1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

How to remove no service notification

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by asura1990, Feb 2, 2016.

  1. asura1990

    asura1990 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Hi I've just recently moved to using Android. Android 6.0 Marshmellow on Nexus 6P.

    I'm having a lot of issues with the notifications, so far I've been spammed by notifications and I was able to handle them in the notifications/app sections.

    My issue is this, when i'm travelling in the London underground and I have no network carrier during that period. I get a notification which I cannot remove either from the settings or a swipe gesture.

    When my phone is locked, it's shown as "Phone Services - Content Hidden", after unlock it states; "No service - selected network (O2 - UK) unavailable". I

    Is there anyway I could remove this annoying notification ? I have searched all over the web but no solution has been found and no I haven't rooted my device nor I plan to do so.

    Thanks.

     


  2. Best Answer:
    Post #21 by asura1990, Feb 3, 2016 (4 points)
  3. psionandy

    psionandy Extreme Android User

    Put it into flight mode when you go underground?
     
  4. asura1990

    asura1990 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Why would the phone needs to be in flight mode in order to turn off a notification ???
     
  5. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Extreme Android User

    Pull down the Notification Bar and click on the DATA button, and the WiFi button.

    now they are off..... presto, no notifications to bug you.

    get back outside in the sunshine, turn them back on.
    I do it many times a day....
     
  6. asura1990

    asura1990 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    You're going to have to elaborate your steps, there is no data button when I pull down the notification bar, I do have wi-fi but what does WI-FI has to do with network service ???? :D
     
    #5 asura1990, Feb 2, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2016
    AZgl1500 likes this.
  7. psionandy

    psionandy Extreme Android User

    If its in flight mode, you wouldn't get the notification thats annoying you in the first place....
     
    Jfalls63 likes this.
  8. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Extreme Android User

    When you pull down the Notification Bar, if the DATA button does not show, click on the Menu Button and open it up full screen. there you can modify the 1st row of buttons....

    This is how I order them: Left to Right

    Mobile DATA, Mobile Hotspot, WiFi, Bluetooth, Screen Rotation.

    Now, when I pull the Notification Bar down, those just mentioned are in the top row, and all you need do is press on one to TOGGLE it on/off.

    WiFi OFF saves battery. Why should it be searching all the time if you aren't home, in your office, or using it at the Deli?

    DATA off stops all internet activity period.... No app can try to call home to momma and report that Facebook just updated your status..... you don't need all of that stuff going on.... it just uses up the battery and accomplishes nothing..... UNLESS you are out in the open, have DATA available, and you want to receive that info.

    For me: if the screen is locked, everything except Bluetooth is OFF.

    You can make phone calls, you can use SMS. Neither of those require DATA... that is only for the Internet.

    .
     
  9. asura1990

    asura1990 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    It seems that we have different layouts, for me - left to right; it's wifi, blue tooth (2 options at the top, first row), second row, do not disturb, carrier, aeroplane mode and third row -- portrait/horizontal, torch and cast.
     
  10. asura1990

    asura1990 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Thanks, I will use it as a solution if I don't find any thing else, I was advertised as Android allowing the user "total freedom to do anything" so yeah...
     
  11. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor

    You can change that layout to whatever layout you want. The toggles are movable.
     
  12. asura1990

    asura1990 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Hi,

    How would you do that? I have accessed the menu by dragging the notification bar down and holding onto the buttons to see if they are movable but I cannot.
     
  13. asura1990

    asura1990 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    It seems that going into aeroplane mode doesn't seem to remove the notification.
     
  14. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Extreme Android User

    Pull something off the first row down into the bottom area, that leaves a gap.
    then drag something from the bottom and place it up on the top row.

    I neglected to mention that you can change the order, as I assumed that "everyone knows" that the Drag 'n Drop functionality of Android is applicable to the Notification Bar.

    It is difficult to cover all scenarios in one single post. I have tried to do that in the past, and the post gets so long, that the reader just simply glosses over it and moves on..... ignoring all of our attempts to help.

