1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How to make google voice messenger the default messaging app

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by pwhiting, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. pwhiting

    pwhiting Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011

    Dec 30, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I would like all of my outgoing messages to use google voice messenger. This way people only need to know my google voice number - they never need to know the phone number assigned by my carrier. If I use voice command and say "send text to john" it is going to use the stock android messaging app. Is there a way to make google voice messenger the default messaging client?
     

    Advertisement

  2. kwalla

    kwalla Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    219
    18
    48
    Male
    I'm curious about this as well... coupled with I'd like to use something like GO SMS with GV. Right now.. whenever I install any 3rd party messaging application, it only seems to work with the stock message app (i.e. my carrier phone number) and not replace GVs terrible (in my opinion laggy and buggy) messenger app.
     
  3. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    No go for both of you.

    There are no 3rd. party apps with google voice integration.
     
  4. aysiu

    aysiu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    963
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    963
    261
    113
    Long-press on a blank space on your home screen and create a shortcut to direct-message someone you know.

    Click on the shortcut and it'll prompt you to send it with Messenger or with Google Voice. Check to make that the default and then select Google Voice.
     
  5. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,814
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    I think the OP wants to use voice commands to send a text via GV and you can't do that (yet). You can set GV as the default for texting but when you use a voice command like 'text john' it will open/use the carrier text, not GV.
     

Share This Page

Loading...