1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How To Root The Kyrocera Hydro Edge

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MisterParadox, Dec 24, 2013.

  1. MisterParadox

    MisterParadox Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    104
    51
    53
    Male
    1. Download framaroot version 1.6.1 and move to your phone and install.

    2. Select "install supersu" instead of superuser from the drop down box.

    2. Click on Gandalf and wait until it tells you to reboot.. then reboot.

    3. Once rebooted, open up supersu and go to settings and uncheck "enable superuser"

    4. Re-enable superuser by checking the same box again.

    5. Scroll down to "default access" and select "grant" AT YOUR OWN RISK.

    Special Thanks to Loota

    If I have helped in any way, please feel free to donate:

    https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_donations&business=2ANHZCEB794HE&lc=US&currency_code=USD&bn=PP%2dDonationsBF%3abtn_donate_LG%2egif%3aNonHosted
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. TeslasRinger

    TeslasRinger Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014

    Jan 5, 2014
    1
    4
    6
    Worked like a charm! SUPER EASY!! Thank you! -Kyocera Hydro Edge C5215 Boost Mobile
    You rock!
     
  3. Slayer72

    Slayer72 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,672
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    2,672
    955
    323
    Male
    Troy NY
    Lol, that's the same way I used to root this bad boy, I bought mine on December 19th last year when Radio Shack had the sale for $50, I went and grabbed one and haven't been disappointed yet, I love the fact that it has the option to set primary storage in the Storage section of the phone settings all the way at the bottom... :p :smokingsomb: :car:
     
    twitoot likes this.
  4. twitoot

    twitoot Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014

    Feb 14, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Male
    Elderly Care Provider
    Washington, DC
    Initial problem with installing framaroot.apk.
    I created an account to download it,
    Downloaded directly to phone, no program would open it.
    I downloaded Root App Delete (high functionality, despite adverts),
    Installed apk after initiating apk manager scan.
    Directions for rooting were exact, expect a slight pause during su.
    Restart phone.

    I am using
    >Model C6750
    >SWare & baseband 2.006VZ (Verizon)
    >Build JZO54K on 4.1.2


    Verizon wireless; Purchased phone in November.

    Rooted to delete bloatware.
    Successful use with apps:
    * Root App Delete
    * iFont
    * Google Voice 'crack'


    Will update this post should any issue or questions arise. :)

    Thank you, darlin!!!
     
  5. fishlove

    fishlove Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014

    Mar 4, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    My Hydro Edge is rooted thanks to you...works like a dream
     
  6. jimbird

    jimbird Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014

    Mar 16, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    cant get my phone to open app. any ideas?
     
  7. jimbird

    jimbird Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014

    Mar 16, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    can you help me we have same phone but mine wont open the app. how did you do it?
     
  8. MisterParadox

    MisterParadox Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    104
    51
    53
    Male
    You need to move the app to your external sdcard (or internal) and then install with the non-google app installer.

    Make sure you have the "unknown app install" checked under development options under settings as well.
     
    FridayThe13 likes this.
  9. hopedpocketts

    hopedpocketts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    117
    23
    38
    Male
    NONE
    south west florida
    i installed the firmware update, the app seems to work, install supersu, super su updates binary and everything seems to go smooth, i set the app to prompt instead of grant, dont like apps to just have root access automaticaly. is the update what screwed me?

    (Edit) my build version is jzo54k

    (Edit) got it to work, you must grant all apps su access inside supersu. Not a fan of that but its what needs done. Great work to all who figured this out. If only now if we didnt have to grant su permission 100%.
     
  10. kyocerauser161

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014

    Feb 23, 2014
    27
    0
    15
    Thanks for the guide,

    I just rooted my $9.99 Hydro Edge.
     
  11. willyg

    willyg Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014

    Mar 26, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Hi. after i followed your steps...nothing happened and just restart my phone once again..and still showing Hands free activation... Is this normal? How should i check if the phone is rooted or not. Thank you
     
  12. MisterParadox

    MisterParadox Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    104
    51
    53
    Male
    You should see the Super Root app in your app drawer when you have rooted successfully. Make sure you have followed the directions and have granted full access of the app.
     
  13. smok3dog

    smok3dog Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014

    Apr 18, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    it won't recognize and open the ocr00t..... unknown files is clicked to work... have a copy in internal and external. running jz054k....
     
  14. Troll_King

    Troll_King Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014

    Apr 29, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    This is not working, error parsing file, help!
     
  15. smok3dog

    smok3dog Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014

    Apr 18, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Same problem on my end
     
  16. aljamima

    aljamima Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012

    Oct 1, 2012
    2
    1
    6
    I also have parsing error. I dl'ed from another site and it works, just no root..?
     
  17. jSavvy1641

    jSavvy1641 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012

    Aug 16, 2012
    55
    3
    16
    Male
    New Rochelle NY
    Hi I just purchased this phone year ago and this is my first time rooting it. I came from originally using the Samsung galaxy prevail and just wanted to know does this method wipe your data?
     
  18. mikenite101

    mikenite101 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014

    Jun 21, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    you need to download a file manager on the google app store
     
  19. cakennedy

    cakennedy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014

    Jun 29, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    i have the hydro edge model#c6725 android version 4.3,i downloaded the mentioned apk installed it clicked on supersu and it only has aragorn,i clicked on it n get the error message Failed..try another exploit if available(error#6)....any suggestions?
     
  20. phenomx4

    phenomx4 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    1,302
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012

    Jul 28, 2012
    1,302
    1,952
    333
    Male
    None
    North Las Vegas , Nevada
    What's the status with the boot loader? I plan on Deving for this phone
     
  21. TRS-80

    TRS-80 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    404
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

  22. encyclotron

    encyclotron Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014

    Sep 26, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Finally! Thanks a bunch.
    Worked for:
    Kyocera Hydro Edge [Boost]
    Model number C5215
    Android version 4.1.2
    Software Version 1.010SP
    Hardware Version 0102
    Broaband version 1.010SP
    Kernel 3.4.0-gd1fcf69
    Build # JZ054K
     
  23. Cellphonehacker1502

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015

    Jan 21, 2015
    6
    0
    15
    Male
    Is there a chance for custom Rom and recovery for this phone yet because I want to get android 5.0 or 4.4 but don't know dithered even run Roms if there is a custom can flash roms can someone post please
     
  24. Cabby2litre

    Cabby2litre Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015

    Apr 29, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    I'm having same issue. Not sure if it's because I am now running 4.4.2 ota update after my girl hit accept.... If anybody has had any luck rooting any hydro with 4.4.2 please answer!!

    Thank you in advance
     
  25. kamaro

    kamaro Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012

    Jan 14, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I rooted mine late last night with farmaroot 1.9.1 then reboot do try that
     

Share This Page

Loading...