1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support how to see actual battery capacity

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by arashed31, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. arashed31

    arashed31 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    42
    1
    16
    I found a way to find the actual battery charge while messing around on the phone. I turned off the phone and then pressed the "send + center + end" combination to get into the diagnostics console. From there you can scroll down to the battery info and in there you can see how much charge is really left. For some reason the OS can't read from this and reports incorrect battery life.

    EDIT: To get out of the console scroll down to "Reset". I assure you it's not dangerous, that's their word for restart. Don't save anything, just give an up gesture for it to restart and you'll be fine.
     

    Advertisement

  2. MikeS

    MikeS Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    Wow what a difference. Checking through that console it said 60% but the phone OS says 15%. That is a big difference.
     
  3. satinkzo

    satinkzo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    144
    0
    35
    Checked mine, Diagnostic reporting 80%, phone reporting 60%. But I've done some of the stuff in the battery quirk thread that dramatically improved the phone meter and battery life.
     
  4. abrahan

    abrahan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    57
    3
    16
    houston, texas
    i'm not getting a menu to scroll down after it starts up.

    is there another way of getting into the diagnostics console?
     
  5. arashed31

    arashed31 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    42
    1
    16
    You have to press and hold the 'send' + 'center' first.
    Then, without letting go, press and hold the 'end' button.
    Keep pressing all 3 buttons until the loading bar turns yellow.
    When it turns yellow you can let go and the diagnostics menu will open.
    Use the trackpad to scroll up and down through the list.
     
  6. abrahan

    abrahan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    57
    3
    16
    houston, texas
    thnx. got it.

    it might not have worked previously cos i had it plugged in while trying.
     
  7. BamaInArk

    BamaInArk Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    64
    5
    16
    Retired military, self employed
    Little Rock, AR
    New user here. Brand new Moment too. I was reading this thread and tried it. Worked the first time. But uh oh now I can't get the phone to turn back on. Did I possibly do something wrong?

    Currently I pulled the battery and will try again after installing the battery back in. Fully charged btw.

    Edit: Ok after reinstalling the battery it turned back on! Wheeeew! Thought I lost the brand new phone and settings.
     
  8. pg2k3

    pg2k3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009

    Aug 28, 2009
    23
    0
    15
    What you did was disable the screen. The proper option to reboot from the Diagnostic screen is "Reset". Sounds dangerous but I assure you its not.
     
  9. dwall1212

    dwall1212 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    17
    0
    15
    i just accidentally turned off my touch screen cuz i accidentally clicked update fw in the touchscreen menu when looking up the actual battery life does anyone know how to get it to start working again?
     
  10. BamaInArk

    BamaInArk Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    64
    5
    16
    Retired military, self employed
    Little Rock, AR
    Ok thanks. I saw the "reset" and thought not sure I wanted to select that one. I think I might have selected the "Save" option
     
  11. dorris

    dorris Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    2
    0
    25
    i am new to all this and i was wondering if you could tell me how you improved your battery life.
     
  12. arashed31

    arashed31 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    42
    1
    16
    You're right, I tried it while plugged into USB and it just ignored me.

    Just pull out the battery, it should be fine. Next time, scroll down to "RESET" and use the up option to reset without saving. It's better to not save anything because you can't be sure if you messed anything up.

    Reset is their word for Restart. I just somehow knew, otherwise I'd be super confused.
     
  13. pizzachef

    pizzachef Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    54
    0
    15
    New Cumberland, PA
    Phone Battery status is 15% in "about Phone"
    60% in the diagnostic mode.

    Now I have hope that they can issue an update to fix the battery meter. I've tried draining it all the way down and charging all the way up several times and have had only minor improvement.
     
  14. masbirdies

    masbirdies Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    124
    1
    36
    Samsung has left a lot of fixin' to do via updates. Audio buffers that are too small, battery meters that are way off, google voice search left out (hey, they added it to the Behold II....we better get it), agps unable to function, led notification non-implemented (yeah,the Moment has LED capabilities...it's the soft keys home, menu, and back)etc...etc...

    My battery said 80% in the diag mode and 50% inside the phone. Considering what I put the phone through 80% is awesome. 50%....not so good.
     
  15. cds36

    cds36 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009

    Oct 11, 2009
    76
    2
    16
    Web Designer
    Southern California
    I must be missing something, can you tell us exactly how to get to diagnostic screen
     
  16. arashed31

    arashed31 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    42
    1
    16
    How to get into diagnostics
     
  17. cds36

    cds36 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009

    Oct 11, 2009
    76
    2
    16
    Web Designer
    Southern California
    ok got it, wow its way off diagnostic shows 70% but battery shows 40%
     
  18. dwall1212

    dwall1212 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    17
    0
    15
    Just pull out the battery, it should be fine. Next time, scroll down to "RESET" and use the up option to reset without saving. It's better to not save anything because you can't be sure if you messed anything up.



    i tried this and it still doesnt work i think i damaged my touchsreen firmware on my phone because i couldnt get it to leave the searching for new touchscreen firmware screen so i took out the battery i tried to down load the drivers for the moment but idk which one is the touchscreen firmware that i need to replace? this sucks and you cant hard reset other than in the os can you? cuz it wont let me factory reset with out touching the screen for the final step....
     
  19. masbirdies

    masbirdies Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    124
    1
    36
    Today, battery was down to 3%....did the diag check....battery level was at 60%. This was after 18-19 hours without a charge.
     
  20. agent0014

    agent0014 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    394
    1
    36
    I may be hijacking the thread here, but I had heard that this phone's hardware supports multi-touch, even if the OS doesn't. Knowing that, should I be concerned if I don't see multi-touch working in the touchscreen diagnostic option in the same tool menu? I only bring it up in here since this audience is already familiar with the diagnostic boot tool.
     
  21. pg2k3

    pg2k3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009

    Aug 28, 2009
    23
    0
    15
    From the looks of the diagnostic screen it looks like it may be ran by the linux invironment like android so I dont really see it being an issue. I could be wrong but anyway, back to the battery meter topic.
     
  22. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,192
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,192
    266
    163
    Just be aware....I did follow all of these steps and it did work(actual 70% vs 50% meter) but had to pull the battery to restart.
     
  23. SlyFerret

    SlyFerret Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    395
    25
    43
    So... I suppose this all begs the question... If this information can be read accurately by the diagnostic software, is it likely that a clever developer could write a small app that could read that same data while the phone is running?

    -SF
     
  24. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,192
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,192
    266
    163
    You'd think!!!!
     
  25. arashed31

    arashed31 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    42
    1
    16
    Did you read my EDIT part of my original post? That should work.

    I don't want to be cynical but I'm not sure if there's a way for anything to read off the diagnostics console. Doesn't the Moment use an RFS recovery loader? Maybe the battery problem is caused by Android being used to yaffs or whatever?
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...