1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How to root Verizon Commando C811M040 4.1.2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by KenyaC811, Jan 17, 2014.

  1. KenyaC811

    KenyaC811 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014

    Jan 10, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Male
    Missionary for Christ
    Kenya
    I have an Android Phone the following is it's specs:

    Verizon/Casio
    Commando 4G LTE World Phone
    Model: C811
    Android Version: 4.1.2
    Baseband Version: M8960A-1.5.38_C811M040
    Kernel Version: 3.4.0
    Build Number: C811M040
    Hardware Version: 1.1

    I bought the phone is the US from Verizon. We travel and live between the US and Kenya. My provider in Kenya is Safaricom. When we got to Kenya with this new phone I put my Safaricom Sim card in the phone and reset the Network Mode to GSM/WCDMA made sure data was enabled and that Safaricom was listed as the network operator. Went to change Access Point to add the Safaricom Network for data use and there is no function to Add APN, also was getting a pop-up saying there was a non-Verizon Sim, but I could call out and in and receive texts, but not send. Called Verizon Global support and the tech got the casio on the phone and they said sorry but we have not yet updated that version to add APN and are not sure when it will happen. The Verizon Tech said sorry but that phone will need to be rooted to get to the ability to ADD APN, here are a couple of links. I am a complete novice at this. I am a member of JUSTANSWER.Com and I tried to root using their assistance via SuperOneClick and was unsuccessful. Through reading this forum I tried rooting it using Motochopper and was not successful. I am not sure if it is a block on the device or interferance from the PC I am using. My PC is a Windows 8 and I have Norton 360 antivirus program. I have seen many ways to do this in this forum and in others but none are a complete list of steps and apps to use to complete the process and I am a novice at this to say the least. Any help would be appreciated.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Download Kingo Plug your phone into your computer. Run Kingo. Click the Root button. Wait.

    This is not a guarantee that Kingo will work, but if it doesn't, nothing lost but a few minutes.

    Before doing this, however, I'd ask for a written statement from Verizon that rooting the phone will have no effect on the warranty. Normally rooting voids all warranties.
     
    T.C likes this.
  3. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    Do you have the drivers installed and does the computer "see" the phone. I rooted mine with Motochopper using a Windows XP computer and had no difficulty what so ever. I've had a lot of trouble trying to use Windows 7 to do anything with a phone and I have no experience at all with Windows 8. If you have all your drivers sorted out try running Motochopper as an administrator and see if that helps. Make sure USB debugging is on and you are in MTP mode. The phone should indicate in the status bar that it is in fact in USB Debugging mode.

    I don't know anything about Kingo but a lot of these rooting apps are from China and have been associated with spyware (PSA: Kingo and vRoot determined to be malware [UPDATE 8 DEC] - xda-developers). Motochopper was developed by Djrbliss who is a highly trusted and respected android developer here in the States.

    Ask around your friends to see if anyone has a computer running XP, it just seems easier to work with to me, but then that is my comfort level.
     
  4. KenyaC811

    KenyaC811 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014

    Jan 10, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Male
    Missionary for Christ
    Kenya
    I have finally had success at rooting this phone with MotoChopper. I had to install the drivers for the device and Motochopper on the Desktop and set the network options on the phone to GSM only with the Verizon sim card. That's a relief, now to fix the other issues. Thanks to all so far for the tips.
     
  5. KenyaC811

    KenyaC811 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014

    Jan 10, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Male
    Missionary for Christ
    Kenya
    Actually, I have now solved all of my problems with the exception of 1 thanks to yours responses and previous posts by:
    Rjglenn
    Doctoror
    Ncdad1969

    The only other issue I have is USSD codes responding in some sort of Asia/Pacific alphabet by I have been able to get around most of them by installing Sim Toolkit App. and My Safaricom App.

    Thank You Everyone
     
  6. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
  7. jinjunlin

    jinjunlin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014

    Jan 22, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Thank You Everyone
     
  8. T.C

    T.C Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Mar 7, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    Male
    I was able to use Kingo to root my Casio GzOne 4G LTE without any problems. Now just need to figure out how to make custom recovery so I can theme and/or use ROM.
     
  9. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    Why would you want to make what already exists?

    Download the exisiting CWM recovery from the ATR section, then download and install flashify on your phone. Use flashify to install the recovery. Make a nandroid before you do anything else.

    Millions (okay, four or five) of casio owners are waiting to try out your work...
     
  10. space_cat

    space_cat Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013

    Oct 26, 2013
    147
    30
    43
    the internet
    Kingo is known malware.:

    Kingo root malware? - xda-developers

    There are root and recovery methods on this forum that are tried, tested and safer.
     
  11. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    That same link is in a post above. It's too late for mr tc...
     
  12. T.C

    T.C Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Mar 7, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    Male
    I have explored the Kingo exploit to root and have not detected or found any malware on my phone or in the exploit itself. If there is it is in a stealth mode..lol
     
  13. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Notice the date. It was all due to a misunderstanding, Kingo has been rewritten (about 3 times since that thread was closed) and it's now approved by XDA. It wasn't malware to begin with - it was sending your IMEI (the only way to tell exactly what phone you're running) along with some software signatures so it knew which version of Android you were running - so it could download the proper exploit for that combination.

    I've rooted a lot of phones, both manually (using adb) and with Kingo. The only difference is that it's easier with Kingo - one click instead of correcting a lot of typos. (It really doesn't pay to waste the time to write a 5 line script, even with my new-found ability to screw up anything I type.)
     
  14. CJ4

    CJ4 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014

    Feb 11, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    Male
    Engineer
    Charlotte
    It's been a while since I rooted anything and this is a work phone. Should I do any sort of backup before I root? I do intend to do a full nandroid backup right after root.

    Thanks!
     
  15. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    If you are not currently rooted then you won't be able to flash the custom recovery to be able to make a backup. The only thing the stock recovery will do is wipe your phone. It is otherwise useless.
     
  16. CJ4

    CJ4 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014

    Feb 11, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    Male
    Engineer
    Charlotte
  17. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    Well that's just perfect. Enjoy your commando...
     
  18. CJ4

    CJ4 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014

    Feb 11, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    Male
    Engineer
    Charlotte
  19. m8gic

    m8gic Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    13
    5
    16
    i can't find link for MOTOCHOPPER for this phone ????
     
  20. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
  21. pckarma112

    pckarma112 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012

    Oct 13, 2012
    198
    37
    43
    Old thread/post..I know. Found while looking up info on kingo. It begs the question though. So the info that was gathered was just do to a mistake in the root app? Being a pessimist I admit it. But if you wanted to be sly about it. Wouldn't blaming it on a mistake be a good tatic? The other part that bothers me is where it comes from. It is no secret that there are thousands of state sponsored hackers. Pirating is encouraged. As I said. Im a litle mistrusting of something that comes from there. Only because of what is known to be true. I would rather be worried safe I guess.
     

Share This Page

Loading...