1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [How-to] Root via Rasta fastboot exploit and make your phone recoverable from a system wipe

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Willster419, Apr 12, 2013.

  1. skeeterhawk1960

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    12
    0
    15
    Willster, I get an error that says cannot load boot.img no error everytime I run this: fastboot -i 0x0409 flash boot boot.img
    What do I need to do? Thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. manmademan55

    manmademan55 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 11, 2013

    May 11, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    well i got one for you guys that i need some help with and i bet none of you can fix this phone at all i have a c771 commando i fixed with one from ebay seller says they dont remeber the password to it so i cant get into it at all and none of the hard reset actions work at all i can see it useing odin but it never makes a connection adb doesnt see it at all dfs sees it and i can read the modem part of it and also qpst sees it but i just cant factory reset or even get the password off it and also dfs says its on m080 i have even tried guessing the password and have gotten upto 175 tries and thats all it does is wait 30secs then try 5 more times and repeat soooo lets see you guys figure this one out i ended up ordering another phone same kind it was only 12 bucks why not but this one has be pissed off
     
  3. megaflop666

    megaflop666 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014

    Nov 13, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    I can't remember the link, but one of the root/tool packages made for this phone has a password unlocker feature in it.
     
  4. willyam

    willyam Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015

    Jan 5, 2015
    5
    4
    16
    Male
    Casio Commando C771
    Android 2.3.3
    Baseband 1
    Kernel version 2.6.35.7-perf
    ncmc@ncmc #1
    Build number C771M150
    Hardware Version 1.1
    Rooted using auto root tool v 1.7 m150.
    M150 modded boot img, custom recovery, at least that's what I think I installed, noob experience level ;-)
    If I use adb to get into recovery - the volume up/down keys scroll through the menu, but no other buttons seems to work, like which button is used for ENTER? Tried power and camera buttons, neither one worked. Ended up pulling battery out of phone to reboot.
    Using root checker, says su found, ver 3.0.3, build gingerbread, fingerprint Verizon/C771/C771:2.3.3/C771M150/user. build 20131119.164001:user/release-keys
    Phone also seems to run out of space fast, just a few apps installed and out of room - 8 G sd, as many apps moved to sc as possible. Not sure how to delete bloatware?
    Thanks
     
  5. willyam

    willyam Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015

    Jan 5, 2015
    5
    4
    16
    Male
    Phone worked pretty well for a couple weeks, installed Titanium backup, removed a lot of bloatware, added launcher.
    Today after powering down and back up, the phone is searching for service, wifi says error when trying to connect, bluetooth won't turn on. In settings, phone status, everything is 'unknown', and service state is 'out of service'. Mac address unavailable.
    Any ideas?
     
    Willster419 likes this.
  6. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    Recovery and re-install ROM?
     
    willyam likes this.
  7. willyam

    willyam Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015

    Jan 5, 2015
    5
    4
    16
    Male
    May have soft bricked the phone? Did not freeze innopath - not

    sure if it ota update?.
    In adb, if I try shell, get:
    exec '/system/bin/sh' failed: Permission denied <13>
    Any of the autoroot methods also give the permission denied 13 error.
    I can adb push.
    If I run the root kit, option 7 view phone version, get same permission denied 13 error.
    If I go to dialer, bypass booting, click ON, get 'write error the value cannot be set'
    Checking other values like NAM, getting 'Read Error'
    adb reboot recovery comes up with '!' inside white triangle and little green android guy.
    fastboot flash hangs on <waiting for device>
    adb devices returns the device number
    fastboot devices returns a blank line
    DL fresh copy of Android SDK, rebooted computer - same results.
    I can flash using autoroot tool, but nothing changes on the phone.
    (wonder why fastboot doesn't work from command but seems to work from autoroot?)
    Phone will turn on, go through splash screen, shows some menu items, earth compass, browser, camera works, dialer
    works - but no service/searching for service.
    Could the system.img be corrupt?
    Thanks for your reply :)
     
    Willster419 likes this.
  8. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire

    if you can flash using the auto root kit, then use the recovery flash option to flash GNM recovery, and then get into recovery and restore your phone that way.

    Also, when you boot, does a red light on the side come on for a few seconds, around when G'Zone says, "Now loading?"
     
    willyam likes this.
  9. willyam

    willyam Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015

    Jan 5, 2015
    5
    4
    16
    Male
    Worked like a charm, many many thanks for saving my Commando
    (This is my first smart phone, bought used off Fleabay - replaced my 7 year old GZ one flip phone) I'm totally new/noob to Android, so am posting the steps I tried:
    DL recovery-ra-commando-3.06-gnm.img, copy to recoveryImage folder and rename file recovery.img.
    Autoroot Menu 2, flash
    Power off, power back on, watch for red light then press: (power, vol down, camera button) to start recovery.

    Use vol up/down to scroll, phone menu and back icon to select.
    (didn't know if I needed to, but fix permissions, and install su & superuser)
    Then, Nand restore, used m150 custom boot recovery system rooted, BRS-20140206-0102

    Phone was like new - called to activate, working fine!
    Loaded red pill, restored most apps from Titanium, can't freeze though without premium version...
    Do I need to freeze Innopath to prevent future updates? I'm not sure what happened to my phone, was working fine Wed AM then powered down and restarted and was soft bricked...
    Many thanks again! :)
     
    Willster419 likes this.
  10. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    Glad to hear your phone is working again! You're welcome! :)
    I recommend freezing Innopath as that application is what downloads system updates. Freezing it may prevent the problem you experienced before from happening again. If you don't want to give titanium backup money, you can download Link2SD, and that app should freeze it for you. Or, if you want, us the old ES File Explorer and freeze it manually. Go to settings, root settings, and enable root explorer, up to root directory, and mount system as writable. Then go to /system/app and fine the innopath update file (it will have the innopath update icon), and rename it from appname.apk to appname.bak. You will probably have to do a battery pull whatever method you do as it will ask repeatedly to force close the app (that no longer exists). ;)
     
  11. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    also, people have reported having problems with the GPS in the M150 ROM's. If that is the case, then just put the M150 nandroid back on and you should be fine.
    (If I get a long enough break in college this weekend or something I will try to fix the GPS issues)
     
  12. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    it only works if the phone has ADB on.
     
  13. willyam

    willyam Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015

    Jan 5, 2015
    5
    4
    16
    Male
    Wanted to give an update to anyone considering rooting/mods... have been using RedPillRom the last 6 months and my old C771 is still working great. I bluetooth to the car radio a lot with Pandora, tether to my tablet almost every day with opengarden (much faster internet browsing than using the phone built in browser and easier to see a big screen ;) text, email, etc. Amazing how much can be done with such an 'old' smart phone.
    Many thanks to Willster419
    :D
     
    Willster419 likes this.
  14. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    anyone that gets this error most likely has a driver issue, please root through the windows xp VM posted in my oneDrive
     
  15. Gersolov

    Gersolov Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015

    Jul 14, 2015
    4
    0
    15
    Male
    your google drive link here is not working but the one on your youtube video does. i dont see a readme in the latest version either
     
  16. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    fixed it, thanks!
     
  17. Gersolov

    Gersolov Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015

    Jul 14, 2015
    4
    0
    15
    Male
    the link for the files works, but it says the edit date on the root tool is still 02/2016 so im guessing the readme is still missing. or i just cant find it.
    can you just put it seperate? id rather not have to download the whole thing to get it.
     
  18. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    Use this as the readme, if it will suit your purpose:
    http://androidforums.com/threads/tool-windows-casio-root-tool-v2-5.822487/
    I'll update the zip file to have a link to the form page.
     

Share This Page

Loading...