1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HOW TO ROOT A1-860

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jhofseth, Mar 28, 2016.

  1. jhofseth

    jhofseth Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013

    NOTE: The following is Shreps' work from XDA Developers (i.e., if you have questions, he is better to answer them than I): http://forum.xda-developers.com/ico...cer-iconia-tab-8-a1-840fhd-t2933317?nocache=1
    [directly quoted]
    "Boot Tethered CWM

    Compatible with
    • A1-840FHD (firmware 1.057_AV0K1_RV0TRC01_WW_GEN1 or more recent)
    • A1-840 (HD)
    • B1-810 [confirmed by @alexys77]
    • A1-850 [confirmed by @Darrian]
    • A1-860 [confirmed by @edotcom]
    Download

    Procedure
    • Copy SuperSU UPDATE ZIP on your Device
    • Make sure you properly installed USB Driver and enable USB Debugging on your Tab
    • Unzip IntelAndroid-FBRL.7z
    • Plug your Tab with USB Cable and start launcher.bat
    • Your tab should prompt if you want to authorize debugging, choose Yes/Allow
    • Type ACCEPT ont the cmd screen, press enter
    • On your deskop, the script should auto detect the Tab like this (device status online + color blue) :
      [​IMG]
    • Type "T3", press enter
      Note: if the T3 exploit doesn't work on your device, you can try T2 or T1
    • The @social-design-concepts scripts will now reboot your tab into Bootloader mode and start the exploit
    • If the Exploit is OK, CWM will boot on your tab :
      [​IMG]
      /!\ Please note that the tethered CWM has just boot, it has not be flashed, we can't flash a custom recovery while our bootloader are locked. /!\
    • You can now use Vol+ and Vol- to navigate, and press Power to validate
    • Go to "install zip", "choose zip from sdcard", "0"/, and select your UPDATE Super ZIP
    • Flash it ! Go back to the main menu and reboot your device
    • Your tab is now rooted, enjoy [​IMG]"
     

    Advertisement

    #1 jhofseth, Mar 28, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2016
  2. jhofseth

    jhofseth Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013

    [this is a re-post of my post in XDA Developers]
    A1-860 Linux fastboot commands to boot tethered CWM (intel version)

    These work for A1-860 in *Linux* (ATTACHED):
    • unzip cwm_standalone_intel_linux.zip to your Linux PC's working directory
    • install fastboot if you haven't already
    • install adb if you haven't already
    • enable tablet's USB debugging in settings/developer options (click on settings/about tablet/build number a bunch of times to get developer options)
    • connect your A1-860 via USB
    *in Linux terminal* (I ran as root, not sure if it matters):
    adb start-server
    (authorize your PC when dialog pops up on your A1-860)
    cd ./cwm_standalone_intel_linux
    (cd into the extracted folder, wherever that is; the above works if you extracted it to your home directory or you're in the same directory as the extracted folder)
    sudo bash
    (if you want to run as root--probably unnecessary)
    ls
    (you should see recovery.zip, etc., listed, if not then cd to whatever directory you extracted it to)
    adb reboot bootloader
    (after it reboots and you see the fastboot screen)
    EITHER (1) TYPE:
    ./trigger 4
    OR (2) TYPE:
    fastboot flash /tmp/recovery.zip ./recovery.zip
    fastboot flash /tmp/recovery.launcher ./recovery.launcher
    fastboot oem start_partitioning
    fastboot flash /system/bin/logcat ./fbrl.trigger
    fastboot oem stop_partitioning


    Now, CWM should boot up and you can install the superuser package that roots your A1-860 (SuperSU zip UPDATE at http://download.chainfire.eu/supersu; save it to external micro-SD card inserted into A1-860's micro-SD port). Good luck! :)
     

    Attached Files:

    #2 jhofseth, Mar 28, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2016
  3. jhofseth

    jhofseth Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013

    Two people I know of have had difficulty in Windows with the A1-860 rooting, my suggestion for them was: you could try adb/fastboot commands in above post #2. I just don't know if the syntax changes in the Windows adb/fastboot version (i.e., I use Linux; they definitely work in Fedora 23 KDE Linux), but put that fastboot binary plus adb binary and the recovery.zip in the same directory (ATTACHED) and maybe the fastboot commands will work for you (i.e., don't use script, only use fastboot commands listed) after changing to that directory in Windows Command Prompt. Good luck! [​IMG]

    Experimental for Windows Users (try only if post #1 does not work for you) -- adb.exe/fastboot.exe/recovery.zip all in one zipped folder 'platform-tools.zip' ATTACHED
    Also, you have to save this zip file to your EXTERNAL micro SD card and choose external in the CWM menu
    SuperSU zip UPDATE at http://download.chainfire.eu/supersu
     

    Attached Files:

    #3 jhofseth, Mar 29, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2016
  4. Starfckr

    Starfckr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016

    Mar 31, 2016
    4
    3
    6
    Male
    so i have rolling kali linux but am completely new to it. So i dont know what to do with the satndalone file. it says to put it in the working directory... but i dont know what this is or where its located. I have the standalone file on my desktop in keil. I dont know how to install anything... like i said new... so if u can help me out with like a stsp by step it would help a lot.... im also making a kiel guide so this would help with that too. thanks in advance.
     
