1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How to make sure I do not use any data AT ALL.

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by T0ngster, Mar 8, 2011.

  1. T0ngster

    T0ngster Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I have exceeded my data limit for the month, my parents are gonna kill me..
    I have always used "Use only 2g networks" when i was not using the internet.
    Is it due to the apps that are causing the high data usage? As I have installed some games in the month, using my Wi-Fi
    But even so, I have already ticked the "Use only 2g networks" option.
    Is this the correct way to turn off my 3G??

    Or is there any app that can completely turn off the 3G and make sure I do not use any data AT ALL?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,397
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,397
    5,596
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
    Oh dear me!

    Data is data I'm afraid.
    Whether it's 2G or 3G, so turning off just 3G won't save you data, just make it slower to load.

    I would be looking at the games you've downloaded as a culprit in data usage. If they are interactive then you will be eating data up as you play.

    To turn of mobile data go to Settings > Wireless & networks > Mobile networks > Data enabled/Data roaming/National data roaming (untick the boxes).
     
    shelliewnj likes this.
  3. Howdie!

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    61
    2
    16
    Downloading or streaming video is also a major data user. Avoid it (and gaming) over any kind of phone connection (3G, 2G, EDMA) if you want to throttle your data use and stay within your provider's "fair use policy". Because there is no such thing as an 'unlimited data plan'. Use only WiFi for video and gaming.
     
  4. omgitsnickels

    omgitsnickels Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    13
    1
    16
    Proffesional sign spinner Http://www.aarrowads.com
    Thornton, CO
    Search market for quick settings & download. open that, hit menu>customize and drag "Mobile data (APN)" up to the visible menu. disable APN to shut off ALL data. It says it keeps MMS on, but I always had to enable APN for mms, but it's not a dealbreaker. If you turn it back on and for some reason mobile data doesn't come back (almost never happens), just flip airplane mode on & off again and you'll be set!
     
  5. Howdie!

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    61
    2
    16
    Download and install the free "Y5" app from the market. It automatically switches your phone to WiFi if you are within range of any hotspot that you were connected to before. So watch the notification bar for the WiFi symbol before you go gaming or watching videos again!
     
  6. omgitsnickels

    omgitsnickels Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    13
    1
    16
    Proffesional sign spinner Http://www.aarrowads.com
    Thornton, CO
    Doesn't it do that automatically when wifi is enabled? I know if I'm out & about streaming pandora or something, and wifi is on, the 3g shuts off when I'm in range of my router
     
  7. piertown

    piertown Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010

    Feb 28, 2010
    79
    13
    18
    I would like to know that as well.
     
  8. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #82
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,509
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,509
    565
    343
    Male
    Enterprise Server Engineer
    Ohio
    It does use wifi automatically if you have it on and you have access to it.
    Lots of people turn off wifi in an effort to save battery life.

    OP, I would love to know why you think using 2g instead of 3g would use less data.
     
    piertown likes this.
  9. omgitsnickels

    omgitsnickels Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    13
    1
    16
    Proffesional sign spinner Http://www.aarrowads.com
    Thornton, CO
  10. shelliewnj

    shelliewnj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    848
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    848
    199
    93
    Female
    So Ironass, I am a total newbie to smartphones in general. What you are saying is if I uncheck the "Data Services" box which says "Enable data access over Mobile network" that I will incur NO data charges? I want to switch to the lowest data plan, and I don't want any surprises until I can bump back up again. Then I could turn it on intermittently and get updates on email or whatever without worrying that background apps are using data, correct?
     
  11. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,874
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,874
    4,571
    1,108
    Male
    Switching off 3G does not turn off data. That just tells your phone to not use 3G network and only 2G, which still allows data at low speeds.

    The Data services box is what you should untick to turn off data. Even if you have 3G enabled, no data will be used.
     
  12. funpig

    funpig Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #294
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    641
    76
    78
    You can ask your carrier to temporarily block your data usage.
     
  13. AllThingsPure

    AllThingsPure Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Every phone model is different, so it is a difficult task finding out where all the data switches are hidden and buried. Miss one and you could be in for a huge mega $$ bill, especially when roaming.

    The safest way, without asking your provider to unprovision data services, is to deliberately enter the wrong APN Name in ALL your data configurations. Add an "X" to the end of all your APNs in the phone. When you need them again, remove the "X".
     
  14. gregs887

    gregs887 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    296
    53
    73
    Moorpark, CA
  15. jc1843

    jc1843 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011

    Dec 29, 2011
    31
    0
    15
    I use Onavo from the Market/Play Store. Simple and works.
     

Share This Page

Loading...