1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How to Overclock on any ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rossco_Pee, May 13, 2010.

  1. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    270
    12
    38
    Iowa
    Am I crazy? Or was there a thread either on this forum that gave instructions on how to overclock a ROM that didn't come pre-installed on it? I am running Gdlcks Vanilla and would like to try overclocking. No other ROM has really done it for me.
     

    Advertisement

  2. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    theres a patch on xda. look for the "OC patch" thread.
     
  3. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    699
    154
    113
    Automotive Electrical Technician / Mechanic
    I'm a drifter.. here and there.
    Here dood, flash this just like you would flash a rom.

    kernel-overclock-update-v3.zip

    install setcpu (avail for free on xda)

    enjoy

    dont go above 806 mhz
     
    thenestor, Necron80 and andrizoid like this.
  4. bigdaddyblues

    bigdaddyblues Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    30
    1
    16
    I'm assuming this could be flashed over any rom with OC enabled.
    Running Evil Eris 2.01. Great ROM with Apps2SD.
    thanks
     
  5. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    699
    154
    113
    Automotive Electrical Technician / Mechanic
    I'm a drifter.. here and there.
    As long as you are running the latest rooted leak (V3), or any ROM made with it and are rooted, this can be flashed.
     
    bigdaddyblues likes this.
  6. dawynkoop

    dawynkoop Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    44
    4
    16
    IT Support
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Any idea if this can be used on the new OTA 2.1? Provided the root method still actually works, still waiting to hear if it does.
     
  7. c00gz

    c00gz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    44
    2
    16
    Student
    Bay area, CA
    So I flash this OVER a ROM, right? (Meaning no wipe before I flash it?)

    Sorry, I haven't been keeping up on this, I've just been waiting for SenseAble 3.1 to get a2sd working, but I might just throw this OC patch on SenseAble v2 and be good for a while...
     
  8. char561

    char561 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    121
    12
    38
    That is correct, just flash and install setcpu
     
  9. fritzel67

    fritzel67 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    67
    4
    16
    Nashville, TN
    Is this overclock update 'removable' or would a complete ROM reflash be required to get rid of it?
     

Share This Page

Loading...