to DI07, then again to DI18.
     
  5. swanysto

    swanysto Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    64
    15
    18
    Project Manager
    Chicago
    That works the same way, I am not sure what the Victory pit file does, or if sprint can tell any difference.
     
  6. downdurnst

    downdurnst Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    swanysto, your post is a gem man - easiest instructions I've seen. I too found the 2.2 build to be buggy, and then finding out it wasn't even official I was done with it. Great stuff, and thank you!
     
  7. swanysto

    swanysto Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    64
    15
    18
    Project Manager
    Chicago

    No problem :)
     
  8. Marsh511

    Marsh511 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    I think the victory .pit and the .tar you mentioned (with "28" in the name) were the files we use if we wanted to UPGRADE to Froyo with the DK28 version, not if we wanted to go BACK to the stable 2.1. So you definitely want to use the other pair of files.

     
  9. Marsh511

    Marsh511 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    When you reverted back to DI18, was the accelerometer not working at all? Can't get my Epic to change back/forth between landscape & portrait now (after trying DK28 and Odin'ing back to DI18). Frustrating... GPS still sucks overall - regardless of version. I hold the Epic next to the Evo with GPS Test running -- Evo sees and uses 9-11 satellites; Epic takes its sweet time seeing 4, and then uses 3. How can Samsung say "GPS is fine"!???
     
    tigger2u likes this.
  10. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Isn't there an update.zip file you can just pop on and go back, same way as updating to 2.2? Do you need to go through Odin?
     
  11. fernandofmarte

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    swanysto, also thanks for your post. It worked perfectly. I got one question though: now I went back, but the accelerometer isn't working. Do you have an clue how to fix it? I've been looking around, and it looks like I have to root my phone. I was trying to avoid that.
     
  12. swanysto

    swanysto Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    64
    15
    18
    Project Manager
    Chicago

    I haven't heard of that problem. I will take a look around and see what I can find.
     
  13. Marsh511

    Marsh511 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Did you find a fix for the accelerometer yet after reverting back to DI18? XDA people say I have to root to fix that. Pretty much sucks - especially since the Epic is my wife's, and she'll hang me by the balls if I mess her phone up any worse than I already did!!! Pls post if you figure out another fix.

    About now, I'm wishing I'd gotten her an Evo - like mine. Imagine that, having TWO phones the same so I don't have to figure out how to do things twice! But she wanted the kb (which she doesn't use much), but have to admit the Epic camera takes MUCH better pix than Evo's washed out indoor pictures and jumpy videos.

     
    tigger2u likes this.
  14. Reeves

    Reeves Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    16
    1
    16
    I'm also going to go back to 2.1.. I'm so disappointed with 2.2, my camera freezes while looking though pictures, my gps is funky as hell, after coming from a wif zone my 3g doesn't automatically connect until I redtart my phone, and I can't connect my phone to my laptop through mass storrage anymore.. If I thought at all that it wasn't an official release I wouldn't have even tried it..

    I think I'm gonna have to just sync all my apps with app brain and just do a hard reset.. people are having problems with the other methods and I just want my phone to work again..
     
    tigger2u likes this.
  15. Meatpopsicle

    Meatpopsicle Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Michigan
    So has anyone found a way to fix the accelerometer problem yet?
     
  16. nemt

    nemt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    There is a modified update.zip floating around if you don't want to deal with Odin to revert back to DI18.

    I haven't tried it out and can't vouch for it, though.
     
  17. j.Connor

    j.Connor Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Can I get similar instructions as these but how to perform this for my Epic via my Macbook. I downloaded the three items to my desktop before knowing Odin is NOT Mac compatible :mad: I am currently running Froyo DK28 via the "update.zip" method and although I have no major problems It does run a bit slower and there are no major advantages, at least to me. I would rather be stock for when the OTA update is ready and maybe a bit smoother.

    If not I can load the three items to a zip drive and try at my parents but that won't be until about the 2nd :\
     
  18. j.Connor

    j.Connor Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    okay, I'm getting frustrated. I get done with #10, plug in the phone and the computer says it doesn't recognize the device. Nothing in the Odin window changes. I tried loading the Samsung USB driver directly form their site and that did nothing. I got my phone with the yellow android guy digging but it won't talk to the computer. What am I doing wrong?
     
  19. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    512
    38
    68
    Did you remove all the old drivers and delete the folders in Windows Explorer prior to running the new driver installation?
     
  20. j.Connor

    j.Connor Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I used a computer that wasnt mine but had never been connected to a phone before. I tried a windows 7 computer at work that did the same thing and then a windows XP machine. I think the XP machine would have worked right away but work wouldnt allow "installing hardware" which is what the cpu thought i was doing when I plugged in the phone. very frustrating.
     
  21. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    592
    69
    78
    machinist
    superior wi
    been trying to get back to 2.1 but when using odin it stalls at initalization. have let it set for up to 15 minutes and nothing. when i try to either power up the phone or go to recovery all i get now is a little symbol showing phone connected to computer. am i officially bricked? any other methods of getting around this or something else to try?
     
  22. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    592
    69
    78
    machinist
    superior wi
    got it to work! tried my wifes moment data cable and it worked! never so happy to hear that annoying sprint tune!
     
  23. TheLionOfAzza

    TheLionOfAzza Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Does this method work (Odin) that is? And how simple is it?
     
  24. dwar1

    dwar1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I do all the steps exactly as explained and when i plug in my phone via usb while in download mode odin doesn't do anything, i dont think i need to download drivers since i am able to mount the phone to the computer when the phone is on with no problem. ive been trying to get back to 2.1 for about 2 weeks been through countless forums and they all point me to odin and i have no clue what to do i just want my gps back could someone please help me?
     
  25. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    222
    0
    35
    Illinois
    why can't i get Odin to download?
     

Share This Page

Loading...