1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root [HOW-TO] Simplified Root + Recovery + Custom ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Whyzor, Aug 2, 2011.

  1. yogi-4

    yogi-4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    263
    82
    53
    Truck Driver
    Steeler Country
    Do not use Rom Manager to flash a ROM. AndyOpie wrote this in a different thread... I'm just going to copy and past his quote:

    "ROM Manager is actually something you might reconsider keeping on your phone as you can do more with it than you realize. You can install an update to an existing ROM,install a kernel,and a theme using the install ROM from sd card option(you must not try to install a new ROM as it will only wipe cache partition and dalvik cache).
    You can delete and rename and restore a backup using the manage backup option.
    You can fix permissions if your having force close problems with an app.
    You can backup an installed ROM."

    AndyOpie, hope you don't mind me qouting you, but I felt this info was relivent. I don't want to see the op screw up his phone the first time. Good luck man!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikeyr29

    mikeyr29 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011

    Sep 7, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    ok, if not using RM to flash the rom then how do i go about flashing it? (sorry if its already been explained in the thread...)
     
  3. yogi-4

    yogi-4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    263
    82
    53
    Truck Driver
    Steeler Country
    You put it at the root of the sd card. Look at the first post of this thread and it will explain it.
     
  4. Dexter Douglas

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    6
    1
    6
    Thanks for the instructions. The only other device I've rooted/installed CM7 on is my Nook Color, which was beyond easy. I've been avoiding doing anything to my OV just because other directions I've read looked too complicated. After reading the steps, I finally sat down last night to give it a shot.

    This wasn't much tougher than doing my NC. I had to reboot and run Gingerbreak a second time, but everything else worked perfectly. I freaking love these forums. Now I have a fully functional droid phone as opposed to the clunky, locked down OS that came with the phone initially. Now I'm just playing with overclocking settings. It keeps locking up/rebooting at 807. Guess I didn't get super lucky with the phone, but I'm thrilled with what I've got now otherwise :D

    ETA: The Green Machine skin is quite nice, too.
     
  5. droidlg

    droidlg Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011

    Sep 24, 2011
    7
    1
    6
    Winston-Salem, NC
    So do i copy the .zip or unzip and copy contents of zip to my sd card ?
     
  6. droidlg

    droidlg Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011

    Sep 24, 2011
    7
    1
    6
    Winston-Salem, NC
    props to whoever created this its bad ass and runs so smooth to dont mind that you used adw launcher not the biggest fan of it but i do use it off and on but just wanted to say thanks its pretty cool didnt install the green machine though
     
  7. Whyzor

    Whyzor Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,108
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,108
    966
    213
    DO NOT unzip, just copy the .zip files onto /sdcard.
     
    droidlg likes this.
  8. mikeyr29

    mikeyr29 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011

    Sep 7, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Anyone having any problems with phone calls being hung up on? my phone worked fantastically until today. all of a sudden (with good service mind you) the call just hangs up. it didnt give me the "call was dropped" logo and im not pressing end call by accident. when i receive a call and answer it, it hangs up almost immediately. when i place a call i get about 10 seconds and then it hangs up. this is extraordinarily aggravating. any suggestions?
     
  9. jkdmoore

    jkdmoore Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    76
    3
    16
    Drafter,Designer
    Dayton, Ohio
    I have rooted and running Backside IHO 09192011, but my navigation app is just gone, I love that thing (do alot of traveling) how can i get it back?
     
  10. Whyzor

    Whyzor Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,108
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,108
    966
    213
    It's probably a problem with that ROM, there are more updated IHO builds since then. that's not a problem I've heard others reporting so likely it just requires rewiping (in recovery mode) and reflashing.
     
  11. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,086
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,086
    1,468
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    Is the navigation app included in BACKside? I don't have it with mine either (10042011). I don't use it so I didn't notice it was gone.
     
  12. Whyzor

    Whyzor Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,108
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,108
    966
    213
    It's part of Google Maps, so you may have to install or update that.
     
    dgodwin1 likes this.
  13. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,086
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,086
    1,468
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL

    Google Maps... evil. Pure evil I tell you!

    :D
     
  14. genosse

    genosse Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011

    Oct 12, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Just rooted, and tried to flash a rom for the first time.

