• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root How to root TMV for n00bz.

Hey guys,

First post on here so go easy on me :). I'm relatively new to android modding, so I'm hoping some one can help me out here! I've had a few issues with my T mobile vivacity (Well, Nothing but Issues should i say..) SO I've just upgraded to a htc desire, and am hoping to keep the Vivacity as a spare/project/test dummy.

The problem I'm having, is that i wouldn't even know where to start as far as rooting goes. I've spent alot of time searching, and the main problem I'm having is that links have all expired, and downloads won't work on old threads. I'va tried superoneclick, but it gets stuck at stage 7 each and every time :(.

So far I've backed up everything on my Laptop, and have done a factory reset. It's fully charger, i have a data cable and an sd card reader at the ready so if anyone could give me a step by step (Read: Morons guide) to rooting it, I would be eternally grateful.

Thanks in advance,

UV.

Upvote 0
Hi there,

I followed that thread thoroughly and it seems to have worked, sort of! Firstly i installed the clockwork mod and flashed the stock San Francisco II roms and kernels, rebooted and that worked fine. I then installed a FNC rom, which I'm guessing was incompatible with my phone, as the menu/home/back/search buttons didn't work (Guessing i installed a rom meant for a phone with physical buttons, doh..) Then I installed CyanogenMod 9, but like a moron forgot to write down my mac adress, and now can't access wifi :(

I've read that my mac adress doesn't need to be the same as before i flashed it, as long as it's unique however, i've got now idea how to change it :( It just says it's unavailable when i go to settings.

I must sound like such an idiot haha >_<!

Thank you very much for your help, if it wasn't for my own stupidity I'd probably be sorted by now!

UV.

Reactions: D-U-R-X
Upvote 0