1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root how to revert back to original stock phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by msierra519, Apr 27, 2010.

  1. msierra519

    msierra519 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    261
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    261
    10
    58
    IT Security
    South Florida
    i have a question...i want to root my phone and install the new villain 5.3 rom so that i can have droid 2.1 but my question is, what happens if it craps out on me and i need to revert it back to the way i got the phone from sprint...where can i find instructions on how to do that and where can i find that software?? sorry if this is a repeat question but i searched a bit and didnt find it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    Once you have completed the rooting upgrading process, getting back on your stock rom is very simple, during the process you create a backup image of your phone, then just restore it as and when.
     
  3. Nigredo

    Nigredo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009

    I've installed Villain 10 this morning and I really, really want to go back to 1.5 as the official update is being unleashed at the moment.

    I did the backup, but cannot apply it.

    Is there another way to back to 1.5?

    Thank you
     
  4. tojjer

    tojjer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    294
    8
    56
    Paramedic
    Weymouth, UK
    Yes, from the htc site
     
  5. Nigredo

    Nigredo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009

    Yes. I downloaded the stock rom, the htc sync but when i start updating - the villain rom gives me a message "villain updater/uploader? force close" and the update stops.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...