1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips How To guide for getting the new update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cartisdm, Nov 7, 2010.

  1. cartisdm

    cartisdm Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    327
    22
    58
    Configuration Specialist
    Charlotte, NC
    For those of you out there that don't want to wait for the OTA or if you're rooted and need to get the ROM from the RUU, I created a simple step-by-step guide for doing it. The file is a PDF document:

    Update_Guide.pdf

    If anyone notices any problems or has any suggestions, please let me know and I'll make changes

    Enjoy!

    EDIT: I just thought I would also mention that the guide includes all the links to the files you will need to update/root
     

    Advertisement

  2. Stupifier

    Stupifier Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    392
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    392
    46
    43
    I dunno...this update doesn't seem that important for me to jump on. I'll just wait till it falls in my lap.

    Thanks anyways
     
  3. cartisdm

    cartisdm Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    327
    22
    58
    Configuration Specialist
    Charlotte, NC
    I was having a horrible problems with 3g signal dropping, my GPS taking me all over the world, text message threads opening incorrectly, and my messages randomly getting cleared. So far the problems are fixed and this kernel seems even faster than previous!

    I highly recommend to anyone else that was having these problems.:cool:
     
  4. ctc

    ctc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    281
    30
    43
    I'm rooted but am running the stock 2.2 ROM. Won't I be able to install this OTA when I get prompted?
     
  5. cartisdm

    cartisdm Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    327
    22
    58
    Configuration Specialist
    Charlotte, NC
    I'm not sure, I haven't come across a straight answer from anyone yet. Two advantages to doing this:

    1. Get it now without waiting

    2. Completely wipe device and start with fresh files


    However, I did find out that there is a difference with the new SDLC screens. So if you have one of these, let me know and I'll point you to a different Clockworkmod download location.
     
  6. ACD168

    ACD168 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,885
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    1,885
    162
    143
    if rooted. you must have stock recovery to get the OTA. this can be done by running a recent RUU and un-rooting, BUT keeping it at S-OFF so you can just re-root after the OTA update.... same as before ya'll
     
  7. cartisdm

    cartisdm Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    327
    22
    58
    Configuration Specialist
    Charlotte, NC
    Perfectly said.
     
  8. ctc

    ctc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    281
    30
    43
    A recent RUU like the one that contains the latest update?

    I didn't root til after 2.2 so I dunno what I'm doing :)
     
  9. cartisdm

    cartisdm Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    327
    22
    58
    Configuration Specialist
    Charlotte, NC
    Yeah, check in your hboot to be sure you have S-Off then just run the RUU listed in the guide. It will reload to back to stock everything (2.2 + the latest update) then you can easily re-root.
     
  10. Bob Denny

    Bob Denny Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    197
    194
    68
    @cartisdm - THANK YOU FOR THE PROCEDURE. I am rooted with stock 2.2. I guess I'm gonna wipe the phone and do the SUU thing. I did the OTA then rooted with UnrEVOked originally. It's time to start fresh anyway

    Your guide has a few issues:

    1. There is no need to install both payload_update and su-x.x.x.x. The latter has it all and is a signed install ready for installation.

    2. Your link leads to an old Clockwork. The current one (for a couple of months) is 2.5.0.5.

    3. Your link to the su package is old. The latest is su-2.3.6.1-ef-signed.zip.
     
  11. JLCongdon

    JLCongdon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I ran the update that was pushed instead of doing this. I am rooted so there are some issues with my phone. Does anyone have any advice to fix this?
     
  12. JLyndon

    JLyndon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Sorry for the noob question, but how do I know which screen I have? I've read that the SLCD screens are used whenever the AMOLED screens are unavailable, but both are still in production.
     
  13. cartisdm

    cartisdm Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    327
    22
    58
    Configuration Specialist
    Charlotte, NC
    Not a dumb question at all actually. I did some Googling and the best I could come up with is the following:

     
  14. JSS12

    JSS12 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    311
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    311
    10
    38
    New York City, NY
    Is it possible to do this method on a Mac??
     
  15. cartisdm

    cartisdm Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    327
    22
    58
    Configuration Specialist
    Charlotte, NC

    No, the instructions for this guide only apply to Windows OS. You won't be able to perform the steps on a Mac.

    There are ways to do the update using a Mac, I just don't know them off the top of my head. I'd suggest some quick Googling and if you don't see anything create a thread in the Help and Troubleshooting sub-forum ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...