1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How to make the Auto Focus NOT SUCK!?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by steve500, Aug 29, 2010.

  1. steve500

    steve500 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    80
    2
    16
    So, as a previous HTC users (yeah, yeah, yeah...) I loved the camera on the Eris and the Incredible, not only did they have a whole lot more of a crisp high-res detail, the auto-focus absolutely rocked.

    With my droid x, I can be getting a little artsy and focus on an object with the crosshair.... but it'll take me 20 tries to get it to lock on, its insane, I know I'm not getting too close to my subject because it will definitely eventually focus on that object if I try over and over and over again. It's not just close ups that I find myself and my buddy with this issue either.. macro shooting mode does not help.. My buddie's droid X has the same exact behaviors. Eris and incredible just LOCKED ON first try with even very low contrast/detail subjects... on top of that, have a ton better camera GUI when it comes to "click to focus".


    I know this thing ain't no SLR but ... blows me away of how terrible the camera performance is vs. the HTC android based devices.
    Think motorola will fix this?

    I know this thing ain't no SLR but it just blows me away how the HTC android devices camera performance (except for video) blows the Droid X away.
     

    Advertisement

  2. arelunde

    arelunde Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    CA Central Coast
    Try the app Vignette ... makes the DX camera all it should be (video, too).
     
  3. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,442
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    2,442
    200
    143
    Demo version is .3mp. WFT?? !!
     
  4. Westcoast

    Westcoast Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    30
    0
    15
    Student
    Al-BOH-querque
    Even the .03mp seems good, thinking to buy the full version...it worth it?
     
  5. aminaked

    aminaked Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    The 2.2 update supposedly makes the camera faster, and hopefully better too.
     
  6. dookie1

    dookie1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    236
    9
    36
    this app absolutely kills the stock camera. faster, sharper, smart autofocus (tap to focus point). well worth the price.
     
  7. nycebo

    nycebo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    520
    45
    68
    New York, NY
    Agreed. I haven't used the stock camera since I learned about Vignette in these forums. So much more flexibility and a MUCH better shot.
     
  8. j_ryan

    j_ryan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    131
    10
    38
    Computer Repair
    East Tennessee
    I've been trying Vignette for the past two days. I haven't noticed much of a difference aside from my pictures being cropped a little more than stock. On 2.2, the stock camera app is actually slighty faster in my case.
     
  9. travishamockery

    travishamockery Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    171
    20
    38
    you need to change your settings to keep it from cropping, it's not set at 16:9 by default.
     
  10. nycebo

    nycebo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    520
    45
    68
    New York, NY
    Or 'Fullscreen' is an option also so you don't even have to think about it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...