    I just now noticed that you can't do anything to the Notifications at all if the SIM card is not in the phone.
    ( I was using my spare S5 to test this, it is not in service ATM )
     
  15. asura1990

    asura1990 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Hi again,

    Sorry for asking this again and having the patience for me; it appears what you have suggested doesn't seem to work, if it helps -- I have included a screenshot of my phone in the quick setting.

    [​IMG]

    As you could see, I could not detach and move any of the rows by highlighting or by selecting by holding down on it.

    I honestly did not know it was so difficult for this platform to remove a simple notification.

    This is the notification.

    [​IMG]
     
  16. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Extreme Android User

    I'm looking at your Notification Panel and it does not look like the one that is present on Samsung phones. I can't find the Menu button, or I just don't recognize it?

    I just reviewed post #1 and note you have "Android 6.0 Marshmallow on Nexus 6P" which is something I have never seen... we need someone on here who is familiar with the Nexus 6P to help you out.

    Here is a series of Screenshots that I just took on my Samsung Note 4, and they look identical to what is on the Samsung Galaxy S5.

    In the 1st shot, there is the Gear Icon ( Applications Mgr ) and a Square Icon with 4 smaller squares. that is the icon that is the Menu for the Notification Panel.

    The 2nd screenshot shows the full Panel as it is currently setup on "my phone", they will all move around anytime you change something. Note that at the top right, there is a Pencil ( the Edit function ) and 3 horizontal lines. ( ignore this ) and click on the Pencil.

    the 3rd Screenshot shows an explanation of how to move the icons around.

    the 4th Screen shot shows the two Panels, the upper Panel is the Active Panel. The Lower Panel is the available buttons to be used.

    I was in error earlier when I said "pull on down and leave a gap". It don't work that way, you drag one from the "Available" area and place it on top of, the one you want to replace.

    When you have all of the ones you desire on the Top Row, then you can drag them sideways to create the order you want.

    click on one of these screens to get a larger view of it.

    Screenshot_2016-02-03-04-02-14.png Screenshot_2016-02-03-04-02-28.png Screenshot_2016-02-03-04-03-09.png Screenshot_2016-02-03-04-03-30.png
     
  17. asura1990

    asura1990 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Hi again,

    Thanks for the help, it appears we both do have different phones and different OS versions. I may need to make an enquiry in the Nexus 6P forums for support.

    Thanks for trying to help me though.
     
  18. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert

    Screenshot_20160203-063927.png Go to settings,under wireless and networks choose more. You should see Airplane mode and have option to turn it on. Turn off when you get to area with signal.

    Just read entire thread again and you already tried Airplane mode and still get the notification, sorry.
     
    #17 Jfalls63, Feb 3, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2016
  19. MunstersRebel

    MunstersRebel Lurker

    Why not root your phone and try with something like macrodroid or exposed framework
     
  20. asura1990

    asura1990 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    "I haven't rooted my device nor I plan to do so."

    As written in the initial post. I've used iOS before and I had to jailbreak the phone in order to give me total freedom over it, I was told Android you don't have to do anything similar; it seems that people who told me so were completely wrong or just lied to me.
     
    AZgl1500 likes this.
  21. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Extreme Android User

    or were just uninformed about the total world of Android.

    I have never rooted any of my Android phones. Not that I wouldn't like to have "more control" over how they work, I just never could afford the "loss if I bricked it", and being a stingy sort of guy, never took the chance.
     
  22. asura1990

    asura1990 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    I agree, anyways I have found a solution -- it was pretty stupid.

    Settings > Data Usage > Mobile Networks > Network Settings > Network operators and select Automatic.

    I'll leave the answer here and mark it as an answer in case anyone else runs into a similar issue with the Nexus 6P.
     
    codesplice likes this.
  23. MunstersRebel

    MunstersRebel Lurker

    I understand that totally. Although i have rooted my last 4 fones ( GSII, NIOTE2, NOTE3 & NOTE4) and i have had issues but never had one hardbricked. So it is fairly safe.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...