1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How to increase call quality on ALL Motorola Droids

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BlakeDC, Jul 15, 2010.

  1. BlakeDC

    BlakeDC Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    36
    8
    16

    Advertisement

    Doit2it, Apeman and JA1234 like this.
  2. JA1234

    JA1234 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    273
    17
    38
    Tracking
    middle TN
    marking this thanks
     
  3. mweiland

    mweiland Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    17
    6
    16
    SE, PA
    read https://supportforums.motorola.com/thread/17480?start=15&tstart=0 before making this change.

    particularly...

    "I am not from Motorola but I can tell you that EVRC is chosen as default as most of the USA already uses EVRC. In some markets (dont know the number so I am stating some) like Atlanta they have EVRC-B set as preferred at the switching center. So regardless of what your phone is set at it will make the call in EVRC-B.
    However if you change your phone to EVRC-B and you go to a market which does not yet support EVRC-B then your not going to be able to make calls at all. So I caution those that make the setting to EVRC-B. "

    (Originally posted by troybal on the Motorola forums.)
     
  4. BlakeDC

    BlakeDC Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    36
    8
    16
    Interesting if this is in fact a true statement. I've been all over the USA with my original Droid set to EVRC-B and have never had it deny me any phone calls. Also, if they set the EVRC-B at the switch, then why would the option even exist on the phone, and why would the battery drain faster from encoding the voice stream at a higher quality bit rate if it was done at the switch? Doesn't make sense.
     

Share This Page

Loading...