1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How to I transfer my songs FROM Samsung Galaxy S3 TO my PC computer

Discussion in 'Music & Media' started by Manish500, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. Manish500

    Manish500 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012

    Sep 3, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    I have (AT&T) Samsung galaxy S3.

    All the songs on my desktop got deleted and I need to transfer them from my android device to my computer.

    Help! How do I do that? This device does not have USB mass storage setting.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,839
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,839
    4,546
    1,108
    Male
    Just plug it in. The computer will recognize it as a media device and it will show up under "My Computer" (if you are using Windows). Opening the device on my Computer will let you access it just like mass storage mode.
     
  3. Parshooter

    Parshooter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    228
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    228
    15
    58
    Home Health Aide supervisor
    Columbus OH
    I tried that and it doesn't show up under My Computer. It did under Devices, but I couldn't access anything from the phone, it just gave stats.
    I've used an SD card reader to transfer stuff to my pc. Little more trouble, but works well.
     
  4. Manish500

    Manish500 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012

    Sep 3, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    Same issue as you, parshooter. But my 16mb phone doesnt come with an sd card. Aren't all the music files stored on the phone itself?
     
  5. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
  6. Caro332

    Caro332 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    912
    238
    93
    Make sure that your phone is not under 'Charge only' but as 'mass storage'
     
  7. aparis99

    aparis99 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    27
    2
    16
    PC Technician
    KY
    I've noticed that I don't have that selection anymore. There was a small OTA update a few weeks ago on my ATT S3... I used to be able to pull down the notification and it would show up "use as media device" or something like that. I dont have the options anymore. Where can I find them?
     
  8. nigsy

    nigsy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    474
    158
    88
    Oracle Consultant
    Devon
    My SG3 only works when connected to my PC as a Camera (PTP) device. If I conect as a media device I get the same issue as the OP. If I connect as a camera it then shows as a drive so I can browse the files etc.

    To change settings:

    Plug phone into pc so you get the USB icon in the notification bar. Drag the nnotification bar down to open it and select the USB connection...it should give you 2 options, media device and camera. Try them both and see if you can get it to work. You PC may use different drivers for each connection so allow your PC time to load these when switching.
     
  9. rajeevk

    rajeevk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012

    Sep 3, 2012
    27
    4
    36
    Software Engineer
    Yes, this is the best way to do so but make sure that you must have window 7 as operating system. It will not work on XP I think.
    You can easily sync all your music files using Kies.

    One more thing you can do is when you get options like Camera (PTP) device and mass storage, select mass storage, selecting and deselecting for some time your phone memory will be visible on in my computer section but I am not sure about it. I have done this that is why sharing with you.
     
  10. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,018
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,018
    11,520
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    XP should work if you have SP3 and WMP11.
     

Share This Page

Loading...