1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How to I turn on A2SD+ in Ginger Villian?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by irvs101, Jun 1, 2011.

  1. irvs101

    irvs101 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    45
    3
    16
    Electrician
    Melbourne, Australia
    So I Rooted my phone, then I partitioned my sd using rom manager (I tried using gpart but it wouldn't find my card) then I flashed GingerVillian , so how do I now choose the partitioned section as the internal memory? I set the ext partition as 512mb with 0mb swap. Thanks for your help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #107
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,274
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    It will do it automatically if you have done it correctly. Set install location to internal memory in the cm settings.
     
  3. irvs101

    irvs101 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    45
    3
    16
    Electrician
    Melbourne, Australia
    Well I'm getting internal mem full, anyway I can rectify this using terminal emulator or something? and reinstall my apps on sd
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Did you do the a2sd cachesd command in terminal as per post 1 in the gv thread?
     
  5. irvs101

    irvs101 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    45
    3
    16
    Electrician
    Melbourne, Australia
    No the guide I used didn't tell me to do anything, could I grab a link or is it relatively simple to explain?
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    It's simple actually. All it does is move dalvikcache to ext too.

    Open terminal emulator and get root access:
    Type "su" and press enter.

    Then move the dalvik:
    Type "a2sd cachesd" and press enter. The phone should reboot and dalvik should be moved, giving much more space
     
    irvs101 likes this.
  7. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #107
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,274
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
  8. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #107
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,274
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    I knew u'd beat me to it Dan. :D
     
    SUroot likes this.
  9. irvs101

    irvs101 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    45
    3
    16
    Electrician
    Melbourne, Australia
    Thanks, the both of you, Is the dalvik cache the place where the apps are kept on the internal memory?
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,142
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,142
    16,719
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Part of - it's used by the Java Virtual Machine in android, so it's one component of the app.
     
    irvs101 likes this.
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    No not really. The main memory chip (NAND) is partitioned into 3 main partitions.

    /system - where the Rom goes
    /cache - basically where market downloads go.
    /data - self explanatory

    Apps sit in /data/app. When you use a2sd+ /data/app is linked to the sd, /sd-ext/data/app and the content is moved over.

    Many a2sd+ scripts also move /data/dalvik-cache as standard to /sd-ext/data/dalvik-cache. Dark tremor a2sd+ that gingervillain uses it is optional.

    Dalvik cache is a bit like a windows registry. Android stores all the information about specific apps in there. Settings etc.

    Edit Hadron beat me. I am over simplifying it. It's jvm like Hadron states.
     
    irvs101 likes this.
  12. irvs101

    irvs101 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    45
    3
    16
    Electrician
    Melbourne, Australia
    is there anyway for me to make my apps install to sd-ext/data/app using commmands?
    I really don't want to have to re format and partition then rewrite everything back to my sd card, its a class 4 32gb and takes forever to get all the music back onto it.
     
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    What do you mean? As standard, if your card is partitioned, they're already there. Theres nothing you need to do.
     
  14. irvs101

    irvs101 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    45
    3
    16
    Electrician
    Melbourne, Australia
    Ok Well basically I originally asked because my internal mem was full, then I used the command to move my dalvik cache over to ext partition but It's saying I'm using 99MB of 148MB in my internal mem. Now if it was on my sd partition wouldn't it say 99 of 512mb, or should it say I'm not using any internal storage at all? Does A2SD+ tell the phone to look at the ext partition as if it were your internal storage or does it tell the apps to go to the ext partition and in the settings>applications>storage use. will it just say the actual amount of storage being used?

    It may help to point out that I used titatnium backup to reinstall my old apps+data and then I used my backup to reinstall them all again (acidentally, I thought it was for copying contacts, sms's and such over). Has this possibly sent them back to their original file locations on my stock rom? eg. back onto the internal mem? Sorry to be a nuisance and thanks for putting up with me guys
     
  15. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,142
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,142
    16,719
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    No, it will report the real size if the internal memory - only a couple of subdirectories have been redirected.

    Do you have a lot of apps? 99MB used after moving dalvik is substantial, but not impossible - I am using 83MB internal between app data and caches (not dalvik) with 122 user apps and 63 system. Use Quick System Info and see what it says about your a2sd storage. Even use Ti, though that isn't very accurate. You need to check ext usage rather than try to work it out from internal space if you want to be sure.
     
    irvs101 likes this.
  16. irvs101

    irvs101 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    45
    3
    16
    Electrician
    Melbourne, Australia
    Yeah I just checked to and it says I'm using maybe 50 or 60mb of it but I just installed a couple of big games and got into mem warning. Ill try the quick system way and post back, my gut thinks only the dalvik cache is on the ext partition
     
  17. irvs101

    irvs101 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    45
    3
    16
    Electrician
    Melbourne, Australia
    Okay, Just checked quick system info and I'm using 114Mb of 148Mb on Internal memory.
    On A2SD+ I'm using 87 of 457MB.

    Does 114MB sound to high for Int Mem?

    Thanks for the tip on quick system by the way Hadron
     
  18. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    you are not moving the apps to sdcard once youve installed them are you?
    this causes the opposite effect
    you need to make sure they are still installed to internal memory as that uses the ext partition.
     
  19. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,142
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,142
    16,719
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    It sounds like your a2sd+ storage is working, but the ratio is wrong: for comparison, I'm using 83 MB internal and 222 MB A2SD+. Also your internal storage has gone up by a further 15MB in the last few posts?

    There are other things use internal storage, but this does seem odd to me. Could you start the terminal emulator again and type the following commands:

    su
    ls -l /data

    You should see the following amongst the output: "app -> /sd-ext/app" and "dalvik-cache -> /sd-ext/dalvik-cache". If not, then something hasn't been set up properly (which would be odd, since with GV this is all in by default).

    There is an "a2sd check" command you could type.

    If it looks like apps aren't being placed on the partition, or the link is missing, you could try typing "a2sd reinstall" - I've never done this (never needed to), but it claims this should move apps to the partition and undo anything blocking this.

    Also just check under CM settings that you have the install location set to phone, or at least automatic? And maybe look at the manage applications menu to see where it thinks your applications are (if a2sd+ is set up right "phone" is ext, while "sd" is google-style SD).
     
    irvs101 likes this.
  20. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Did you move the dalvik-cache as suggested earlier? Did it reboot when you did it and did you see a change in space take place?
     
  21. irvs101

    irvs101 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    45
    3
    16
    Electrician
    Melbourne, Australia
    That's the one Hadron, I checked using the ' ls -l /data ' command and it didn't have a path to sd-ext so I used a2sd reinstall (It actually tells you to do this in a2sd check if your filepath is wrong) and bobs my uncle all good now. Thanks for everyones help, Strange that it didn't work the first time though isn't it?
     
    Rastaman-FB likes this.
  22. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,142
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,142
    16,719
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Is strange - never known it fail myself. But glad that worked.
     
  23. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    indeed but one to remember for future people

    thanks for letting us know how you fixed it irvs101
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...