1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General How to priorize/set default Wifi connection?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by pstein, Nov 5, 2017.

  1. pstein

    pstein Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #678
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012

    Apr 12, 2012
    47
    2
    16
    Assume I can (from my smartphone with Android 7) connect to 2 different WiFi-routers.

    I prefer exactly one of them. The other one should only be selected when the first one is down.

    So when I connect to my favorite WiFi then leave the office and return back later Android switched automatically to the other, second level WiFi connection.

    This is annoying.

    In old Android v6 there was (as far as I remember) an Advanced settings pane where I can setup a WiFi priority.

    This options seems to be gone in Android 7.

    So when I read in Internet about setting up a default Wifi connection in Android 7 then I found only an App:WiFi Prioritizer:

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.za.flash.wifiprioritizer&hl=en

    and a recommendation about fiddling around in a text config file:

    /data/misc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf

    Are these really the only ways to setup a default Wifi resp priority?

    That would be disappointing.

    Thank you
    Peter
     

    Advertisement

  2. A bochur

    A bochur Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #100
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    608
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016

    Jul 22, 2016
    608
    313
    193
    Male
    I'm not sure about prioritizing one over the other but, see if turning 'smart network switch' on does the trick. Cuz what is supposed to do is, switch to the strongest network.

    Smart network switch setting can be found in setting > WiFi
    In case both are the same strength, then this won't help you
     
  3. pstein

    pstein Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #678
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012

    Apr 12, 2012
    47
    2
    16
    On Android v7 there is no such Setting "Smart Network Switch"
     
  4. A bochur

    A bochur Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #100
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    608
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016

    Jul 22, 2016
    608
    313
    193
    Male
    I guess it's a Samsung only thing. You can always 'forget' the network that you don't like using. I mean how often does the one you like, go down
     

Share This Page

Loading...