1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How to root Wildfire S?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DanielJ, Jun 15, 2011.

  1. DanielJ

    DanielJ Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    May 14, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    i'm a newbie and would be greatful if someone could tell me how to root the phone, cheers!
     

    Advertisement

  2. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #129
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,622
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,622
    289
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    For now you'll need the xtc clip, I'd sit on it for a while though it costs $200 or something!
     
  3. kaykhanittha

    kaykhanittha Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    15
    0
    15

    hi,

    Can you tell me how to root my wildfire S Android 2.3.3 Sense 2.1 to install a ROM with more languages ?

    Thanks.
     
  4. avgeek

    avgeek Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    4
    0
    25
    You may not have to root it if you just want to replace it with another factory ROM, but you likely need to make a GoldCard. Try the European version as described in my blog post as this appears to support lot of different languages.
     
  5. BackDaws

    BackDaws Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011

    Jul 2, 2011
    30
    3
    16
    when will i be able to Root my Wildfire S so i can free up the internal memory, ive got all the apps i can on my sd card but im left with 30mb internal.

    or is there an easy way to move it without rooting ?

    Thanks BackDaws

    im a n00b to my Wildfire S as you can probably tell so be gentle with me....lol
     
  6. onun

    onun Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    i'm also a newby to rooting android devices and have had no luck with any rooting procedure on this model phone in France. HELP!!!! :/
     
  7. kaykhanittha

    kaykhanittha Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    hi,


    do you know where to find the files of new ROM to install on Wildfire S ?

    even original rom with more languages offered would be good.


    Thanks.
     
  8. BackDaws

    BackDaws Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011

    Jul 2, 2011
    30
    3
    16
    Any news on rooting the wildfire s? my phone also has S-on enabled. I seriously need to get control of this phone.
     
  9. galesjam

    galesjam Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

  10. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,543
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,543
    22,995
    3,118
    Scotland
  11. cookielavter67

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Does anyone know if Z4root works with the HTC Wildfire S (Android 2.3.3)
     
  12. CafeKampuchia

    CafeKampuchia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,543
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2,543
    2,787
    333
    Male
    Pursat, Cambodia
    If your phone has S-OFF or an unlocked bootloader, then yes it should work.
     
  13. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,543
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,543
    22,995
    3,118
    Scotland
    Gingerbreak might be a safer bet than z4Root.
     
    CafeKampuchia likes this.
  14. CafeKampuchia

    CafeKampuchia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,543
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2,543
    2,787
    333
    Male
    Pursat, Cambodia
    (I've never quoted myself before! :))
    I take that back. It seems that WFS has problems with Z4root. Gingerbreak works for some (tks, El Presidente). ZergRush is known to work well with WFS, and TacoRoot works as well.

    To make it easy, try the HTC SuperTool v3 by XDA dev frigid and don't forget to hit the thanks button on his thread! Be sure to get version 3, not version 2. (Direct download here.) Run the tool and choose the following options (see attached jpg below):

    1) Press 1 (Prep using zergRush) followed by enter
    2) Press 3 (Attempt perm root) followed by enter. It will tell you if the phone was successfully rooted.
    3) Type "reboot" and press enter to reboot the phone.

    If that doesn't fly, try this sequence of options:
    1) Press 2 (Prep using TacoRoot) followed by enter
    2) Press 3 (Attempt perm root) followed by enter. It will tell you if the phone was successfully rooted.
    3) Type "reboot" and press enter to reboot the phone.

    I was able to root my A510e (unlocked bootloader, S-ON) with option 1 (ZergRush) in HTC SuperTools 3.
     

    Attached Files:

    El Presidente likes this.
  15. vishaldureja

    vishaldureja Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    how much time does it take for 'Loading Root Script' ?
    Please relpy as soon as possible
     
  16. CafeKampuchia

    CafeKampuchia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,543
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2,543
    2,787
    333
    Male
    Pursat, Cambodia
    It's been 2 hrs since your post, so I hope not that long. :D Seriously, don't worry. It's not bricked. It should only take a few seconds to a minute if I remember correctly.

    Did you remember to enable USB debugging?
     
  17. badboytoast

    badboytoast Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    225
    32
    43
    Does this still work to root WFS from VM USA?
     

Share This Page

Loading...