1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How to increase battery life and performance on your new shiny ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bluenova, May 11, 2010.

?

Has this helped you?

  1. Yes, both my performance and battery life is better

    9 vote(s)
    47.4%
  2. Partly, my performance is better but not my battery life

    2 vote(s)
    10.5%
  3. Partly, my battery life is better but not my performance

    1 vote(s)
    5.3%
  4. No, it's the same

    4 vote(s)
    21.1%
  5. No, it's worse

    3 vote(s)
    15.8%
  1. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
    There are a few things you can do that will help your battery life and performance...

    Performance

     

    Advertisement

  2. mgillespie

    mgillespie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    243
    13
    38
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Update PRL missing here. IS this a Sprint Hero only thing?
     
  3. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    I see all these options (plus "CDMA only") with my 2.1-based ROM. I'm not touching anything until I've found out whether Orange make use of the PRL feature though!
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    I don't have the option to update my PRL list either (on 2.1), but I've never had any problems switching to GSM auto (PRL) on T-Mobile.
     
  5. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
    I'm also missing the update PRL option on the Villain 10 ROM but your service provider should push a new list to your phone periodically. Best thing is to just try the GSM auto (PRL) option and if you have problems with mobile internet you'll have to go back to WCDMA prefered and suffer the extra battery usage.
     
  6. guss606

    guss606 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    67
    1
    16
    The Netherlands
    Thanks for the guide.

    I found this thread and wanted to ask you guys if this applies for our Heros too?!
     
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    I've no idea. But why not give it a try? :)

    It certainly would be cool if it worked.
     
  8. guss606

    guss606 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    67
    1
    16
    The Netherlands
    guys,

    What does this mean?! is my phone NOT sleeping and thats why it drains my battery so fast?! And how that can be fixed??

    I have followed all the instructions above and my battery is calibrated also. Please help...
     

    Attached Files:

Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...