1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Root how to install cm6/7 (comprehensive)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tokenpoke, Mar 31, 2011.

  1. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    ahh look at the nice Welcome msg while ya flash cm6 lol
     

    Advertisement

  2. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    ummm how long should cm6 (latest build 04-05-2011 take to boot up the first time??

    nm got it after a reflash and well.....


    back on cm7 :)
     
  3. la sal

    la sal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #199
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    859
    95
    108
    Male
    Waukesha, WI
    To confirm, CM6 will give me a new Gallery and File Manager? I don't need to worry that they are not there now? I had typos that I fixed in the last post. Sorry about that. :eek:
     
  4. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    yea, youre flashing a whole new rom n gapps ;)
     
    la sal likes this.
  5. markbehr

    markbehr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    266
    17
    38
    Male
    Baltimore, MD
    Is there a "how to install for Dummies" like me? this is way to comfusing for me. my head hurts. i am totally clueless about these things, eventhough i did manage to figure out how to root my phone. i think it was by accident though lol.
     
  6. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    You're half way there then lol. From the market dl n install rom manager. Then dl the current cm7 or cm6 zip from the links provided along with Gapps. Then backup your current ROM (what you're using now aka OS), then just follow the rest of the steps to flash to the new rom.

    Which is basically,
    Reboot in to cwm recovery
    1.) Wipe data/factory rest
    2.) Wipe cache
    3.) Wipe Devlic cache
    4.) install zip from sd card (the cm6 or cm7.zip)
    5.) install zip from sd card again this time for gapps
    6.) goto advanced>fix permissions (Optional)
    7.) reboot system
     
  7. la sal

    la sal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #199
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    859
    95
    108
    Male
    Waukesha, WI
    cm6-ascend...installation aborted

    gapps-mdpi...installation complete

    Anyone else have a bad cm6 zip?

    Now I'm stuck on the Huawei screen and cannot get off it unless I pull the battery.

    How can I mount to a PC now?
     
  8. pip2kk

    pip2kk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

  9. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
  10. la sal

    la sal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #199
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    859
    95
    108
    Male
    Waukesha, WI
    At work and works blocks that link. I will have to wait until I get home to check it out.

    I am able to go into ClockworkMod Recovery v2 after pulling the battery.

    I go to mount USB storage but the little box for viewing files doesn't come up when connected to a PC.

    It won't let me send a zipped file from the desktop to my phone either.

    :( I downloaded the updated cm6-ascend zip last night.
     
  11. pip2kk

    pip2kk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    try usbdeview and remove all android related devices. you will need the original huawei ascend drivers for adb to function correctly after you do that. let me know if you need a link to it. (/me grumbles this is why i wanted to keep the drivers on cm6 heh)

    to la sal: if you can get into cwm. your fine. follow that guide when you get home and try again. it will walk you through using adb to "push" files to your sdcard.
     
  12. la sal

    la sal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #199
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    859
    95
    108
    Male
    Waukesha, WI
    Starting the process now...

     
  13. pip2kk

    pip2kk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    heh have you found any other way ;)
     
  14. la sal

    la sal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #199
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    859
    95
    108
    Male
    Waukesha, WI
    Couldn't get past the "At the Choose Packages to Install screen, you only need to have Android SDK Platform-tools checked. Select Install". It would not install.
     
  15. pip2kk

    pip2kk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    lol your very impatient. just wait it works wonders. or go spend 10$ at walmart and buy a usb card reader. if you want free you have to wait. or pay the $10 convenience fee at walmart. btw there in the photo department, usually right under the register lol.
     
  16. markbehr

    markbehr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    266
    17
    38
    Male
    Baltimore, MD
    Ha, I actually figured out how to do it. thanks all that helped.
     
  17. markbehr

    markbehr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    266
    17
    38
    Male
    Baltimore, MD
    evrything seems to be working great, but i dont think i backed everything up right. i cant find my contacts and had to reinstall some apps from the market. oh well still works great so far.
     
  18. pip2kk

    pip2kk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    if your contacts were on your google account...they should be there. otherwise i couldnt comment sorry.

    you may need to press the menu key while looking at your contact list and reveal the contacts? kind of hard to guess with very little information.
     
  19. markbehr

    markbehr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    266
    17
    38
    Male
    Baltimore, MD
    i thought i backed everything up and saved it all on my comp. but cant find anything anywhere. but its fine i guess. didnt have many contacts or apps at the time, and just hope i dont have problems and have to go back to my previous os.
     
  20. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    i tried to make this as simple as possible even edited to help out. if you want 1-on-1 help pm me and i'll give you my skype and walk you through it live.
     
  21. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    think we got him past that lol
     
  22. markbehr

    markbehr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    266
    17
    38
    Male
    Baltimore, MD
    thanks tokenpoke,but i did figure out how to install cm7 lol surprisingly. i just think i did something wrong with backing up my stuff but oh well its not really that important right now.
     
  23. 3triple0gt

    3triple0gt Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011

    Feb 27, 2011
    31
    7
    16
    Holiday, FL
    Thanks ALOT for this guide. CM7 looks awesome. Got some new things to get used to, but thats why I did it. Got bored with Icarus already. Phone looks great, now if only i could figure out how to make my end button stop locking my phone....
     
  24. Ascend_45204

    Ascend_45204 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    141
    17
    58
    Ohio
    Go to Spare Parts to Fix that
     
    AndroidFan420 likes this.
  25. AndroidFan420

    AndroidFan420 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    160
    11
    38
    Mover
    Manchester, NH
    It seems that when I origanly flashed cm7 i had the incorect build after asking around a bit (playfulgod & tokenpoke both super friggen awsome) playfulgod sugested that i just install the current build skipping all previous steps having already had all the proper .zips just a wrong build (after a backup of course) it worked great
    so dont be afraid to give it a try if you find yourself in the same situation this may be helpfull or not just tryn to help out with what i can
     
    nuttmeg likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...