1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root how to splash screen?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by that one dude, Sep 24, 2011.

  1. that one dude

    that one dude Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    107
    16
    38
    mobile electronics tech
    detroit, mi
    I have one downloaded how do I do it now
     

    Advertisement

  2. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids

    just put the file on the root of your sd card and boot your phone into hboot and it should automatically recognize the file and ask you if you want to update and select yes....

    just make sure the file is named "PC36IMG" thats it...nothing else and not .zip at the end...
     
    that one dude, ocnbrze and esthernrob like this.
  3. esthernrob

    esthernrob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    646
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    646
    347
    133
    i deliver the nectar of the gods, BEER!
    Upstate, NY
    rename the file PC36IMG and place it in the root of your sd card... reboot into bootloader... it will locate this file and ask for you to install, update i believe it states..... say yes... reboot and you're done... note that the file is a zip file and that some version of windows hides the extension... do not rename it PC36IMG.ZIP, just PC36IMG...
     
    that one dude, DaRayvn and ocnbrze like this.
  4. esthernrob

    esthernrob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    646
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    646
    347
    133
    i deliver the nectar of the gods, BEER!
    Upstate, NY
    +1 , beat me too it...
     
  5. that one dude

    that one dude Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    107
    16
    38
    mobile electronics tech
    detroit, mi
    Ok so did what ya said didn't work so I added .zip at the end.....worked perfect
     
  6. esthernrob

    esthernrob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    646
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    646
    347
    133
    i deliver the nectar of the gods, BEER!
    Upstate, NY
    glad it worked! i run windows vista and it hides the file extension when you rename a file... so if i was to rename "androidsplash.zip" it would only highlight "androidsplash" so, if i renamed it "pc36img.zip" it would actually turn out to be "pc36img.zip.zip.... that's why we bring that up when talkin' about splash screens...

    EDIT - i know, windows vista???!!! how anciently old school....
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  7. thecrookfamily

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012

    Feb 27, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Gettysburg pa
    I tried that and it keeps saying something about paring or parshing file dont ask to update.

    I downloaded splash screen saved to desktop
    Then I renamed it to PC36IMG.(because im on windows vista)
    draged file to top of my sd card
    then reset my phone in hboot

    and thats what it says



    Sorry still new at this but learning fast
     
  8. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,294
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    PC36IMG.zip however make sure there is only one zip on the file and place in the root of the sdcard. Then go into hboot and it should ask to update it.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  9. thecrookfamily

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012

    Feb 27, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Gettysburg pa
    Yes it is only one zip. And im guessing from what I read that the root of the sd card is the very fist file when you go under the sd card to make sure it goes there in its own spot not into another file.
     
  10. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,387
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,387
    17,271
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    so does it ask you to update? if so select yes. if it is parsing then the bootloader is finding the file correctly.
     
  11. thecrookfamily

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012

    Feb 27, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Gettysburg pa
    No it does not ask to update it flashes through some green words about the pc img and I see at the end about parsing
     
  12. Diablo67

    Diablo67 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012

    Instructions:

    1)Download the splash screen that you desire.
    2)Copy the splash screen(PC36IMG.zip,it has to be named to this!)to the root(first level of the sd cards folder)of your SD card.
    3)Power off your phone,wait 10 seconds,then hold the volume rocker in the down position and power on,you will boot into Hboot.(If you have the multi power mod,then you can skip this step and go straight to Hboot from home screen).
    4)When in Hboot,wait for Hboot to load,it takes a second,when loaded,it will ask you if you want to install the update,push the volume rocker in the up position to install the update(splash screen).(sometimes when you boot into Hboot it will be in fastboot mode,just scroll to Hboot if it already is'nt there and hit the power button to boot into Hboot).
    5)It will then ask if you want to reboot,hold up on the volume rocker to reboot your phone back to your home screen.(on your way back,check out your new splash screen).
    6)Once back in your phone,go to a file explorer of your choice and go to the root of your sd card and remove the PC36IMG file,so it does'nt try to update the next time you boot into Hboot.
     
    thecrookfamily and ocnbrze like this.
  13. thecrookfamily

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012

    Feb 27, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Gettysburg pa
    As soon as i do the reboot it is in hboot then it goes right into the green scroll like I said above
     
  14. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,387
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,387
    17,271
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok just to be sure, you see some green words flash by and it says something like no image or wring image, correct? if so then the file is either not named right or it is not in the right place. it nees to be on the root of the card that means not in any folder, but the top level of the card. if those two things are done right then the bootloader (which it is programmed to search for that file name) should be able to find the file and ask you to update.
     
  15. thecrookfamily

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012

    Feb 27, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Gettysburg pa
    I tried to download different ones and even tried the boot lite app thats suposed to do it for you and its the samething everytime
     
  16. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,294
    953
    The Infernal Swamp

    You do have s-off correct?
     
  17. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,387
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,387
    17,271
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
  18. thecrookfamily

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012

    Feb 27, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Gettysburg pa
    No my S is on
    Guess thats what it is
     
  19. thecrookfamily

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012

    Feb 27, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Gettysburg pa
    where can I find that at
     
  20. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,387
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,387
    17,271
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    what is your hboot? power off the phone and then press and hold power+vol down
     
    argedion likes this.
  21. itiscosmo

    itiscosmo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010

    Dec 10, 2010
    161
    91
    73
    W. Mass. USA
    u need root to flash or...s off......try reading the rooting guide to c if it what u want
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...