1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [HOW TO] Root Motorola Atrix 4G & Enable Sideloading

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kpenning, Feb 19, 2011.

  1. evilbastard

    evilbastard Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    137
    10
    38
    Yes I am sure if I am patient, someone will be successful where I was not. Guess I can live with it until then :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. gzrecoil

    gzrecoil Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    79
    9
    16
    Rooted with no problems on windows xp using this method.

    Took about 15 minutes all said and done as I had to install .net framework.

    One thing the tutorial doesn't say is to re-boot your pc after installing phone drivers, not sure if it would make a difference but I wasn't taking any chances.
     
  3. gzrecoil

    gzrecoil Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    79
    9
    16
    Also, I disabled debug mode after I finished rooting.
     
  4. ChampionRC

    ChampionRC Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Does rooting your device allow you to turn on the Hot Spot feature? every time I try it says it cannot as feature is not enabled on my account? Or is there some other way without rooting?

    Thanks, also a droid noob coming from iPhone 3G 2.5yrs running.
    AP
     
  5. shalemail

    shalemail Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    2,304
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    2,304
    6,671
    853
    Male
    Butcher, Baker, Candlestick Maker
    Under your bed
    This is from XDA - ALL credit to them I am an idiot. But you do NOT have to root to get tethering.

    Here is a step by step:

    Menu - Settings - Wireless & NetworksMobile Networks - Access Point Names - Menu - New APN, Enter these settings:

    Name: AT&T
    APN: wap.cingular
    Proxy: leave blank
    Port: leave blank
    Username:WAP@CINGULARGPRS.COM
    Password:CINGULAR1
    Server: leave blank
    MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
    MMS Proxy: wireless.cingular.com
    MMS Port: 80
    MMS Protocol: WAP 2.0
    MCC:310
    MNC:410
    Authentication Type: leave blank
    APN Type: leave blank

    Menu - Save, then select New APN (AT&T) You should see a green dot next to it, and it should be labeled under AT&T as wap.cingular. Go back to home screen and check internet connection is active. Once you verified internet is working, power off phone, then power on. Phone should still have active internet connection, if it does, you are done!

    Here's the link.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=961217
     
  6. ChampionRC

    ChampionRC Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks, but isn't the hot spot a different feature than tethering? I was wanting a wireless hot spot to connect another laptop to.
     
  7. ChampionRC

    ChampionRC Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Well interesting. I had tried that tether info hack earlier today and didn't see my wifi spot listed. Tried again, now I do. So I guess it is the same as a hot spot.

    It is all good now.
     
  8. kpenning

    kpenning Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    78
    66
    33
    You guys should throw support questions at the guide in the comments. There are so many forums it's hard to come back and check each one. But all of the forums have the same guide link! ;)

    In other news, the tethering hack only worked when I changed the APN type to: "default" --> type out the word with no quotes. Hope this helps you guys!
     
  9. evilbastard

    evilbastard Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    137
    10
    38
    So after AT&T merging with Cingular, re-branding to Cingular, then back to AT&T, the equipment on the network still refers to CINGULAR. Wonder if this will always be this way?
     
  10. silentecho13

    silentecho13 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    70
    1
    16
    Anyone here know how to get Mono working on OSX to root?
     
  11. HyperM3

    HyperM3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #357
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    501
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    501
    49
    68
    Male
    Audi Brand Specialist at Princeton Audi
    Lawrenceville, NJ
    Can the AT&T logo at the top of the notification bar be removed by rooting?
     
  12. BDDKKRJ

    BDDKKRJ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010

    Aug 22, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Question: I've rooted and am getting ready to reboot. The instructions say:

    Before rebooting, click
     
  13. HyperM3

    HyperM3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #357
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    501
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    501
    49
    68
    Male
    Audi Brand Specialist at Princeton Audi
    Lawrenceville, NJ
    Its like the 4th square to the right on the top of SuperOneClick.

    [Root] [Shell Root] [Unroot] [Allow Non Market Apps] [Donate]
     
  14. BDDKKRJ

    BDDKKRJ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010

    Aug 22, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    ok. I see it. thanks. I had already disconnected USB so that I could reboot. Do I need to reverse the process and start over?
     
  15. HyperM3

    HyperM3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #357
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    501
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    501
    49
    68
    Male
    Audi Brand Specialist at Princeton Audi
    Lawrenceville, NJ
    Nope. Just hook the phone back up and click the allow... button.
     
    BDDKKRJ likes this.
  16. BDDKKRJ

    BDDKKRJ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010

    Aug 22, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    ok. thanks. its all good now. one click was hanging up and then I had turned off debugging. once i turned it back on, everything worked great. fun stuff.
     
  17. anirudh15891

    anirudh15891 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Student
    west lafayette
    i have rooted my atrix .. and i got titanium.. now what can i do with my rooted atrix????
     
  18. Enygmu

    Enygmu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    So i have installed all the drivers and followed the instructions. I have set all the settings on the phone correctly and verified all drivers are installed correctly.

    I run superoneclick and click the Shell Root button..it starts and freezes at waiting for device. Sits there forever. When you click on it, it crashes.

    I have attempted this on two computers, both running Windows 7 ultimate.

    Any suggestions?
     
  19. james27007

    james27007 Look into my Eye
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,150
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,150
    445
    183
    Male
    Travel and teaching for tech and automotive
    Riverside, CA
    Nice, simple and covers rooting exactly and is why I made it sticky.

    Note to mods/guids,
    please leave as sticky and PM me if you want to unstick
     
  20. iali76

    iali76 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    2
    0
    25
    thanks, i just rooted my atrix 4g and installed titanium backup with su rights..What's next..How do I remove all bloatwares from the device?
     
  21. HyperM3

    HyperM3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #357
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    501
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    501
    49
    68
    Male
    Audi Brand Specialist at Princeton Audi
    Lawrenceville, NJ
    You could remove the bloatware without even being rooted. Just go to applications and uninstall whatever you want.
     
  22. kriedel858

    kriedel858 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I started to download this software, but got a warning saying the download was reported as unsafe and that the website contains viruses. ???
     
  23. Revs9k01

    Revs9k01 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010

    Aug 22, 2010
    29
    1
    16
    Can someone run a speedtest before and after rooting? I am curious to see the differences from a virgin Atrix compared to a rooted one.
     
  24. b1aze

    b1aze Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    Has rooting proven to be reversible? I would hate to brick my phone and not be able to restore to factory settings the first day i get it.

    Is this covered by TiB?
     
  25. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,482
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Hey guys, hope you're enjoying your Atrix. Looks like a sweet phone, but I have one question that I'm not sure you guys can answer just yet. Has it been discovered if the Atrix has the same military lockdown on the bootloader as my Droid X has? We have been able to create several ROMs dispite the locked bootloader, but it sure would be awesome if the kernel was replaceable.

    Have they gotten that far with the Atrix yet? Do they know whether or not they'll be able to replace the kernel? Or is it too early to tell?

    Thanks in advance for your response.
     

Share This Page

Loading...