1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root how to open and edit boot.img ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 530corona, Jan 14, 2012.

  1. 530corona

    530corona Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011

    Jul 3, 2011
    21
    4
    16
    Hey yall I was hoping one of you wonderful people can tell or give me a guide to open, edit and repack a boot.img?

    Thank you all !!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    I use the Android Kitchen to do em, simply for the ease of all the scripts and the menu to run em. But its the unpackbootimg and packbootimg scripts you need.

    What are you wanting to edit in it?
     
  3. 530corona

    530corona Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011

    Jul 3, 2011
    21
    4
    16
    I was gonna try to play around with the stock kernal and your kernal to see if I could get hdmi to work?
     
  4. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US

    Don't worry about that. A fix is coming with and update. Its already been issued and resolved ;)
     
  5. 530corona

    530corona Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011

    Jul 3, 2011
    21
    4
    16
    Thank you very much!!
     
  6. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    need more than just the boot.img for that, need the kernel src or figure out what got deleted in the ROM thats needed.

    I've not found the cause for it not too work, so I've not really done anything to fix it yet. ;)
     
  7. 530corona

    530corona Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011

    Jul 3, 2011
    21
    4
    16
    I don't think it's the ROM I'm on you're ginger extreme when I flash a stock kernal hdmi works.... Correct me if I'm wrong.... you absolutely know more than I you are the BEST and I thank you for your help on this and for everything you do for us!!!!!
    You prolly here this all the time but I will be donating as soon as I can.... Again THANK YOU!!!!!!
     
  8. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    yea I'm not denying it could be sumtin with the modded kernel, its just finding what it is lol.

    And ty!!!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...