1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General How to remove pattern lock?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by elliott13, Mar 1, 2016.

  1. elliott13

    elliott13 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013

    Dec 11, 2013
    10
    0
    15
    I want to remove the pattern lock I originally set. I went to settings>security>screen lock (pattern)>(confirm saved pattern)>then it goes the the screen for choose screen lock. The first two options, None and Swipe are grayed out and are not selectable. Only Pattern, PIN, and Password are selectable.

    Any suggestions?

    The information under None say "disabled by administrator, encryption policy, or credential storage"

    Not sure what I need to reset to work around it.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Go to Settings / Security
    Tap Screen lock
    Tap None

    You will be prompted for the current pattern and after you give it it will prompt to make surte you want to turn everything off.

    ... Thom
     
  3. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,694
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,694
    1,929
    483
    Do you have an exchange account on the phone? If so, the exchange account probably has a policy that requires a pin, password, or pattern.

    If it's not exchange, did you encrypt the phone? Encryption requires pattern, pin, or passphrase as well.
     
  4. elliott13

    elliott13 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013

    Dec 11, 2013
    10
    0
    15
    When I tap Screen lock, None is not an option. Instead, when I tap Screen Lock, Confirm your pattern comes up. So then I have to confirm saved pattern. Then the next screen shows None, Swipe, Pattern, PIN, Password. The selections of None and Swipe are grayed out and are not options able to be chosen. It's driving me crazy because when I first got the phone, I chose to use a pattern as opposed to having None.
     
  5. elliott13

    elliott13 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013

    Dec 11, 2013
    10
    0
    15
    No, it's not an exchange phone and I never did encrypt the phone. This is a real mystery to me.
     
  6. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I run in None all the time and go to pattern to test something for someone and then go back to None. I never encountered your problem.

    When you are at the screen with the greyed out none ... do nothing ... wait for a few minutes ... did it change?

    ... Thom
     
  7. elliott13

    elliott13 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013

    Dec 11, 2013
    10
    0
    15
    Hi Thom, No luck with waiting a few minutes. After re-reading the grayed out text, as mentioned above, I scrolled through Settings, clicked on Security>Device Administrator to see if anything was set that I was unaware of. No selections were made. Then I clicked on Encrypt phone and it was obvious that it had never been activated. So, finally, I looked under Credential Storage. When I clicked on Trusted credentials, there were over listed under the system tab. Many looked very suspicious (Turkey, Japan, China). But since they appear under system, I'm not sure if they already existed. I see that I have an option to clear credentials which would remove all certificates. Is that a safe thing to do?
     
  8. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I do not know.

    ... Thom
     
  9. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,694
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,694
    1,929
    483
    Do not touch credential storage unless you know what you're doing.

    Again, the only things I know of that can require secure credentials are in settings / security / device administrators. If you have anything checked in there, make a note of the ones that are, uncheck them, restart the phone and see if you can change the swipe setting then.

    It's possible you have a security app (something like lookout or avast) that is a device admin but they should be in that list and checked. Do you have a security app like that? If so, why? IMHO, they are unnecessary unless you install apps from anywhere but the play store or the Amazon App Store.
     
    Thom likes this.
  10. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Try running in safe mode to disable all apps that were added without uninstalling them? If the problem stops it was caused by an app that was added.

    ... Thom
     

Share This Page

Loading...