1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How to stop internet from using mobile sites?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Kitch9, May 7, 2011.

  1. Kitch9

    Kitch9 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 7, 2011

    May 7, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Just got my new S2, and can't figure out how to stop the internet app from defaulting to using mobile websites, does anybody have any idea how to sort it? It seems to have changed from my old Desire.

    Wifi seems to be weaker than my old desire too.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Cyph3r

    Cyph3r Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    46
    8
    16
    Get a different browser from the market place. I recommend Dolphin Mini, REALLY quick.

    Then go into the settings and change the 'user agent' from android/mobile to desktop. Sorted : )
     
  3. Kitch9

    Kitch9 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 7, 2011

    May 7, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Yeah, already tried a couple of different browsers and none seem quite as slick as the pre-installed one, so ideally I'd like to sort this issue if poss. Cheers for your input though. :)
     
  4. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,825
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    1,825
    763
    213
    Medical Doctor
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Type about:useragent into the address bar in the default browser, select desktop.

    It'll revert back to default with every boot.
     
    theveuveclique, Gearu and vwgolfman like this.
  5. Gearu

    Gearu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    783
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    783
    86
    78
    Awesome, I hate diluted mobile versions of sites.
     
  6. chocobosandwich

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    356
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    356
    57
    53
    Are other browsers just as good? Are they just a frontend to the same optimized framework underneath?
     
  7. Quboid

    Quboid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    565
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009

    Jun 30, 2009
    565
    120
    93
    Male
    Londonderry, UK
    Some are the same renderer, Webkit (the front end; Dolphin, Miren), some use their own renderers (Firefox, Opera, Skyfire). I use Dolphin HD, I like it's tab handling. Firefox is promising but a bit rough at present. If you've got a spare hour or two, it's worth checking them out.
     
  8. Kitch9

    Kitch9 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 7, 2011

    May 7, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks, that sorted it. Now I need to figure out why my wifi has only 2 bars showing when I'm only sat 2m away from my routers antenna.
     
  9. Teknik

    Teknik Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    247
    54
    53
    Guru
    Ipswich
    seems to be that the sgs2 has a weak wifi antenna
     
  10. taylormah

    taylormah Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    201
    29
    43
    I love xScope browser. I found it more powerful and useful than most browsers including Dolphin HD. It has both a free and paid version and I believe paid version is totally worth it. Give it a try.
     
  11. Gearu

    Gearu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    783
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    783
    86
    78
    Maybe it needs as much battery power from the phone as possible, turning off programs/background services/active wallpaper etc and/or try it while charging the phone to test?
     

Share This Page

Loading...