1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How To Screen Capture

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Steven58, Dec 18, 2011.

  1. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,958
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,958
    25,346
    3,933
    Male
    Welp, I'm unlocked, rooted, rom'd, modded and walleted.

    But I can't show you guys. Why? Because I can get neither drocap2 or shoot me to work with the phone. Drocap2 won't even snap a picture and shoot me comes out all black.

    Has anyone else had this issue? Tia.

    Steven
     

    Advertisement

  2. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Steven, I'm not sure if you know, but ICS has screenshot capabilities built into the OS. If you hold the power button and volume down at the same time you can take a screen cap
     
  3. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,958
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,958
    25,346
    3,933
    Male

    I didn't. Ty. Dog!
     
  4. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    No problem. Glad I could help
     
    Steven58 likes this.
  5. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,144
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,144
    23,266
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Hmmm....this really smells like a true "Tip" thread...

    Anyone mind if I move it to the main forum and classify it as a Tip?
     
  6. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    No issue with me
     
  7. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,144
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,144
    23,266
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    WD,

    I'm thinking it might be better for you to just start a tip thread re. this in the main forum...that way, it'll have a nice title reflecting your information, etc.

    (I'm sure you'll get quite a few thanks there, too).

    Cheers!
     
    WormDoes likes this.
  8. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Done :)
     
    scary alien likes this.
  9. jbir359

    jbir359 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011

    Dec 30, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    I struggled with various screen capture apps, none of which worked (kept getting black empty images), finally this tip worked without any additional apps!

    THANKS!
     
  10. OuBoXuan

    OuBoXuan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012

    Feb 11, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Communications and Technology Generalist
    NYC
    I can't figure it out. I'm using Samsung Galaxy Nexus, not rooted. I press power and volume volume down, but all I see is the volume bar. I checked the Gallery but nothing appeared there.
     
  11. krouget

    krouget Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    456
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    456
    121
    68
    You need to depress them at the same time. Doing so will show a preview, and a link to the photo in your notification bar.

    Edit: it also takes a second or two of holding the buttons. This way you're not taking screen caps by accident.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  12. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,144
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,144
    23,266
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Thanks, krouget!

    I tried this again when I saw OuBoXuan's post and couldn't get it to work because I was pressing the volume-down just a tiny bit before the power button.

    Then I made sure I did 'em at the same time and bingo! Screenshot saved to the /mnt/sdcard/Pictures/Screenshots folder.

    Cheers!
     
    krouget likes this.
  13. LunchBB

    LunchBB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    570
    70
    78
    It takes a little bit of practice to get it done. You have to press both buttons literally at the same time and hold for a few seconds.
     
  14. joserique

    joserique Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Hi... I found quite easy to capturr screen in my galaxy s. Its so simple as pressing the "home" button while holding down the "back" key....
     
  15. joserique

    joserique Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Hi I foind quite easy to capture screen in my galaxy s. its so simple as pressing the "home" button while holding the "back" button....
    Thanks....
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...