    Followed the OP's instructions to the letter, flashed the BACKside ROM, gapps.zip and rebooted.

    It spun on the boot screen for a bit (green droid with the circle around it) and then froze. Power button does nothing.

    Is it safe to remove the battery and reboot? Is there maybe something that I accidentally missed?

    Thanks to all

    EDIT: I missed wiping the dalvik cache in the advanced settings. Did this, and re-formatted the cache and partitions, then reflashed the rom. Everything looks to be working fine.
     
  15. yogi-4

    yogi-4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    263
    82
    53
    Truck Driver
    Steeler Country
    Nah, if you made it that far... something just glitched. Try rebooting and give it some time. If the same thing happens, try formatting the cache and everything again... maybe multiple times to make sure everything is wiped then reflash the ROM and gapps. Sometimes this happens.
     
    genosse likes this.
  16. andyo

    andyo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Hi guys, new here. I got a Optimus V with 2.2.2. Everything went fine until step 7. I cannot boot in clockworkmod (3.2.0.1) recovery mode. I just get a blank (black) screen, but from what I can tell, apparently the menu is working. If I press the camera button first, it reboots, which is the first option. If I play with the up/down volume buttons, then it doesn't, which I think it's going through the menu, but I just can't see anything.

    Help would be much appreciated, I've been hours at this, googling has turned nothing.
     
  17. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
  18. andyo

    andyo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    god, thanks a lot! It was super frustrating, that page was coming up in many of my google searches, but the android central forums were having some kind of DNS problem, I couldn't access them.
     
  19. andyo

    andyo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Hmm so I guess I have to install xionia? I tried what's in the edited part

    I think I messed up. I thought this meant install the CM ROM and I could access the recovery screen after this. Now the phone won't boot up at all. I think it's going into recovery mode but still with a blank screen. It just won't boot normally and I don't see anything.
     
  20. andyo

    andyo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    OK sorry but I'm dying here. Googling isn't turning up anything useful. I cannot boot, and I'm only getting the blank screen (after LG and Virgin splash screen without sound). "adb devices" tells me I'm in recovery mode, and "adb reboot" doesn't do anything, just reboots the same. But again, I cannot see any of the options of recovery due to the screen issue. fastboot doesn't work, "fastboot devices" doesn't show my phone, or anything at all, it only goes back to the prompt.

    What I think I need to do is to flash either a kernel or a ROM via adb directly (not from recovery screen). Googling turns up confusing stuff like this, which besides not being entirely clear to me, I don't know if it's the right thing to do at this point.
     
  21. mkbkr1

    mkbkr1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    332
    135
    68
    Sunset, Louisiana
    Take a look at the sticky " Fix Black Screen ....". Sounds like you have a newer V with the different screen and drivers.

    forums.androidcentral.com/optimus-v-rooting-roms-hacks/113762-fix-black-screen-custom-recovery-custom-roms.html
     
  22. andyo

    andyo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Yeah, that's the thread linked above, unfortunately I'm past that. I can't seem to do anything at all, unless it's from adb. I think I need to reflash either the kernel or the ROM via adb. If anyone would, please let me know if this is possible. It seems so from the thread I linked in my previous post, but I don't really understand it fully, or even know for sure that's what I need to do.
     
  23. andyo

    andyo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Just in case, it was solved using Android Screencast, I then could see the options, and installed the ROM.
     
  24. jmfolcik

    jmfolcik Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    102
    19
    38
    LG Optimus V
    2.2.1

    usb debugging mode on (shows little dude when connected to computer)
    installed the gingerbreak 1.2 app
    I always get
    GingerBreak: Not sure what happened here. Either the exploit failed or the reboot failed. Please reboot manually and see if you have SuperUser !
    And no, no superuser app shows up after rebooting.
    Tried this with formatted SD card formatted on PC, and by phone itself. Tried with USB cable connected to computer, and without. Many reboots. There aren't any steps to this to mess up! What gives? Where's the log file to tell me what the generic message is based on?
     
  25. yogi-4

    yogi-4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    263
    82
    53
    Truck Driver
    Steeler Country
    If your using that method... it could take 4 or 5 tries in a row to get it to root. Since your running 2.2.1, you can also try the other method using Rom Tools. You can check out my 'How To' in my signature if you like.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...