1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HOW TO ROOT AND REMOVE BLOATWARE METRO 2.2.2 Update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mdside71, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. mdside71

    mdside71 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    298
    24
    48
    OK so after hours of playing around with this darn thing i figured it out.

    1. So far the only thing i found that will root it is Gingerbreak. It works great, do a google search, and download. As far as i could tell V1.1 is the only one that will work with the Ascend.

    2. Then use RootExplorer. You will have to go into the directory of the phone, and change it from R/O (Read Only) to R/W (Read Write).

    3. You can use RootExplorer then to delete, or Titanium Back Up or whatever you choose to get rid of the Bloatware.


    Enjoy Everyone!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Carlos1986

    Carlos1986 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    509
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    509
    99
    78
    When using titanium back up it says unable to locate apk file
     
  3. mdside71

    mdside71 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    298
    24
    48
    You have to follow the exact instructions above. You have to change the Main Directory using RootExplore and make it Read/Write instead of Read Only
     
  4. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Gmash likes this.
  5. Carlos1986

    Carlos1986 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    509
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    509
    99
    78
    I had to update to a newer version of root explorer.
     
  6. Flinsman

    Flinsman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    16
    1
    16
    Cannot remove system app, failed to locate the apk file. rooted using gingerbreak, changed main directory to "mounted as r/w" in root explorer, and trying to uninstall using titanium backup. Anyone have any thoughts? I don't know where to locate all files for bloat ware using root explorer (which directories).
     
  7. Sinner67

    Sinner67 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    232
    40
    43
    Conway, AR
    From what I have read on the forum so far, you cannot remove the software using Titanium Backup. You should be using Root Explorer. I mean, isn't that why you are selecting r/w? So you can delete it with Root Explorer?
     
  8. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    all the bloat is in /cust/metropcs

    I was able to del metropcs but not the cust dir in root explorer.
     
  9. Flinsman

    Flinsman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    16
    1
    16
    Thanks, but I mean are any files but the .apk in the /cust/metropcs/us/app directory supposed to be deleted, support files, data files, ect.....new to this, always been able to us Tibu, also when I went into that directory with rootexplorer, it did not give an option to delete.
     
  10. kingskidd268

    kingskidd268 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    You have get busybox app from the market for titanium Backup to work.
     
  11. Flinsman

    Flinsman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    16
    1
    16
    Same problem with busybox installed, can't uninstall with titanium backup
     
  12. Piranha650

    Piranha650 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011

    Mar 2, 2011
    32
    11
    18
    SF Bay Area
    You need the latest root explorer (2.16) to delete those
     
    savetheknot likes this.
  13. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    Can you post some links to those two tools?
    I'm finding them impossible to to find and download.
     
    AndrewAndroid likes this.
  14. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Gingerbreak 1.2 works just fine ;)
     
  15. akent47

    akent47 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    2
    1
    6
    Okay, so I just updated to the new Firmware, and have spent hours trying to figure out how to remove the bloatware. I did it before on 2.1, but I've seemed to have lost brain cells since then, and can't for the life of me get it right. So I was wondering if anyone would be kind enough to post a full on step by step guide on how to remove the bloatware on the upgrade. I have no experience with any of the terms I've read, so reading through threads wasn't any help. Thanks in advance.
     
    jamesk715 likes this.
  16. mdside71

    mdside71 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    298
    24
    48

    Try looking through the forums. There are posts on just about everything.
    http://androidforums.com/ascend-all...root-remove-bloatware-metro-2-2-2-update.html
     
  17. mdside71

    mdside71 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    298
    24
    48
    Typical of Ascends. Somethings work for some, and others don't...lol..I could not get 1.2 to even install on mine.

    RootExplorer is a paid app as far as i know. No i can not post download links for it, as i got it from a ummm..well a source that i best not post on this forum as they do not take kindly to hack ware....So i will just leave it at that.

    Do a google search, you can always download it from somewhere else and transfer it to your phone via the memory card.
     
  18. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    Please help all I can do now is make phone calls with the mouse!!!:mad:

    Disconnected usb and now it seems to work normally again.

    trying to back up all apps then look for root explorer to kill the bloat!
     
  19. Questkev

    Questkev Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    28
    4
    36
    I've gotten mine rooted, the hard part is actually gettingt he bloatware removed. No matter what I do, I cant get the folder to change from RO to RW. I have 3 different explorers.
     
  20. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    Use root explorer to mark the app Directory RW

    then use a root terminal to delete the folders one by one.

    be real careful deleting wrong thing could hose you!!!!
     
  21. Areo_Luxia

    Areo_Luxia Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    76
    18
    28
    Animator In Training.
    Shreveport, La
    Thanks dude, It worked for me :D You're Awesome.
     
  22. Areo_Luxia

    Areo_Luxia Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    76
    18
    28
    Animator In Training.
    Shreveport, La
    How do I use it? and is it worth it?
     
  23. ohsnapchelie

    ohsnapchelie Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011

    Mar 12, 2011
    39
    2
    16
    student
    georgia

    If I save this file to my phone, can I just click and install, or do I need cwm?
     
  24. Sinner67

    Sinner67 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    232
    40
    43
    Conway, AR
    If you are trying to install the zip posted by PlayfulGod, you will need to use CWM.
     
  25. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    yes, use cwm 3.0.0.5 and all should be good, but your phone has to be at stock if you are using the the regular update method.
     

Share This Page

Loading...