    jhofseth likes this.
  5. jhofseth

    jhofseth Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013

    [Kali live DVD/live USB might default to root user; if so, the command sudo bash is unnecessary]
    in Kali, it might be something like this in terminal (assumes 'cwm_standalone_intel_linux' folder already unzipped to Desktop):
    cd /home/your_name/Desktop/cwm_standalone_intel_linux/
    sudo bash
    apt-get update
    apt-get install android-tools-adb android-tools-fastboot

    [the rest should be the same as above]

    good luck! :)

    [your_name won't be your name if it is a live DVD/live USB; if it is the live DVD/live USB the default root password, I think, is: toor
    to find out what the user name is, you could type in terminal:
    ls /home/
    and the only folder showing will be your user name (i.e., your_name)]

    But, the easiest way to find the path to the unzipped platform-tools folder is to right click on it and select properties; the path will be displayed, which you can copy + paste into terminal. Kali may or may not have a right-click context menu option for 'open in terminal'--that would be easiest.
     
    #5 jhofseth, Apr 5, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2016
  6. Starfckr

    Starfckr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016

    Mar 31, 2016
    4
    3
    6
    Male
    [​IMG]
    help... right click n open in new tab
     
    jhofseth likes this.
  7. jhofseth

    jhofseth Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013

    Right click on the cwm_standalone_intel_linux folder and select 'open in terminal'. I hope it helps.... Good luck! :)
     
    #7 jhofseth, Apr 5, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2016
  8. Starfckr

    Starfckr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016

    Mar 31, 2016
    4
    3
    6
    Male
    ok so i made a lot of progress heres a rundown of what i did...
    right click platform tools folder on desktop and opened in terminal
    apt-get update
    that finished then tried
    apt-get install android-tools.... but no luck
    i then noticed another folder was made in the platform tools on the desktop...with the same name and files...
    so i right click the folder in the folder called platform tools and open in terminal
    apt-get install fastboot....
    y
    apt-get install abd
    y

    then the pics show what id did from there....
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    see the errors? cant get it to load in the cmd to install zip....
    thanks a lot... my understand of system is becoming more clear.
     
  9. jhofseth

    jhofseth Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013

    The pictures aren't showing on your last couple posts, so not sure. I would suggest in Kali terminal:
    apt-get install android-tools-adb android-tools-fastboot
    {folder is cwm_standalone_intel_linux not platform-tools; platform-tools is the Windows stuff, cwm_standalone_intel_linux is the Linux stuff}
    Good luck! :)
     
    #9 jhofseth, Apr 9, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2016
  10. jhofseth

    jhofseth Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013

  11. Starfckr

    Starfckr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016

    Mar 31, 2016
    4
    3
    6
    Male
    So everything works until when i try to run this command
    adb reboot bootloader it freezes in Kali.... so i ran it in windows.... the commands work until i hit the last on e and it says
    failed (status read failed(too many links)
    not sure what is wrong or why kali keeps freezing.... do u have a link to fedora or whatever? or any ideas?... im about to break this thing in half and root its insides out lol.
    [​IMG]
     
    jhofseth likes this.
  12. jhofseth

    jhofseth Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013

    In Kali, after installing android-tools-adb and android-tools-fastboot try typing in terminal:
    adb start-server
    adb reboot bootloader

    {the rest should be the same; also, make sure USB debugging is enabled in the tablet's 'Settings'/'Developer options' (i.e., USB debugging box should be checked); if 'Developer options' is not showing, go to 'Settings'/'About tablet' and keep tapping on 'Build number' a bunch of times until it says you're now a developer; after USB debugging is enabled, the command adb start-server will trigger a dialogue prompt on the tablet--just check the box and accept to permanently authorize the Kali PC for USB debugging}
    Good luck! :)
     
    #12 jhofseth, Apr 12, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2016
  13. jkenny23

    jkenny23 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016

    Dec 9, 2016
    1
    0
    5
    I tried your root method from an Ubuntu machine and I can get into CWM tethered and flash the SuperSU zip. I've tried SuperSU v2.78, 2.65, and 2.46, they all appear to flash correctly from CWM, but once the device boots there's no su and no SuperSU app. Installing the SuperSU app from Gplay store says no root found. Why is the install from CWM failing even though it doesn't report any errors? I've got an A1-860 model A5001, mfg date 08/2015. It is running Android 5.0, build Acer_AV0L0_A1-860_1.009.00_WW_GEN1.
     
  14. koleszko

    koleszko Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018

    Feb 10, 2018
    1
    0
    5
    I was able to run the commands under ubuntu 16.04 and install SuperSU from external SD card .zip file. However, after rebooting there is no superSU app, and the Root Checker app tells me that I do not have root access.

    The CWM says SuperSU install was successful, but I also see some error messages (screenshot attached):

    E: Can't mount /cache/recover/log
    E: Can't open /cache/recover/log
    E: Can't mount /cache/recover/last_log
    E: Can't open /cache/recover/last_log
    E: Can't open /dev/block/platform/inter/by-label/misc
    (No such file or directory)

    I tried formatting the SD card using FAT and FAT32, but the same issue remains.

    I'd appreciate any advice.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...